22/04 *Gremlin* AMPS 47!!!! +0.5 - 58, +2 - 77, +4.5 - 110, +8 - 162, PMPS 152, +3 - 158

Laura and Gremlin (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday's condo
47!!??!! At breakfast!!!???!!!
I still have insulin as he will likely shoot up through the day but I gave a skinny shot, just in case. I'm thinking I should retest in half an hour. He's currently eating and eating and eating...
 
Ruby has never dropped lower than 66 at preshot, so I'm always in awe of you courageous and data-armed CGs who shoot those low numbers! :p
For me, it was scarier doing it in the old days when I knew for sure Grem's BGL would drop lower during the day. I wouldn't hesitate to skip a shot then. Now, these AM lows are just strange as his BGL will just rise and rise like he hasn't had any insulin at all! I only skinnied the dose just in case.
 
It's a good thing this is your day off!! (It is your day off, right?) I get so mixed up with days and nights between us (in the U.S.) and you (Down Under) and the many hours of difference.

Once my husband was in Brisbane for three months. We got used to calling each other at weird times for both of us.
 
Those low preshots can be more eye-opening than a strong cup of coffee! I think you know this, but it is worth clarifying for other people who may happen by your post, that it is not recommended to shoot under 50. Even the most experienced people will wait until the BG is above 50, just to be sure the number is actually rising before shooting. It can be a very tricky cycle if you don't know for sure that he was on the rise, and the numbers can quickly get away from you. Luckily, that didn't happen today.
 
Yes, it was my day off today so I was he to monitor Grem very closely. If I had work, I wouldn't have given insulin.
I'm very glad I did shoot though as he's had another super high PMPS.
Now to wait and see if he drops low again tomorrow morning. This cycle is HORRID!!
 
Those low preshots can be more eye-opening than a strong cup of coffee! I think you know this, but it is worth clarifying for other people who may happen by your post, that it is not recommended to shoot under 50. Even the most experienced people will wait until the BG is above 50, just to be sure the number is actually rising before shooting. It can be a very tricky cycle if you don't know for sure that he was on the rise, and the numbers can quickly get away from you. Luckily, that didn't happen today.
I'm glad you posted this for those of us not as familiar with our kitties as Laura is.
 
Okay, that PM+3 number is different so looks like I'm in for another change.

All while training my two civvies to use SureFeed machines :facepalm: The greedy guts is going fairly well but the scaredy cat is still struggling, even with the MUCH quieter machine that I bought today. She finally just ate out of it! Progress.
 
Back
Top