20/12 Hercules PMPS: 90! Dosing advice, please

First take some deep breaths. He’s not in danger. The time for take action on a AT is 68. Are you following TR or SLGS?
 
I fed him. I can test in 20 minutes. I am just really unsure about what to do with the Lantus dose...since is my understanding that consistency is really important...
 
With a 90, and new to insulin you would skip. He’s been on insulin for some time though so you know how to handle low numbers? The thing to do is stall and not feed. If it’s less than 20 minutes from the 90, grab another test right away.
 
I checked the 5, and it wasn't an odd reading.

Yes, I know how to handle low number per se. Which is why I gave him food to start with.

If he was on prozinc I would measure in 20 minutes and give a dose based on how things were going. But I don't have enough data on Lantus.... so I am not sure what to do.... He wasn't going down much in the first 3 cycles, but obviously things are different... Any suggestions?
 
It’s true that Lantus likes consistency but you are at the very beginning and a drop under 90 means a decrease by .25. I would skip.
 
I meant I double checked the 5 before feeding him...

We were already 30 minutes behind the usual shooting time due to family chaos...
 
I meant I double checked the 5 before feeding him...

We were already 30 minutes behind the usual shooting time due to family chaos...
Okay. So he wasn’t rising. I think you should lower his dose tomorrow to .50 . Let’s get more opinions though. Changing your title to Need dosing advice. Would you also please add SLGS to your signature? I hope all is okay with the family. Don’t worry about skipping. :bighug: Add NS to the dose on your spreadsheet.
 
Done :)

Ok, so you think I should skip tomight and give him 0.5 tomorrow AM? Even if his BG comes up in the next hours or so (I guess that is less likely on Lantus....)

It could come up but it would be food influenced for the next 2 hours. You can’t dose Lantus early. So the earliest you could shoot would be 12 hours after you shoot and I think you are already over 30 minutes past time.
 
Breathe. We will help you. Pretty soon you will be helping others. That’s how it works here. Have a relaxing evening. I would grab a before bed test as that’s a good habit with Lantus.
 
Back
Top