20/01 Hercules AMPS 94, +3 164

Hercule's mum

Member Since 2020
Hi everyone!

I have been stalking everyone and cheering all these amazing cats trialling OJ, but have not posted for a while. I am quite of confused what is going on, and would lobe to hear some feedback.

We have seen greens enough on this dose, but I think he is still bouncing. I think it is bouncing, but it is quite different from his previous bounces which were much more sharper.

If he is bouncing, I assume a keep his dose as is? and wait/hope this is a tampering of his bounce response?

If he is not bouncing I need help understanding his patterns, because they are not making much sense to me....and it is difficult to know when I can sleep or go away. E.g. on the 17th we had a PMPS of 209, no indication at +2 of an active cycle, but he was down to 74 by +5. Than on the 18th, number a bit higher, but not a clear bounce. Out of nowhere an AMPS of 378 on the 19th. Last night he was at 99 at +7, and I gave him 25g of LC and assume he would be fine because we were past hal of the cycle. But given this morning AMPS, I feel like he might have gone much lower later and I neglected him.....

What do people think? Any guesses on his nadir, bouncing or any other observation?
 
Hi Karen,
I think he is bouncing each time from the green BGs.
Yes keep the dose the same.
When are you feeding him?
Are you giving snacks during the cycles?

On 1/17 at +2 he did rise a bit but then dropped into greens. If you look back at the am cycle that day he did have a blue BG which can indicate they are coming off the bounce so be vigilant and keep checking during the next cycle. Sometimes when they come off the bounce they can drop quite fast and low. So be on the lookout for the end of the cycles.
The AMPS on 1/19 of 378 was probably the high before the end of the bounce. If you see the BG go up higher, that can indicate that the bounce may be ready to finish.ie it goes higher before it drops.
It looks as if his bounces are getting a bit shorter

I’d get a +1 or +2 with the AMPS 94
 
Last edited:
Hi Karen

Herc's numbers do indeed look better. The combination of Lantus and TR seem to be working well for him!

He is bouncing but his bouncing is reducing because he is getting used to good numbers. Bouncing has nothing to do with dosing. We ignore the bouncing and dose based on nadirs. Sometimes, we do ask a CG to hold a dose longer to see if the good numbers return after the bounce clears.

I am sure others will weigh in on this too, but I think that in "normal" cycles (like 1/17 or 1/13), Herc's onset is at +3. In bounce clearing cycles, like yesterday - where he started clearing the bounce in the AM cycle and continued in the PM cycle - it could appear that his onset is earlier since he is continuously heading lower as a part of the bounce clearing process. I could be wrong and one must always remember that cat's live to surprise us. Till they "settle down" some amount of wonkiness remains in the numbers.

Another good indicator of his bouncing getting better is him clearing bounces faster.

I am glad to see you are shooting green pre-shots! :)
 
Thanks both! Is good to get extra pair of eyes! I won't dare say things are getting bertter, because that is a sure way to go the other way ;) but I thought I've seen what you describe, so that is really nice to hear!

So, I continue to sit tight while this process continues as it is.

I am glad to see you are shooting green pre-shots!
Well, the one clear pattern is that in these situations we usually see a big food bump, and in the morning I am always to keep testing. I am not sure I will be as brave if there are green PMPS....

just tested +1 and he is at 142. Not as high as the last time I shot green...
 
Back
Top