+2 dropped more than 20%

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shell

Member Since 2022
Ever since I have started Lantus instead of Glargine, I've noticed that this batch is more effective. I don't know if it's the name brand or something else.

'Bout a week ago, there was a great cycle. But, the only reason it was great was because I was constantly feeding high carb all afternoon, when it plummeted in +3 from 262 to 79. Feeding constantly to try to slow down the dive.

Per Vet's advice a .5 reduction was in order. However, shortly after, preshot numbers were still low. So, my idea was to work our way up to 1.5. From 1 to 1.25 (2-3 days). This morning we had our first 1.5 U shot.

Now... PMPS 179. +2 later 133. This is what I mean. Over 20% reduction within 2 hours is far too steep and now I am giving snacks to try to slow the drop overnight. It's almost midnight. I do need to sleep and will stay awake until it levels out.

The break from protocol has been discussed with my Veterinarian who is pretty well versed, so I am pretty stressed right now. If there is friendly, helpful, informative support to offer, I am all ears. RE-testing soon.
 
I'd be curious what the vet's rationale is for changing the dose. S/he may have a very good explanation but to be honest, I'm hard pressed to understand the thinking. One of the issues with Lantus is that it's an insulin whose pharmacology leans on a degree of consistency. If dose increased are spaced too close together, it doesn't give the depot a chance to readjust. Every time you give a shot, Lantus forms microcrystals that are deposited in the fat tissue. These crystals dissolve over the course of the cycle. However, they do not dissolve at the same rate so there are some left at the end of the cycle and they overlap into the next cycle. This gives Lantus its long duration and gentle method of action. If you increase in close succession, the depot doesn't have enough time to adjust to the rapid increases.
 
I'd be curious what the vet's rationale is for changing the dose. S/he may have a very good explanation but to be honest, I'm hard pressed to understand the thinking. One of the issues with Lantus is that it's an insulin whose pharmacology leans on a degree of consistency. If dose increased are spaced too close together, it doesn't give the depot a chance to readjust. Every time you give a shot, Lantus forms microcrystals that are deposited in the fat tissue. These crystals dissolve over the course of the cycle. However, they do not dissolve at the same rate so there are some left at the end of the cycle and they overlap into the next cycle. This gives Lantus its long duration and gentle method of action. If you increase in close succession, the depot doesn't have enough time to adjust to the rapid increases.
Hmm. This is a good question for me to ask her when I speak with her.

I do know that she goes by a .5 dosage reduction for what she calls a "true low blood sugar". Which I am assuming means a hypo incident. And, anything that falls below 90 is a .25 reduction. However, clarification may be in order. The day he had that wonderful cycle in the greens, was only held together by several constant feedings of high carb. I kept testing every half hour and it kept wanting to fall. It went on all afternoon. I have a feeling that if I hadn't offered a lot of food, it would have fallen under 50.

Fact remains that there is a difference in the effectiveness of the new batch.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top