2/9 Tipper11 AMPS 498 ?? +3 351+6-328 PMPS-384

Status
Not open for further replies.

tipper11

Member Since 2011
Morning all,

No post yestesday, ss updated
Increased Tippers dose to 2.75 2/8 pm. So hard to see, my syringes, only measure 1u increments. Tipper had a burst of energy this morning, playing with her toys then eating her FF with chicken dust. She still is drinking huge amounts of water and peeing accordingly. Would love to see some lower #s, maybe today!! I worry about the high BG and the toll it takes on her health. Any suggestions ? Anyone have a similar situation with their kitty?
 
Re: 2/9 Tipper11 AMPS 498 ??

Good morning guys ... sorry to see such a high number for tipper .. I don't have any advice as far as getting her down since we battle with that daily ourselves .. but I am glad to hear she was feeling frisky this morning .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/9 Tipper11 AMPS 498 ??

Are you able to get some additional spot checks during both the AM and PM cycles? I'm concerned that we can't tell if Tipper's numbers might be dropping in the middle of the cycle and what we're seeing are bounces at pre-shot times. Gabby has had pre-shots in the 400s and a mid-cycle test in the 40s that earned her a dose reduction. If you don't get those tests, you'll never catch the lower numbers and just keep increasing the dose.

Just as a reminder, this is a post Jill wrote about the importance of spot checks.
 
Re: 2/9 Tipper11 AMPS 498 ??

The spot checks are so important. Many kitties go lower at night too for some reason. Maybe you can alternate the hours that you test during the PM cycles, like +2/+4 one night and then +3/+5 another. that is, if you have the time before bed. We think that at least a before bed time check is good each day.
Many have high numbers in the beginning and unless we have good data, it is a just guessing when we try to determine exactly why the numbers re so high.
Will you be able to buy new syringes soon? Half unit syringes are really important when the dose starts changing around...

sometimes exercise helps to bring the numbers down a bit. Other than that, there isn't much one can do about the high numbers except to bear up and write them down. If they are from a bounce, then we just have to wait. If they are not from a bounce, then an increase is in order. BUT, we need to see some more checks before increasing the dose.
You are doing a great job...hope you have a good day today...
 
Re: 2/9 Tipper11 AMPS 498 ?? +3 351

Nice! So, here's the scoop. You just saw a almost a 150 point drop in 3 hours. That's substantial. It helps to explain why the pre-shot numbers look the way they do. If you ca get a +5 or +6, it will tell us how much more Tipper is dropping. Knowing where the low point in the cycle falls is important since Lantus dosing is based on the nadir vs. the pre-shot values.

For a bounce to happen, numbers don't need to go way low. It can also be the speed of the drop or dropping into numbers that your cat hasn't spent time in for a while. When these bounces occur, the liver "panics" and releases a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones that cause the numbers to spike back up. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear.
 
Re: 2/9 Tipper11 AMPS 498 ?? +3 351+6-328

Hi,

Down a tad more to 328 and my last test strip - so off to buy more!!

Patty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top