2/9 Phoenix AMPS 204 - Figured Out Why I Was Giving Fur Shots

Scdal

Member Since 2020
I gave Phoenix 3 fur shots this week and was very upset. I had just gotten him to what I believed would be his maintenance dose. He had stayed in blue and green numbers all day. Then the fur shots started. On Sunday, both his am and pm injections were fur shots. I just didn't seem to be able to see his skin as well as I used to.

I have always worn a headlamp flashlight while giving his injections. I was beginning to worry if I needed to get my eyes checked. But, I thought I would try putting new batteries in my headlamp. Wow! The batteries must have been getting weak even though it still worked. The difference was astounding! I can easily see Phoenix's skin again and have no problem giving his injection.

I have also got a new trick to get him to hold still while I give him his shot. Phoenix has always been very good about his ear pricks because he knows he gets food afterwards. So, I have tried using this strategy for his insulin injection. I give him half his food after checking his BG. Then, I prepare his shot and show him a bowl with the rest of his food. He walks to where I usually prick his ear and waits for his ear prick. Instead, he gets his injection and then the rest of his dinner. This has really helped since he knows that food is part of the deal. I have always given him a treat after his shot but he just wasn't that interested after eating his whole meal.

I hope all of us have a good day. It is cold here today and is not supposed to get above 40 degrees for the rest of the week. I live just south of Dallas, Texas. It was 70 degrees yesterday. I guess Phoenix and I will be cleaning out closets and staying inside most of this week. I really don't like cold weather. I can handle the 100 degree summers but the cold is horrible!
 
Back
Top