2/9 Johnny PMPS 281/347 +3 (68)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice & Johnny

Member Since 2010
As of tonight, Johnny has had 4.5 cycles on the new dose. And I can't believe how yellow and pink his SS is becoming...still! I'm wondering if another increase is needed at this point and to what the dosers would recommend. This is brand new insulin, so that's not an issue. I looked at his teeth a couple days ago and can tell they need to be cleaned, but the vet is against this until he's regulated. This is such a different Johnny than the first go-round on insulin that I really think it must be a factor. Will brushing his teeth myself help at all? I know the professional treatment is needed, I just am so disheartened seeing this consistent upward climb in numbers.

Johnny is playing lots and typically has a happy, curled up tail (I love it). Only thing to note is that he's been throwing up late morning a few times recently, including today. I think it's likely hairball related, but man is wet food throw up messy on carpet! Anyone have a steam cleaner? I've been thinking about getting one. Not one of the giant ones, just a smaller one.

I'm nervous about giving an increase in the a.m. when we won't be around to test. I also want to mention that I'm heading out of town Fri-Sun, so Brian will be on his own. I'll make sure he knows he can post here, but I'm not sure if he would unless things were scary.
 
Re: 2/9 Johnny PMPS 281/347 ... another increase?

hi janice!
question: did you feed that 77 @ +3 on the 7th?

regarding a needed dental...
sigh. ask your vet how you're supposed to "regulate" johnny with a bad mouth. gingivitis alone knocked alex out of an almost 3 year honeymoon. look at her 2009 data. i was able to pull her numbers down easily (with insulin) within a week after her dental!

carpet cleaners...
i have a small "Bissel Little Green" that i absolutely love, but figuring out why he's vomiting is important. has he had blood work done recently? forgive me if he has and you've posted. i haven't been around lately.
 
Re: 2/9 Johnny PMPS 281/347 ... another increase?

i have a Bissell also...and love it.

best of luck, johnny cat!
 
Re: 2/9 Johnny PMPS 281/347 ... another increase?

Hi Jill!

We didn't intentionally "feed" the 77, but it's possible he ate a little after the test. We didn't give new food, but is dinner plate remnants would have been there. If he ate it would have been a small amount (no more than 1/8 can of FF). I just don't remember specifically.

Johnny had bloodwork and a urinalysis done at the end of November. Everything was fine but the BG levels. The urine culture was negative; nothing grew.

The vet we saw in late Nov was a different one in the practice and she had a good balance of telling us her opinion and listening to our experience and not being all know-it-all. I have no problem being more persistent about the dental, but I'm a little gun-shy because she wanted us to start at a unit (I think). It was way more than we were comfortable doing. So, I think she'd take a look at what we're doing and say that he's just not getting enough insulin (which I think is true...but if there could be a reason behind the need, how about we start there?)

Do you think there is a difference starting at the bottom (drop) and starting with the 1u and working downward?

That's one of the steam cleaners I was looking at...glad to hear positive feedback about it.
 
Re: 2/9 Johnny PMPS 281/347 ... another increase?

Janice & Johnny said:
We didn't intentionally "feed" the 77, but it's possible he ate a little after the test. His plate is right there. He probably ate at least a little, but a small amount (no more than 1/8 can of FF).
hmmm, it's possible for him to have dropped again if that rise was due to food. if he did, the he should clear the bounce by tomorrow at the latest. i think i'd hold off on increasing the dose til tomorrow night. see what he does tomorrow. if you're not seeing what you want to see, i'd increase the dose to 0.5u bid.

Johnny had bloodwork and a urinalysis done at the end of November. Everything was fine but the BG levels. The urine culture was negative; nothing grew.
if he doesn't hack up hairball soon, i'd think about having blood work done again if only to rule out other issues. there's usually a reason for a cat vomiting.

The vet we saw in late Nov was a different one in the practice and she had a good balance of telling us her opinion and listening to our experience and not being all know-it-all. I have no problem being more persistent about the dental, but I'm a little gun-shy because she wanted us to start at a unit (I think). It was way more than we were comfortable doing. So, I think she'd take a look at what we're doing and say that he's just not getting enough insulin (which I think is true...but if there could be a reason behind the need, how about we start there?)
i wouldn't worry about the dose. just tell her you were uncomfortable with starting johnny on a higher dose. and yes, needing a dental could very well be the reason for needing more insulin!

Do you think there is a difference starting at the bottom (drop) and starting with the 1u and working downward?
it's easier to start low and then work the dose up than it is to start high and work your way down the dosing scale... especially when you're not available to monitor 24/7.

That's one of the steam cleaners I was looking at...glad to hear positive feedback about it.
a lot of people on the board are happy with the bissel.
 
Re: 2/9 Johnny PMPS 281/347 ... another increase?

We'll see what happens tomorrow and go (maybe up) from there! Thanks for the feedback. Brian says he thinks the vomiting might be the chicken/beef combo. We know for sure he ate that this a.m. (gobbled it, too, so another possible reason). He seems to be okay with just chicken or just beef, but maybe together it's too rich or something. We'll keep an eye out and try to assess when/if we see more vomit. Thanks for visiting us! I hope Alex is doing well.

Thanks, Celi, for the Bissel kudos and the cheers. :smile:
 
Re: 2/9 Johnny PMPS 281/347 ... another increase?

Janice, good luck with all the dental issues. Is this vet the one who is doing the anesthesia for the dental? Is it possible SHE is not comfortable giving anesthesia to a diabetic cat? Maybe someone else could do the dental.

Kitty also is having the barf issue, and I believe it is food related. He was eating only FF chicken, and started throwing up every several days -- sometimes with hairballs, mostly not.

I switched him to turkey, and the barfing stopped. So I thought, he's better, and he's likes the chicken, I'll let him have some. And voila, back was the barfing. So now three days on turkey only again, and... you guessed it, no barfing.

I really wonder what FF put in these new formulas that they created last year. :? Anyway, maybe you can interest Johnny in something else.
 
Re: 2/9 Johnny PMPS 281/347 ... another increase?

Thanks, Kathy! Maybe we have an issue with chicken here, too. We'll keep an eye out.

Johnny is 68 at +3. I think he heard me telling Brian about what Jill said. He is such a ridiculous (but wonderful) boy! Still, we'll see what tomorrow brings. Maybe Johnny thought I said "tonight." Kitties, stay off the internet. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top