2/9 Harley and Hadley - HaDley Late Shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura and Harley (GA)

Member Since 2011
HaRley
AMPS=348, Shot 1.2u, +6=85, PMPS=361, Shot 1.2u, SubW fluids @+3, +6=56 (fed usual LC meal)


To answer your question from yesterday's thread, yes, Sheila I think HaRley's PS's are mostly due to lack of duration from the prednisolone. Except when he gets that rare occasional surf like he did on full moon day.

HaDley
AMPS=183, Shot 1u, +6=60, +11.5=55, stalling, +11.75=54, fed 1/4 meal, +13=90, 1 hour post meal, +14.5=113, 2.5 hours post meal, Shot 0.25u, +4.5=96


While I have no regrets about shooting a reduced dose last night, I wasn't sure what to do with this AMPS. Too much insulin=bounce? Or not enough? So I treated it as not enough and raised back to the 1u I was trying yesterday morning. This big guy keeps me dancing...
 
Re: 2/9 Harley and Hadley

Vicky & Gandalf (GA) said:
The fact that HaDley didn't bounce off the 40 is a very good sign. I bet you're going to need to drop dose some more soon.

Crossing paws and hoping you are right! :-D
 
Re: 2/9 Harley and Hadley

Yeah, I was just going to say that - except, I think the 183 is a bit of a bounce. Looks like the 1u took care of it, but he could still drop further than 60 and either be low again tonight or bounce gain. Maybe try .75u? I think, if it were me, if he is below 140-150 I would try .75u tonight. If lower than 100, I'd drop to .5u again.

HaRley looks like he is the best he can be. You hate to see PS's in the 300s. Leaves me wondering about a bit of bounce there too. I have to go look at how low he went last night and what you shot then.
 
Re: 2/9 Harley and Hadley

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Yeah, I was just going to say that - except, I think the 183 is a bit of a bounce. Looks like the 1u took care of it, but he could still drop further than 60 and either be low again tonight or bounce gain. Maybe try .75u? I think, if it were me, if he is below 140-150 I would try .75u tonight. If lower than 100, I'd drop to .5u again.

Will do, I was thinking along these lines myself. Kind of like practicing a bit of TR. Shoot 1u if he's over say 150, maybe shoot 0.75u if he's between say 100 and 150 and below 100 shoot 0.5u while always taking into consideration the nadirs. Nice to know our Vulcan mind-meld is still going strong. :lol:

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
HaRley looks like he is the best he can be. You hate to see PS's in the 300s. Leaves me wondering about a bit of bounce there too. I have to go look at how low he went last night and what you shot then.

Sadly, HaRley is probably the best I can do for him right now if I stick with BID dosing. I'm not ruling out full-time split doing, TID or a custom shooting schedule but I can't deal with making any of those changes until say March 1. I need to get through this 1 week business trip two weeks from now and when I come home I can make changes.
 
Re: 2/9 Harley and Hadley - HaDley No Shot Yet

Change of freaking plans...game plan is now the test, feed a little, wait, test, and re-test plan to see how high he spikes from food and if he comes back down. Then may decide whether or not to shoot.
 
Re: 2/9 Harley and Hadley - HaDley No Shot Yet

Since he's rising and not coming down I shot only 0.25u since I need to shoot at regular time tomorrow morning. (Guess I needed to prove to myself he wasn't ready to have the training wheels taken off yet.)

Thinking of shooting 0.5u or 0.75u in the AM. I need to find a dose that I can shoot 12/12....thoughts? Advice? A$$ kicking? Bring it on 'cuz I've never done this part of the sugar dance before.
 
I think +2.5 may be too soon to see a drop from eating (pancreas action). I think it can be +2 to 4 hours after a meal. Also remember that shooting a food rising number can be giving you a "false" climb - meaning, when the food wears off they can still drop hard. I don't think that will happen with the .25u dose, just want to put that out there for other readers. When you are waiting for a rising number it needs to be a non-fed number.

I will be really interested to see if what he does with that .25u. I hope you can get at least one test in overnight. I also think he dropped more after the +6, maybe into the 40s. Impossible to know, of course, but a 55 PS after a +6 of 60 looks that way to me.

I would not shoot anything higher than .75u and only if he is in upper 100s tomorrow am. Otherwise go with .5u or even .25u. Part of this will be trial and error because ECID, but also because insulin needs can change daily. He is looking really good, but I don't think he is ready for stopping shots yet - I think of that as something happening off a lower dose like .25u or lower. It worked for Beau to keep reducing the dose each time he had a nadir below 50 and a PS where I had to skip a shot. Which brings up another thing, eventually you will be skipping shots, but needing to shoot the next one. With Beau I had a 'do not shoot' number and if it happened in the evening sometimes I would shoot late, but then I skipped the next morning because it was too soon. If it was an AM PS that was low, he just went without a shot until that evening.

You are right that you want to find a dose that you can shoot 12/12, but paws crossed, it will keep going lower. How are you at getting increments of .1u (like .6, .4, .3, etc)? Those small changes make a big difference below 1u.

Have you looked at Beau's SS where he went OTJ? That might give you an idea of my decision making process and what worked as his needs kept changing. It's Sep '09.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top