2/9 Gus AMPS 83. +2 79, +5 92, +9 58, PMPS 56, +1 68, +2 52, +3 45, +4 68, +5 50

Question

Can I get some thoughts on Gus?

He’s 56 right now @ PMPS, he was 58 @ +9 (gave him some HC to try to bump him up for PMPS). Normally I’d be all over shooting this number but he’s been taking reductions like crazy and I know the 3.25 depot is still at play. I’m not worried about sleep or monitoring him.

He should be on his way up at this point but he’s a tricky one

ETA: gave him a full shot 15mins later .. his Bg didn’t budge but I think he’s on his way up and we have a few hours before the insulin kicks in.. will test, test, test!

Gave HC @PMPS and +1
 
Last edited:
Ok, ty!

What BGs would justify a skip or a token dose (how much of a token dose?) and what dose would be high enough for a full dose?
 
I'm wondering if a skip is in order below 70 or 80 and a token dose of 1.5 if between 70/80 and 100 and full dose over 100.
Let's see how this cycle plays out and what Wendy suggests.

Kim, what time do you shoot in the morning? 6am? I will be around. That's 4:30pm for me.
 
Question.. is 2.75u his new dose? It’s only been 1 full cycle plus the one were in. Just not sure since it’s so soon after a reduction .. with the depot at play .. plus we’re attempting to drain that depot in the AM.. possibly ..
 
Question.. is 2.75u his new dose? It’s only been 1 full cycle plus the one were in. Just not sure since it’s so soon after a reduction .. with the depot at play .. plus we’re attempting to drain that depot in the AM.. possibly ..
No. With the depot in play we don’t want you to take another reduction. That’s why we are thinking of draining the depot. Back to back reductions rarely work. So 3,0 is the dose.
 
56 @ +6 … HC and syrup still? Or just HC and see what he gives next test?

It’s just keeping him at bay but he’s gotta come up for air at some point.. right!? Lol
 
Wow. That hardly moved the needle. Will he eat ever hour? If yes, stay with HC and see.
You must be exhausted!
I think at least he’ll eat next hour if nothing more.. I have been feeding him every hour so far .. so his belly has to be filling up soon - at the moment he’s staring at me waiting patiently for his food.

When he does this kinda of stunt. I think adrenaline kicks in.. or something like it… feeling ok atm.. but it will hit me eventually :)
 
Not really fond of the technique of skip or BCS for a lower dose cat, but it depends on the caregivers ability to monitor. I am more in favour of it at night. Or if you are falling down in the AM.
 
The BCS or skip in that case is for the caregiver, not the cat. Just don't want people casually reading this post think it's what we'd suggest all the time.

Thanks for your input, Wendy. I might need to take a BCS, I’m quite exhausted and it’s interfering with my work. Though I’m super happy with our current progress, I do need some sleep :) I’m a bad sleeper to begin with.

Gus is also gaining too much weight with all the night time snacking ;) ( me too! ) lol

I’ll reevaluate at AMPS, but I suspect he’ll be low then as well.
 
Back
Top