2/9 Buster AMPS 349 +7 261 PMPS 319

PMPS was 319. Question - given that he was in the greens at 2.25 units and can’t get out of the pinks/yellows at 2 units, is there harm in taking him back to 2.25 units a few days earlier than the 7 days recd for SLGS?
 
With SLGS you increase the dose once a week. TR has greater flexibility with dose changes but because it is more aggressive, it requires more testing (at least 4 per day). Also, preshots are not an indicator of how low he is going in the cycle - as you saw on 2/5. It's possible he saw lower numbers on 2/7 as well.

Apologies if I've have asked this before, but can you get the random spot check? Say a before bed test every night and any tests in the day when you're home? Even a +2 before you head out the door can tell you if it's going to be an active cycle or not.
 
With SLGS you increase the dose once a week. TR has greater flexibility with dose changes but because it is more aggressive, it requires more testing (at least 4 per day). Also, preshots are not an indicator of how low he is going in the cycle - as you saw on 2/5. It's possible he saw lower numbers on 2/7 as well.

Apologies if I've have asked this before, but can you get the random spot check? Say a before bed test every night and any tests in the day when you're home? Even a +2 before you head out the door can tell you if it's going to be an active cycle or not.

No worries!! I'm at work from his AMPS until about +10.5/11 most days, so it's hard to get spot checks during his day cycle. I try to get tests before bed but he's hiding sometimes so I could definitely stand to be more consistent with those!

I'll do a curve Sunday as planned (at 7 days). But then I just worry about increasing and him going hypo while I'm at work during the day.

His kidney levels were ever so slightly elevated at his vet visit last month, so I'm antsy to get him regulated before we recheck to see if that'll help before making any other changes. I know it's all about patience but sigh, its hard to be patient!! LOL
 
Last edited:
Back
Top