2/9 Boomer AMPS 113 +3 86 +8.5 119

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 113 shooting .75u
sigh. I've given us asking Boomer for a green AMPS; he's just not cooperating.
Giving him a snack at +9 instead of a meal isn't working this time.
Of course I have no nighttime stats because I don't get up in the middle of the night to test....I've tried it before and rarely can I test successfully at 2:00 am. So if he was really low at +3 I would just stay up with him. Other than that, I trust his 3 hour meals to keep him safe and I know he will wake me if he decides he can't eat his food.

Suggestions as to what to try to get his AMPS into green??? I hesitate to increase insulin because of the +3 of 56 the other day.

Boomer ate most of his foods last night; he left a bit in the +6 and I know he ate his 5:10 am treat around 7:00.

Yesterday we switched Allen back to the fancy feast that he loves. I know it's not the best food for him but right now we just need to get him to stop losing weight. He's eaten almost a can since yesterday afternoon along with dry food; we measured the dry food at 10:30 yesterday so will measure today at 10:30 to find out how much he has eaten. He did vomit again last night after the lactulose but we don't know whether it was before he ate or after. So this morning I let him eat first and will be giving lactulose about half an hour after he ate.
 
I don't see you having much room to increase with nadirs in the 50's and 60's. Maybe just try to keep playing with that +9 snack/meal etc. Boomer, please dream green buddy.

Vomiting is not listed as a side effect anywhere I found with lactulose so a good idea to see if it's before or after food. It might be a side effect for Allen though :( Since they are suspecting lymphoma my best guess is that's why the vomiting is happening unfortunately. Also better Allen eats then what he eats IMHO.
 
Then I'd either reduce the dose to 1/2 or stop giving it for a few days personally.
I sent a message to Dr Larry yesterday about the vomiting plus the weight loss. No response :( This morning we gave lactulose about 45 minutes after feeding and we have Allen on the main floor with us with the bedroom doors closed so we will know for sure if/when he vomits. If it happens again then I'm out of ideas and we will have to stop giving it.
 
Hopefully you can figure out the vomiting with sweet Allen. Personally I would be a bit hesitant to increase Boomer, too...the blues are barely blue and he is really looking awesome, but others may have suggestions. Have a great day, Judy!
 
Hey Judy, sorry about Allen and the vomiting and hope your vet answers your call ASAP.

About Boomer, he is looking good with that +3! I started doing the +8.5 feeding at night and the lowest carbed food that I have and it seems to be working out better for Bubba as he is so carb sensitive and it seems like 3 hours prior to the AMPS isn't enough time to clear the carbs.
 
Hey Judy, sorry about Allen and the vomiting and hope your vet answers your call ASAP.

About Boomer, he is looking good with that +3! I started doing the +8.5 feeding at night and the lowest carbed food that I have and it seems to be working out better for Bubba as he is so carb sensitive and it seems like 3 hours prior to the AMPS isn't enough time to clear the carbs.
@Bobbie And Bubba what times do you feed at throughout the day?
 
@Bobbie And Bubba what times do you feed at throughout the day?

I just recently changed it up a bit since he's on a drop. I feed at +3.5 or +4 depending on it I need to leave the house and then at about +8.5. And the same at the PM time now too. Sometimes it's a bit off from those times but, that is what I am aiming at for now. So he is getting fed 6 times a day now instead of 7.
 
+8.5 119
And he will come down (hopefully). He has a double curve.
And I'll likely change the auto feeder tonight to give him a +8.5 snack to see if it helps.
 
how did Allen do after the lactulose this morning?? did the food stay down?? Benson has thyroid and CKD and just kept losing weight... finally got him eating with the mirtazapine and at this point i would rather he eats something then nothing... i know its not the best thing for his kidneys sometimes but i refuse to watch him starve to death first... so i totally get the Allen must eat feeling.... watch Boomer find green now that you said you have given up asking lol... please Boomer find the green for one whole day... would mean an extra treat maybe if you do... when all else fails try to bribe him Judy lol :bighug::bighug:
 
how did Allen do after the lactulose this morning?? did the food stay down?? Benson has thyroid and CKD and just kept losing weight... finally got him eating with the mirtazapine and at this point i would rather he eats something then nothing... i know its not the best thing for his kidneys sometimes but i refuse to watch him starve to death first... so i totally get the Allen must eat feeling.... watch Boomer find green now that you said you have given up asking lol... please Boomer find the green for one whole day... would mean an extra treat maybe if you do... when all else fails try to bribe him Judy lol :bighug::bighug:
This morning we fed Allen at the regular time then gave the lactulose about 45 minutes later. He was upstairs with us so we know for sure he did not puke. We've just fed so we're waiting 45 minutes again and will give the lactulose. Allen lost .8lbs last week and although I know some of that is the backed up poop that he (hopefully) has got rid of, I don't think it can account for the entire weight loss. We measured what Allen ate in 24 hours and he ate 1/2 cup kibble and 1 can fancy feast.
 
Well Boomer's PMPS was the same as the last two nights so it looks like the +8.5 snack (instead of +9) didn't help. Of course overnight could be different.
But because, at one point, he wasn't eating his overnight +6s and he was green at AMPS, I'm going to give him a +6 snack instead of meal because I think the meal is stopping the insulin.
 
Hi Bobbie,
All of Boomer's numbers are in the range of a "normal" cat (i.e., a cat not taking insulin). I don't think those blue numbers are cause for worry. Rusty almost always has a blue number at AMPS (and often at other points during the cycle). Sometimes a higher AMPS is called "dawn phenomenon" (cats prepare themselves for the day by revving themselves up).
I totally agree that you should feed Allen what he likes to eat.

Have a good evening,
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Almost green Boomer - let's see a lagoon dip next.

With cat with ibd/lymphoma - their bowels have absorption problems and they can lose weight even when eating a good amount of food. My civie Theo was a regular puker, almost on a schedule so I think it had something to do with the timing of food going through his system. We started with metronidazole first with the civie, and that has some anti-inflammatory properties that got rid of most of the vomiting. I think adding probiotics also helped him. I hope you'll be able to get Allen in for a U/S soon. That'll give you more information about how best to help him. Now that I've got the meds right for Theo's condition, weight loss is no longer a concern. :rolleyes:
 
Almost green Boomer - let's see a lagoon dip next.

With cat with ibd/lymphoma - their bowels have absorption problems and they can lose weight even when eating a good amount of food. My civie Theo was a regular puker, almost on a schedule so I think it had something to do with the timing of food going through his system. We started with metronidazole first with the civie, and that has some anti-inflammatory properties that got rid of most of the vomiting. I think adding probiotics also helped him. I hope you'll be able to get Allen in for a U/S soon. That'll give you more information about how best to help him. Now that I've got the meds right for Theo's condition, weight loss is no longer a concern. :rolleyes:
Thanks Wendy. We're just waiting until we think he's got rid of all the poop that was backed up. But the puking does seem related to the lactulose. Today we've fed then 45 minutes later gave the lactulose. He just had it so we'll see if our strategy works. On another topic, I hear you've been having some nasty weather?
 
Hi Bobbie,
All of Boomer's numbers are in the range of a "normal" cat (i.e., a cat not taking insulin). I don't think those blue numbers are cause for worry. Rusty almost always has a blue number at AMPS (and often at other points during the cycle). Sometimes a higher AMPS is called "dawn phenomenon" (cats prepare themselves for the day by revving themselves up).
I totally agree that you should feed Allen what he likes to eat.

Have a good evening,
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Yes they are in the "good" range and it could be much worse. Still hoping he goes back into remission though and that certainly doesn't seem to be happening.
 
On another topic, I hear you've been having some nasty weather?
It's really location specific. We got snow back again. :arghh: But only about 4 inches here over a couple of days at our house. Some places got over 8 inches. But not too cold, the hummingbird feeder never froze. More snow for a while last night, then it turned to rain. To the eastern valley it was icy rain, which we very seldom get. And all the highways to the interior of the province were closed due to either icy rain or avalanche danger. Of course DH is in Kelowna and wants to come home tomorrow - we'll see if he makes it. The rain is busy washing things away here. Back to double digits Celcius in a couple of days.

Poor flower bulbs have started popping up and were probably put in shock.
 
It's really location specific. We got snow back again. :arghh: But only about 4 inches here over a couple of days at our house. Some places got over 8 inches. But not too cold, the hummingbird feeder never froze. More snow for a while last night, then it turned to rain. To the eastern valley it was icy rain, which we very seldom get. And all the highways to the interior of the province were closed due to either icy rain or avalanche danger. Of course DH is in Kelowna and wants to come home tomorrow - we'll see if he makes it. The rain is busy washing things away here. Back to double digits Celcius in a couple of days.

Poor flower bulbs have started popping up and were probably put in shock.
We heard about the avalanche; the map they showed on the news showed Lake Louise so I knew exactly where the avalanche was but I didn't know where you were in relation to it. We've had strange weather again this winter; a bit of snow one day and rain the next. On Saturday it's supposed to be 7 and sunny which will be just beautiful! It's more than we can ask for in February :rolleyes:
 
but I didn't know where you were in relation to it.
About 10 hours drive away. I am on the coast. Thankfully the avalanches haven't hurt anyone. The other roads were closed because they haven't been able to do the avalanche blasting as the helicopters couldn't get off the ground due to icy rain. So it's a precaution.

Umm Boomer, two lousy points please!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top