? 2/9 Bella AMPS 313 Why does it seem like BG levels higher on insulin??

Status
Not open for further replies.

JanetMR

Member Since 2017
Why does it appear as though Bella’s blood glucose levels are higher on insulin?
I keep thinking that I’m not getting it in her. ( I am)
She’s eating well.
Urine ketones remain negative.
( yeah!)
Is this “normal”?
I know: ECID
:cat:
 
Hi Janet. Yeah for still no ketones!

I think Bella needs more insulin. Have you considered following TR? You are testing enough to follow it and it will get her in better numbers faster and with a history of developing ketones that would be a good idea.
 
It appears that way because that's the data you have recorded, but it doesn't tell the whole story. You said when she was diagnosed, her bg was over 400 and the fructosamine came back at 510. Fructosamine is an average over a few weeks, so that means upon diagnosis, her average glucose was in to 500s! You also changed food to low carb right away, I'm sure this helped to bring the numbers down a bit, but she clearly still needed a little more help with insulin because of both her numbers as well as developing keytones. Also, when you changed food and had started the Vetsulin, you were having trouble getting her to eat. Less eating usually equals lower BGs.

Bella has done well with the slightly higher, though still low carb food. This could also cause higher numbers, depending on how carb sensitive she is. You want the higher carb low carb food so you can get more insulin in her to combat the keytones. It also sounds like she is eating better now, so that changes the insulin needs. Had she lost and since gained back any weight? That can contribute as well.

Now you're at the stage where you are waiting for times to safely increase, until she reaches a level of insulin that keeps her in good numbers below the renal threshold. She has come a long way in a short time just by the fact that she's feeling better, eating better and has had a nice stretch of negative keytones. It's hard when the numbers don't reflect this, but they are not their numbers and we can't ever forget that.

Rather you are following SLGS or TR, the rules are a bit different for Bella because when keytones are involved, the rules yield to handling and staving off the keytones. You are doing great, and Bella will likely need an increase soon, but what a long way she has come! :bighug:
 
It appears that way because that's the data you have recorded, but it doesn't tell the whole story. You said when she was diagnosed, her bg was over 400 and the fructosamine came back at 510. Fructosamine is an average over a few weeks, so that means upon diagnosis, her average glucose was in to 500s! You also changed food to low carb right away, I'm sure this helped to bring the numbers down a bit, but she clearly still needed a little more help with insulin because of both her numbers as well as developing keytones. Also, when you changed food and had started the Vetsulin, you were having trouble getting her to eat. Less eating usually equals lower BGs.

Bella has done well with the slightly higher, though still low carb food. This could also cause higher numbers, depending on how carb sensitive she is. You want the higher carb low carb food so you can get more insulin in her to combat the keytones. It also sounds like she is eating better now, so that changes the insulin needs. Had she lost and since gained back any weight? That can contribute as well.

Now you're at the stage where you are waiting for times to safely increase, until she reaches a level of insulin that keeps her in good numbers below the renal threshold. She has come a long way in a short time just by the fact that she's feeling better, eating better and has had a nice stretch of negative keytones. It's hard when the numbers don't reflect this, but they are not their numbers and we can't ever forget that.

Rather you are following SLGS or TR, the rules are a bit different for Bella because when keytones are involved, the rules yield to handling and staving off the keytones. You are doing great, and Bella will likely need an increase soon, but what a long way she has come! :bighug:

Thank you so much for this perspective!
What is the basic difference between SLGS and TR?
I figured SLGS is kind of the way I do things anyway...( cautious)
Hopefully I can get some feedback on knowing when to increase her dose and to what amount.
;)
 
Nine consecutive days of negative ketones! Go Bella!

While 9 days with no ketones is great, vigilance is required. The ketones are still visible in the rear-view mirror (so to speak) and a little too close for comfort

Like Stacy pointed out, with a ketone prone kitty making sure the ketones stay away is top priority. That means temporarily operating outside the guidelines of TR and SLGS as needed.

Bella is on cycle 5 of .5u. Lets see how this cycle and the next play out.

Whats the WCR today? All Ps in place?
 
Nine consecutive days of negative ketones! Go Bella!

While 9 days with no ketones is great, vigilance is required. The ketones are still visible in the rear-view mirror (so to speak) and a little too close for comfort

Like Stacy pointed out, with a ketone prone kitty making sure the ketones stay away is top priority. That means temporarily operating outside the guidelines of TR and SLGS as needed.

Bella is on cycle 5 of .5u. Lets see how this cycle and the next play out.

Whats the WCR today? All Ps in place?

Bella is eating well. She’s alert and fairly active ( not like her pre diabetic self) she was playing last evening.. not for long, but playing with a toy mouse. Peeing/ pooping ok

One of my other cats did an interesting thing.. she was grooming Bella. She like the mother cat.. she does this periodically, but I haven’t seen her do it since Bella diagnosis. Interesting....

The first day on the increased dose I noticed Bella looked zoned/ spacey. Yesterday she was back to her usual self.
 
What does a flat yellow am cycle mean
A flat yellow cycle can indicate that an active cycle could be imminent. Since this is the 6th cycle on this dose, the depot should be full and since this is the first yellow pre shot the dose has seen, hopefully there will be some downward action.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top