2/8 Tiger Amps 400, +2 358, +4 315, +6 299 Pmps 334

Deb and Tiger

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-7-tiger-amps-hi-pmps-hi.286439/

Happy Thursday!

I will be glad when we can do an increase, these numbers are deflating! Lol pun intended..
All this pink Tiger says is not masculine! This definitely is not his ideal dose.

last night I came across a strap on ice pack we had received at some point that I kept. It has a strap on it that velcros to itself. The light bulb went off! Would it work? Well it did kind of. Tiger doesn’t mind it. He did try to bite it but he walks and jumps up on bed etc with it. The current libre is a bit too far forward but we can move the next one back and it should cover it fine. Still going to try self adhesive ace bandage too when we get it. Small victories, small victories, I tell myself.

Have a great day everyone!
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-7-tiger-amps-hi-pmps-hi.286439/

Happy Thursday!

I will be glad when we can do an increase, these numbers are deflating! Lol pun intended..
All this pink Tiger says is not masculine! This definitely is not his ideal dose.

last night I came across a strap on ice pack we had received at some point that I kept. It has a strap on it that velcros to itself. The light bulb went off! Would it work? Well it did kind of. Tiger doesn’t mind it. He did try to bite it but he walks and jumps up on bed etc with it. The current libre is a bit too far forward but we can move the next one back and it should cover it fine. Still going to try self adhesive ace bandage too when we get it. Small victories, small victories, I tell myself.

Have a great day everyone!
Hi Deb, that’s the spirit.
I can’t tell you how many times I have had to try to figure some creative solution to something for Ivy.
The strap with Velcro is a great solution as long as he is happy. Maybe you could even put something small underneath the strap, like a piece of fabric, or a small washcloth, or something that would be held in place so the sensor is not rubbed by the Velcro strap, if for some reason that were a problem. It’s always thinking outside the box.
When Ivy broke her leg last summer, she couldn’t walk over the edge of a litter box as she was in a splint before they could do surgery for several days. I had to figure out what to do. I ended up taking a large feeding area rubber mat that was flat and putting litter down on it and she didn’t have to climb over a lip. She just had to drag her leg Into her “litter box”. It actually worked quite well during an incredibly difficult time. Even after her surgery we left that in place for a while because she couldn’t get in and out of a litter box.
Wishing you a great day for both you and Tiger :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Deb, You celebrate any victory, big or small when dealing with FD!!!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:@Deb and Tiger It kinda looks like your boy is starting to slide down from that AMPS! I am so happy to read your post about using the velcro strap!!! :cool::cool::cool::cool::cool: What is that saying about Necessity is the Mother of Invention? Something like that, whatever the case, that is great creative thinking for a very frustrating problem! How has Tiger's tummy been lately? It looks like the Cerenia is working as he seems to be eating better? You are doing a great job managing these curveballs that have been thrown at you!!!!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Deb, You celebrate any victory, big or small when dealing with FD!!!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:@Deb and Tiger It kinda looks like your boy is starting to slide down from that AMPS! I am so happy to read your post about using the velcro strap!!! :cool::cool::cool::cool::cool: What is that saying about Necessity is the Mother of Invention? Something like that, whatever the case, that is great creative thinking for a very frustrating problem! How has Tiger's tummy been lately? It looks like the Cerenia is working as he seems to be eating better? You are doing a great job managing these curveballs that have been thrown at you!!!!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thanks Ruth. Yes but he has been really flat. Not sure if it’s the reductions or if our insulin is getting old. We got a request into vet for a refill script so we’ll see if that helps. We have another 3 days at this dose per slgs.
His tummy seems a bit better but vet assistant called today and said he probably has pancreatitis and possible IBD. They would have to put him under to get a specimen to test to be sure or we can just treat. We’re not comfortable putting him under with the FD. So…..

She said to also rule out lymphoma……which his sister had. So not good news that we will have to think about. His symptoms are not like hers tho, really.

Tonight we’re going to try the self adhesive ace bandage, wish us luck!

Have a wonderful night!
 
Thanks Ruth. Yes but he has been really flat. Not sure if it’s the reductions or if our insulin is getting old. We got a request into vet for a refill script so we’ll see if that helps. We have another 3 days at this dose per slgs.
His tummy seems a bit better but vet assistant called today and said he probably has pancreatitis and possible IBD. They would have to put him under to get a specimen to test to be sure or we can just treat. We’re not comfortable putting him under with the FD. So…..

She said to also rule out lymphoma……which his sister had. So not good news that we will have to think about. His symptoms are not like hers tho, really.

Tonight we’re going to try the self adhesive ace bandage, wish us luck!

Have a wonderful night!
Hi Deb, good luck with the ace bandage adhesive. Let us know how that goes. Hope that’s a great success for Tiger.

How old is the insulin you’re using? I believe it’s good at least 5 months or so if a vial. (Maybe longer). If using a pen probably fine to use the entire pen.
Especially is clear, no floaties and refrigerated well.

I assume they will treat for pancreatitis without a biopsy, correct?
I know many members are very familiar with the condition here.
Praying of course it’s not lymphoma.
I’m sorry about Tiger’s sister :(

Hoping if you get some alternative treatments for Tiger he will continue to feel much better.
You’re doing such a great job.
Wishing you a restful and boring night :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
The depot of the 1.5 units is building, hopefully tomorrow you'll see more what that dose can do. You are still seeing the side effects of those reduced doses, the impact of which can be seen cycles later. Pancreatitis can also cause their numbers to go up. Your vial is only since end of October? Should still be fine unless it was near something frozen or left out of the fridge for days.

Pancreatitis flares are common with both IBD or small cell lymphoma. I current have a cat that has both. :arghh: Honestly, the small cell lymphoma is easier to treat. She's had it for almost six years, and is in remission currently snoozing on my hubby's lap. We aren't giving her meds for it anymore. The IBD however :banghead:. Makes her very fussy, constant rotation of foods, and having to find foods that she isn't allergic to. Symptoms vary quite a bit for small cell lymphoma - some just lose weight in spite of eating a good amount of food. All three of my SCL kitties were vomiters. :rolleyes: It depends where in the bowels the inflammation is.
 
The depot of the 1.5 units is building, hopefully tomorrow you'll see more what that dose can do. You are still seeing the side effects of those reduced doses, the impact of which can be seen cycles later. Pancreatitis can also cause their numbers to go up. Your vial is only since end of October? Should still be fine unless it was near something frozen or left out of the fridge for days.

Pancreatitis flares are common with both IBD or small cell lymphoma. I current have a cat that has both. :arghh: Honestly, the small cell lymphoma is easier to treat. She's had it for almost six years, and is in remission currently snoozing on my hubby's lap. We aren't giving her meds for it anymore. The IBD however :banghead:. Makes her very fussy, constant rotation of foods, and having to find foods that she isn't allergic to. Symptoms vary quite a bit for small cell lymphoma - some just lose weight in spite of eating a good amount of food. All three of my SCL kitties were vomiters. :rolleyes: It depends where in the bowels the inflammation is.
Hopefully numbers are better today.

Tigers sister had lymphoma and we were not as lucky with it as you. She did not respond to 3 different chemos and several drugs for her symptoms. We were taking to a cancer specialist but nothing helped. She lived about a year until we had to let her go. All this during the height of covid……

Thanks for the encouraging info but I don’t know if we want to put him thru the biopsies. Especially not until his FD is more controlled.
 
There are many different types of lymphoma. Large cell is a much more aggressive condition than small cell which is also easier to treat. My last one I was lucky that the bowel inflammation was near the upper part, and we got away with a endoscopy. Shorter anaesthesia and back home the same day. That also works if it's at the back end, but becomes a colonoscopy. Just the middle section needs surgical biopsy. Neko's small cell was a best guess based on endosopy, her heart conditions did not allow anaesthesia. In the end, it was not the lymphoma that took her.

Sounds so scary going through all of that during Covid's peak. :bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top