2/8 Squeaks; AMPS 130, +5 189, PMPS 257-Not sure if dose is correct yet?

Sugarkitty15

Member Since 2020
Hi all,

I'm curious, is there a dose between 'drop dose' and the .1U? When I was giving Squeaks drop dose but his numbers were too high so I was told to increase to .1U. Then, after a few doses on .1U, his nadir went down to 78, so I was told to reduce it back to a drop dose, however, he's back yellow when I do that. I think he needs something in the middle but I'm not sure what that is. Any suggestions?? :cat:
 
Hi Betsy,

You might want to change the date on your thread title. It's February 8 today. :)

Here's your last post for continuity: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-i-change-dose-correctly.242691/#post-2735342

I can't give much advice regarding dosing so hopefully a more experienced member will be along shortly. Out of curiosity though, is there a reason why you're following SLGS instead of TR? TR would allow for reductions with drops below 50, which would allow Squeaks to be on higher doses of insulin for slightly longer so that you would not be going back and forth between doses.
 
Goodness, thanks for that date callout, it's been quite a day! I guess I've just always been following SLGS. I suppose though, it may not be a bad idea to be a bit more aggressive with the TR, especially since I'm working from home right now. I'll have to read up on the sticky on TR! Thanks for the suggestion. :)
 
If you're at home and can monitor the situation closely and you're not feeding any dry food, TR is the way to go.
 
Yes to both of those! I think I'm going to have to give TR a try. This raises the question though, should I go back to .1U then?
 
Great suggestion from Katherine. @PerfumedCatMom As I started reading I was going to suggest you follow TR. It’s the only way I can think of to lower the bg. There’s really not an in between dose bless you count the drops in your dose to see if you can cut it in half. Everybody’s doses are a little different with micro dosing. The syringes are also quite different so I used digital calipers and ignored the lines. You are so close to remission that I don’t know if getting calipers will be necessary.
 
Thanks @tiffmaxee, I'm going to start TR tomorrow! I'd like to try it without getting calipers, to your point, I'm really hoping we can get into remission soon. Maybe TR is the boost we need?! Do you think it would hurt if I went back to the .1U to start the TR?
 
Well a lot depends on how often you can test. You will need a +1 and +2. For most cats if tge +2 is lower than the +1 it will be an active cycle. So if it’s under 100 I would feed a little higher carb food to keep from dropping too fast or too low. What % carbs is your food? If you get a lower +2 and normally feed 3% then feed 7-10%. If you can get more tests I think going back to .10 makes sense.
 
His food ranges from 0%-5% carbs. I can certainly do a +1 and +2, but are you saying this probably wouldn't be a good idea unless I have some higher carb food?
 
If you are going to follow TR, 0.1 unit would be your next dose. And have others have suggested, try counting how many drops are in your 0.1 unit. I used the BD syringes, and I found the "zero" lines were really bad. For a while, Neko's dose was under the zero line - I figured there was about 1/3 of a unit under the line.:rolleyes:

Since you are giving Levemir, not Lantus, the +2 test might not give you any good information. The +3 or +4 might be better. You want to test around onset. And if you see a big drop then, give some LC, maybe towards the 5% end to start, or a bit above if you have it.
 
I just said the +2 might not be helpful. I know Marje found it helpful to get a +2 with her Gracie on Lev. I didn't with Neko.
 
Thank you @Wendy&Neko and @tiffmaxee! I'll work on getting some +2's-+4's to see where his onset is for sure. Just to clarify as my brain is not working great today, for the dose tomorrow morning, should I do the .1U or find 1/2 of the .1U by measuring the drops? I wasn't sure if next dose should be .1U meant tomorrow morning or next dose when I need to increase. Appreciate you both!
 
Back
Top