2/8 Rocket AM BG 160=NS/PM BG 166=NS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
morning all,
tough night for Rocket with the pred...he was restless and did not sleep much...he got the bupe at midnight and settled for a little bit but i've been up with him as he has been either sitting by the waterbowl or on the LB....

AM BG 160...had a tough time testing...and he doesn't want to eat...i fed him at 3 am and only nibbled (now AM BG 5:30)

i decided not to give insulin this morning simply because i'm not going to be here after his +2.5 but i'm prepared to give insulin at PM BG...i really don't know how it will all play out...he tremors pretty bad and gets upset obviously at the added stress of the testing...

so now with the number in place...what is a safe number to still not shoot?

yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=36202
 
Re: 2/8 Rocket AM BG 160=NS

hope you get the advice you need soon.
Huge hugs for both you and Rocket and continued prayers.
 
Re: 2/8 Rocket AM BG 160=NS

((((((((((Rocket)))))))))) I'm sorry he had a restless night. WIshing today will be better.

I don't know about the number to shoot. I would hazard a guess and say upper blues or lower yellows. Especially since testing him causes him such stress. Guess we'll see what the others say. Hugs.
 
Re: 2/8 Rocket AM BG 160=NS

thanks Iorwen

i don't know if the pred will do him any good...i tried to feed him by hand and he was eating ok...but now i noticed he tilts his head to one side...and is not able to stop it...i had to hold his head and then he seemed ok...it happened 3 times....this is making me sick to my gut....more side effects probably...i don't know...

now that i have given the pred at 6pm last night and the bupe 12 midnight...next dose for both is 8 am...now here shortly 6 am...i will give the pheno....i know i can't stop the pred cold turkey...

is the pred now doing more harm than good? should i give the next pred dose? if tapered off with one dose should i give half the dose come 8 am?

in my previous post i meant to say i won't be here past his +4.....
 
Re: 2/8 Rocket AM BG 160=NS/have questions

I think you should give the next pred dose and stay with it. I don't think you will see the good benefits until you are 48 - 72 hours into it. I think it is good to skip a shot if he is low, so that you don't have to stress yourselves out with too much testing.
 
Re: 2/8 Rocket AM BG 160=NS/have questions

Claudia...I would also give a little more time on the pred because you can't stop/start it. It will take a little time to kick in and if you give it a few days and see it's making him worse, then you can start tapering him off of it; but then you can't turn around and start it again....that makes it harder on kitty. I know this is tough but you are doing awesome! You are.....you are observing him and making sure you see exactly what is going on so the vets will have good info. You are a role model for everyone on what loyality and sacrifice are. Sending prayers and healing vines for you both.
 
Re: 2/8 Rocket AM BG 160=NS

Claudia & Rocket said:
thanks Iorwen

i don't know if the pred will do him any good...i tried to feed him by hand and he was eating ok...but now i noticed he tilts his head to one side...and is not able to stop it...i had to hold his head and then he seemed ok...it happened 3 times....this is making me sick to my gut....more side effects probably...i don't know...

now that i have given the pred at 6pm last night and the bupe 12 midnight...next dose for both is 8 am...now here shortly 6 am...i will give the pheno....i know i can't stop the pred cold turkey...

is the pred now doing more harm than good? should i give the next pred dose? if tapered off with one dose should i give half the dose come 8 am?

in my previous post i meant to say i won't be here past his +4.....

Try to give the pred several days Claudia to see if it helps him it takes time to see it work for cats and of course ECID (((HUGS)))) from us
 
Re: 2/8 Rocket AM BG 160=NS/have questions

I agree that you should try to stick with the pred for a while. I noticed that Blackie did a lot of staring into space and was wide awake for several days after starting the pred. But then he got back to his normal self. And I think it can take up to 2 weeks to see the benefits of the pred, so that's why I suggested sticking with it. The head tilt thing is possibly a neurological symptom. Can you ask your vet about that?

I'm sending more prayers and healing vines and energies to Rocket. I really hope he eats more and starts feeling better.
 
Re: 2/8 Rocket AM BG 160=NS/have questions

should he require insulin tonight as i have not tested but will test at PM BG...i really don't know how it will work out....

been syringe feeding as of 11:30 (that's when i got back) and doesn't matter what i show him he does not want to eat....i just finished syringe feeding (1:30)....

his reg vet sends me to ask questions to the neuro guy who is not available this week..the im vet is on vacation...so i'm stuck dealing with it all on my own...they're so quick to take your money but when you need them...let me tell you....i'm really frustrated...not with Rocket....with the crap i have to put up with the vets...

just finished giving him 30 cc of the proplan...

i'm going to take a nap....because i foresee having yet another night with no sleep...at 4 pm he gets his next bupe dose...then 5:30 is testing time...

what would be the safe # to still not shoot?

the observation made in the morning happened to be the ear i tested...i don't know if it has anything to do with that...or pure coincidence...yes i will give it a week....

he is scheduled to see the neuro guy on Feb 15....though frankly not sure if it's worth the money....not Rocket...i mean the vet....and i only got the Rx of pred for 1 week.....it has to be a conspiracy...so i go and spend more money on them (the vets)....i'm venting again...

anyhow...he's got some food in his tummy...until 1 hr or so from now...will try again and see if he eats on his own (or me spoon feed him) but if nothing then syringe here it comes! got it ready too
 
Re: 2/8 Rocket AM BG 160=NS/have questions

I know you've probably tried everything, but how about FF Medley's? Some of them are only 10% carbs and Blackie will almost always eat them. I hope you get an answer to your dose question soon. Rocket, EAT!
 
Re: 2/8 Rocket AM BG 160=NS/have questions

Claudia I don't see an answer on the BG value that people recommend you shoot yet. So giving you a bump! Maybe you should PM the dosing experts?
 
Re: 2/8 Rocket AM BG 160=NS/have questions

Sending Healing Vines & love to you & Rocket--
I would stick it out with the meds, as even people need to get the full effect of medication--I was on prednisone for 2 yrs and it helped tremendously! Hugs To both of you!
 
Re: 2/8 Rocket AM BG 160=NS/PM BG 166=NS/dose questions

I wouldn't shoot a 166 still a nice solid mid blue. I hope you get a response on your question for AMPS though. Hang in there Claudia.
 
Re: 2/8 Rocket AM BG 160=NS/PM BG 166=NS/dose questions

got no advise on my question
i skipped the shot again...
BG going up and not sure what the number should be before i shoot...yes it is stressful to him...he was sleeping away and i woke him up...no interest in food either...

PM BG 166
 
Re: 2/8 Rocket AM BG 160=NS/PM BG 166=NS/dose questions

If you decide that Rocket needs to start back on insulin, how about starting with 0.25u? We can always raise the dose back up if necessary.
 
Re: 2/8 Rocket AM BG 160=NS/PM BG 166=NS/dose questions

What threashold would you choose though Sienne if it were Gabby. If she puts Rocket on insulin she'll have to test him to make sure he doesn't drop adding additional stress on him. What is safe?
 
Sienne,
what # would it be ok to shoot?
i'm having a hard time with all his other issues (the tremors and his stress and lack of appetite and eating on command should he drop)

believe me i would like to keep his numbers down as i see they're going up as time passes and this snapshot is only every 12 hrs...as i'm not testing him beyond the shot time....i don't want to add more stress on him...

that said...what number is safe for his pancreas with no insulin?
 
Re: 2/8 Rocket AM BG 160=NS/PM BG 166=NS/dose questions

Karrie and Maverick said:
What threashold would you choose though Sienne if it were Gabby. If she puts Rocket on insulin she'll have to test him to make sure he doesn't drop adding additional stress on him. What is safe?
i would love to know as well
 
I would probably be shooting at this level. And yes, it may add some stress but Rocket isn't new to testing. Not testing and letting his BG levels increase puts him at risk for other problems -- kidneys and DKA come to mind immediately.
 
Good luck with the juice in the morning. I know you anticipate being up all night but I hope you will get some rest and he'll eat something.
 
Hi (((((( Claudia and Rocket))))),

Thinking of you guys and praying for you guys too. I keep you in my thoughts,
even with my thoughts all over the place. I hope all get some rest tonight. :YMHUG: .
 
thanks guys

Pred in place waiting for him to start getting sleepy so i can grab him and go have a nap with him...

been practising the 0.25u and it's hard...so i hope i do it right tomorrow am

please continue to pray for us...we need your well wishes and prayers....much appreciated

ps...the only good thing today was that he managed to stay out of the tub 80% of the day...which is good...and managed to stay (though i put him there) 10 mins by the window in our bedroom...but i had to take away his bed....to see if he would still stay...so that was good too...

bupe dose in 3 1/2 hrs...hopefully he will settle and not be agitated like last night...he ate a lil bit but not as much as i'd like...but i'll keep at it...if he stops eating altogether then i'd have to get the Clinicare in place though it's high in carbs...he will need something in his system....

sorry i did not visit condos....thinking of Cheryl and Whiskers, Ele and Blackie and glad Sooty is doing well...thinking on all of you and your kitties...

eta: thinking also on Christie and Willie and praying for good results too
 
Continued thoughts and prayers for you and Rocket both, Claudia. Hope the medication helps him to see improvement and allows you the peace of mind to get some rest.
 
Claudia, I'm sorry I didn't get to stop by earlier today but just wanted you to know I have been thinking about you today. Hope Rocket is able to sleep a little tonight so you can sleep, also. Holding you close in my prayers.
 
he has managed to sleep and not be as agitated as he was before...i have not slept but relaxed a bit...i fed him about 25 mins ago...and though i spoon fed him he ate a bit more than before...so i'm happy he has more food in his tummy....

bupe dose in less than 2 hrs now...

in order to better care for him as i'm sure i'll be up later....i have decided to sleep when he sleeps...and i'm blessed to have a very supportive DH in that he is allowing me to care for Rocket and him taking care of the rest of the household chores...he knows this is important to me...and though we are making financial sacrifices by me not getting a job yet...he says he rather have me have peace of mind caring for Rocket than all the money in the world....so that has lifted a huge burden off my shoulders....we are gonna be poor but i will be at peace...which is good....

night everyone....i hope to get some rest as i don't know what later tonight will bring or tomorrow....wishing all of you and your kitties good health....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top