2/8 Kim's Simon amps 199; green day-ain't that like a cat

Status
Not open for further replies.

kim and simon

Member Since 2012
Good morning all. Here's yesterday.

Not too many birdy visitors yet at our bird feeder. I suppose it may take awhile for them to locate the new fuds. Perhaps they are scared of our furry friends? Simon and the drooler do go in the backyard (Simon can't get out). I may need to hang it higher to give birds a sense of safety.

MOST of the time, Simon's nadir comes between +2-3. His nadirs are looking pretty good. However, it seems like his pre shots are too high. Is this just part of the process of flattening out the curve? Does this come in time?
I'm asking because the vet also noticed this and said that we may need to try a longer acting insulin like Levemir. Is this accurate? Can anyone explain the differences between Lantus and Levemir?

What do you folks see happening with Simon? He is obviously doing pretty well and is on a tiny dose. Does this mean his pancreas is kicking back in? I would like to be educated about options when I talk with the vet again. He's open minded and pretty current. . .but I don't think he's as current as the FDMB folks ;-)

I'm planning to keep Simon at .25u unless anyone sees a reason to go to f.25 or s.5 (which are kind of similar to my eye :roll: )

ETA: Funny how whenever I ponder or post about a change or say I'm concerned about him not responding. . .Simon responds in spades. I think he reads over my shoulder or has kitty wireless internet in his noggin. Check out what he did all day!
Only difference was that I fed him more and later mini-meals. Now I have to figure out what that means confused_cat
 
Re: 2/8 Kim's Simon amps 199 /+2 61/? re: nadir/duration/ins

Lev has the same duration as Lantus. The difference is that the nadir is later in the cycle. A lot of people mistakenly take the later nadir to mean that Lev has greater duration. With Lantus, the nadir is at around (broadly speaking) +6. With Lev, it's around +8. There are some pharmacological differences. This link helps to explain the differences between Lantus and Lev -- just keep in mind that it's written for humans. You might want to look at Marje/Gracie's and Jill/Alex's SSs. They both have used Lantus and Lev.

Pre-shot values are typically the last to come down. For many cats, it's the AMPS that is the last to fall into place usually due to a dawn phenomenon. The body's natural rhythm is to release cortisol in the early hours of the morning as a means of preparing the body for the stress of the day. Cortisol, like all steroids, increases BG levels.

IMHO, you've been on Lantus for a month. Simon's numbers are good. I think it's too soon to switch insulin.
 
Re: 2/8 Kim's Simon amps 199 /+2 61/? re: nadir/duration/ins

Dropping by from Lev ISG. With numbers like those I don't see a need to switch insulins. You are most likely at the point where his pancreas just needs a little support and Lantus is doing that well. Those early drops could very well be from his pancreas responding to his food intake, not the Lantus. You might try lowering his dose even further, to .2U or .1U. We have drop method explanations in Lev ISG here:

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=15637#p156967

Pictures: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=34424#p360982
 
Re: 2/8 Kim's Simon amps 199 /+2 61/? re: nadir/duration/ins

Hi guys .. sounds like you've gotten your questions answered .. I think simon is doing great, those pre shot numbers will come down, no worries there! Have a great day!
 
Re: 2/8 Kim's Simon amps 199 /+2 61/? re: nadir/duration/ins

The questions have been covered, and I would be no help there anyway. I'm just stopping by to say hi and tell you how great Simon looks.

The birds may be wondering if that is a bird feeder or a cat feeder. :lol:
 
Re: 2/8 Kim's Simon amps 199 /+2 61/? re: nadir/duration/ins

Vicky & Gandalf (GA) said:
Dropping by from Lev ISG. With numbers like those I don't see a need to switch insulins. You are most likely at the point where his pancreas just needs a little support and Lantus is doing that well. Those early drops could very well be from his pancreas responding to his food intake, not the Lantus. You might try lowering his dose even further, to .2U or .1U.
That is an interesting thought that I did not understand. I will try testing him after his +3 meal, too. I have been puzzled because our first two reductions were actually for vacation safety and not "earned." He did very well on less insulin. I will just avoid the switch for now! I have a big Lantus bottle so I'm set..as long as it doesn't poop out.
 
Re: 2/8 Kim's Simon amps 199 /+2 61/? re: nadir/insulin/feed

I fed his mini meal at +5 today (usually it is +3). I did see another drop to green. You learn something new every day! I guess I need more data about food and Simon's bg. I'm going to read up on manipulating the fuds schedule. I had to go out +3-5 or else I would have gotten those, too. I will try more in coming days.
 
Re: 2/8 Kim's Simon amps 199; green day-ain't that like a ca

Today was not quite as I expected--lots o green! He heard me asking questions and decided to throw me some curves. Thank you, Simon. You're such a good boy cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/8 Kim's Simon amps 199; green day-ain't that like a ca

Yep, they like to keep us on our toes! Sounds like you got some interesting info regarding the fuds situation.

Have a great evening!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top