2/8 Harley and Hadley

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura and Harley (GA)

Member Since 2011
HaRley
AMPS=279, Shot 1.2 or 1.3u (bad eyesight this morning), +6=48 :shock: PMPS=275, Shot 1.1u, +5=86


HaDley
AMPS=119, Shot 1u (bad eyesight this morning), +6=40 :shock: PMPS @+12.15=73, :shock: :shock: Shot 0.5u, +5=71


The boys got through the night OK, HaDley started playing with a catnip toy so he must have been feeling really good. :-D Didn't see Sheila's post from yesterday before shooting HaDley so most likely will shoot 1.1u tonite if he's not too low. ETA: Nevermid! He's too low for me to comfortably shoot 1.1u given his recent history of plummeting on low PS's.
 
Yikes! They are sure keeping you on your toes.

I would wait and see with HaDley on another reduction. You just reduced by about 25% this am and the 40 might be from remaining 1.3u shed. It would depend on if he goes lower, surfs, shoots up, etc. You don't want to loose momentum by over reducing. Maybe, if his PS is low again, give .75u tonight to "clear" some shed and then go back to 1u tomorrow am, but if he bounces he will need the 1u tonight to deal with it. That's my convoluted thinking, at least.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Yikes! They are sure keeping you on your toes.

Good thing I've got my tap dancing shoes on!

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
I would wait and see with HaDley on another reduction. You just reduced by about 25% this am and the 40 might be from remaining 1.3u shed. It would depend on if he goes lower, surfs, shoots up, etc. You don't want to loose momentum by over reducing. Maybe, if his PS is low again, give .75u tonight to "clear" some shed and then go back to 1u tomorrow am, but if he bounces he will need the 1u tonight to deal with it. That's my convoluted thinking, at least.

We are both on the same convoluted thinking wavelength. But that got me in trouble this morning as his 119 AMPS was on the "high" side as compared to my shooting an 86 on Sunday. :roll: I thought for sure he'd bounce today, instead he bottomed out. So I don't know what a bounce looks like on him anymore - good problem to have I guess.

Kinda curious to see what PMPS brings....
 
Gotcha... well, I guess just be cautious if he is below 150. Knowing a cat, he will give yo a 125 and you will be scratching your head as to whether that is "high" or "low".

I will say, that in my limited experience of two FDs (who do NOT respond the same way), not all cats can be "shot low to stay low". I wonder if that is more of an issue if they are headed OTJ and the pancreas suddenly gets in on the fun? Beau could not have insulin below 130-150 in his last few weeks. Even .05u would send him to the basement. I know HaDley is not near OTJ numbers now, but who know? He has had a good long run of being taken well cared for with insulin and a LC diet.... (knock wood / anti jinx).
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Gotcha... well, I guess just be cautious if he is below 150. Knowing a cat, he will give yo a 125 and you will be scratching your head as to whether that is "high" or "low".

Well I asked for it! A beautiful medium rare 73! I'd read your advice during my break at work and was mulling over the merits of 1u versus 0.75u all afternoon and formulating a plan. Well that plan went out the window when I saw that PS. No way I could stall 4 hungry cats who knew I was LATE for their dinner. And I don't think he's ready for OTJ trial either so skipping wasn't an option (yet) so reduced dose seemed appropriate. 0.5u may be waaaaaay toooo drastic, yeah I know, 50% of last dose. But I just couldn't shoot more than that tonite. I'm wiped out. ETA: And probably most important, HaDley ran away from me as I was tenting him for his shot. He's scared of the shot now. He didn't used to be as long as they were helping him.

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
I will say, that in my limited experience of two FDs (who do NOT respond the same way), not all cats can be "shot low to stay low". I wonder if that is more of an issue if they are headed OTJ and the pancreas suddenly gets in on the fun? Beau could not have insulin below 130-150 in his last few weeks. Even .05u would send him to the basement. I know HaDley is not near OTJ numbers now, but who know? He has had a good long run of being taken well cared for with insulin and a LC diet.... (knock wood / anti jinx).

Are you psychic? I was wondering about this in my mulling over HaDley's dose. I've been able to and in fact HAD to shoot him low in order to stay low up until Sunday and today. Too high of dose is the most logical explanation for his submarine diving but is it possible Mr. P. is waking up and joining the party? Guess we'll see what tonites dose does. I'm curious to see if he dives, surfs or bounces high from not enough insulin. Crossing paws and anti-jinxing against the last possibility.

When Molly went OTJ, Don told me it happened real suddenly. He'd been shooting 1.75u into blue PS's for a week and a half. The first green PS I think he shot a reduced dose and then the next green PS was in the 60s so he skipped dose. The next morning she was still in the 60s and hasn't needed insulin since. So maybe it can happen?
 
Well, he's a cat - anything could happen! :mrgreen:

I don't blame you for the .5u. I wasn't expecting that either. I was kinda thinking he'd bounce.... so, good call - I mean, I would probably have done the same thing.

I wonder if Mr. HaRley's high 200s is a bit of bounce, or just the lack of duration from the pred?
 
Check out HaDley's +5, a smooth 71. :mrgreen:

I'll probably pay for it in the morning with a high AMPS though.

HaRley's +5 is 86, much improved.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top