2/8 Gobbles PMPS 349 +5 303 +11.5 299

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=88524

I've got 2 questions today :?:

1. How long/when do you replace your Lantus Pen?
2. Gobbles gait does not appear to be getting better (sometimes he walks like on eggshells with a slight "swing") however, he does jump up onto tables and dressers, and chases milk rings, wads of paper, water at a trot. He goes up and down the basement stairs several times a day. I have asusmed this is neuropathy? Any suggestions? I have been giving him one zobaline per day, for about 3 weeks now...
 
Re: 2/8 Gobbles AMPS 319

Michelle & Scrabble said:
Morning guys sorry for stinky pinky this am. Hope you have a happy Fursday!
Good Morning ~O) Thanks for your kind words. It's nice to know I have so many new friends who are so truly caring. Yes, the stinky pinks this AM....however, AMPS yesterday was in the black, so Gobby and I are okay with pinky today :) How's Scrabble today?
 
Re: 2/8 Gobbles AMPS 319

Hey again Michelle! Gobbles & I read Scrabbles profile; what a beautiful sweetie and regal-looking boy he is! Has anyone ever told you that you & Scrabbles look a like?
 
Re: 2/8 Gobbles AMPS 319

Angela & Blackie & 8 Others said:
Hoping that Gobbles will show you some nicer #s tomorrow. Have a great day! :-D
Thanks so Much Angela~have a wonderful Friday dancing_cat
 
Re: 2/8 Gobbles AMPS 319 ? gait ? pens

I'm not sure about the gait....Trix never had neuropathy.

Personally, we use every last drop in our Lantus pens...I would estimate it probably takes us about 45 days to get through one, maybe a little less.

Have a great day, Kat!
 
Re: 2/8 Gobbles AMPS 319 ? gait ? pens

My experience with the pens is like Amy's. The number of days varies since I seem to get a run on syringes that only want to give me bubbles and I end up going through more insulin because I end up tossing the syringe.

If Gobbles has neuropathy, it can take a couple of months for the Zobaline to have any effect.
 
Re: 2/8 Gobbles AMPS 319 ? gait ? pens

Sienne and Gabby said:
My experience with the pens is like Amy's. The number of days varies since I seem to get a run on syringes that only want to give me bubbles and I end up going through more insulin because I end up tossing the syringe.

If Gobbles has neuropathy, it can take a couple of months for the Zobaline to have any effect.
I noticed a slight gait right after dx. Great on the pens! A local "mom & pop" pharmacy sold me one pen and they honored the lantus coupon. The retail price was $51.27, but I only paid $25. The pharmacist tried to sell me the needle tips but I told him how I was using the pen and he was a bit baffled. He gave me a few samples of the pen tips plus a rebate form up to $40 on the tips, if you know of anyone who could use that.... (should I post that (tips & rebate) on the "Supply Closet" board) ?
 
Re: 2/8 Gobbles AMPS 319 ? gait ? pens

Hi guys .. well, this is much better then yesterday's amps, and it is a rather low pink so it's a good chance to see some blues!! Mocha never suffered from neuropathy so can't help you there .. we ended up trying a new pen on mocha just about every 30 days .. we could have used the pens longer, but of course, we were always anxious the "next" pen would be the one that got her OTJ :lol: have a great weekend!
 
Re: 2/8 Gobbles AMPS 319 ? gait ? pens

I think it depends on the cat. ECID. I've heard 4-6 weeks.
Shadow wasn't jumping anymore. She would use her front legs to claw her way up on her tower.
After about 4 -5 weeks on the methyl b12, she started jumping again. ( she always had a slight limp due to her femur head missing)
It's what made me notice something was off when she never came to bed anymore.

Hopefully you'll see a slight change in another week or two. Getting regulated also helps. That's when you've crossed a big hurdle.
 
Re: 2/8 Gobbles PMPS 349 ? AM dose increase ?

I'd like to increase .25 U. AM tomorrow. He has not seen green for 5 days. His shot time will be at 7 AM.
 
Re: 2/8 Gobbles PMPS 349 ? AM dose increase ?

Hey Kat,

If you can still get on the board, realize many people can't, that may be why no one has answered your post.

You know I'm a newbee too, so I have no advice, but I copied the dosing protocol for increase, just to remind you:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

So you would go by Gobbles nadir in the last 3 days to decide on an increase. I just had to up Lucian too.

Good Luck and hope Gobbles gets back into those blues and greens for you.

Big Hugz! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/8 Gobbles PMPS 349 ? AM dose increase ?

Kat

You've got room to increase by .25u as long as you keep up the monitoring. This dose has gotten him into green but it's been a while.

If he starts to clear the bounce and you've raised the dose, he will probably come down fast. So if he starts down tonight and gives you a lower AMPS, you might want to hold off on the increase until he starts up again or you could be dealing with really low numbers.

Sometimes it's clear they need an increase but you have to pick the right time to do it.

Also...housekeeping....please always add to the bottom of your condo and don't add things to the first post. If I've already been to someone's condo that day and read all the posts, I go straight to the bottom. I would miss anything added in the first post of the day. I just happened to catch it here because if I haven't yet read a condo,I start at the top.
 
Re: 2/8 Gobbles PMPS 349 +5 303 ? AM dose increase ?

Hi Debbie! Thank you SO MUCH for posting the TR Protocol. I see Lucian came down the yellows a little while ago--way to go! I thought the other day when Gobbles was blue all PM, he was on his way to regulating...well... so I'm hoping a .25 increase will do it! He hasn't had an increase in 11 days. How is Lucian's five Ps? Gob has been doing well with that, but his leg weakness seems worse these past few days :( He's been on zobaline for about 3 weeks now, so hopefully he gets some results from that soon. I'm turning in but will "see" you tomorrow. Thanks again. Give Lucian a hug
 
Re: 2/8 Gobbles PMPS 349 +5 303 ? AM dose increase ?

Not sure how long it takes for neuro to go away.

I will tell you to never give up hope. A bean who no longer posts on PZI had a kitty who walked on his hocks for months, and she gave him Methyl B-12 for it.

It took almost a year for Copper to recover.

Point is, he did, and just before she quit posting, he was running around like his old self. So it's never too late.

Carl
 
Re: 2/8 Gobbles PMPS 349 +5 303 +11.5 299 ? AM dose increase

Thanks Carl. I plan to keep giving it to him. From what I've read on the boards, it can take a while.
 
Re: 2/8 Gobbles PMPS 349 +5 303 +11.5 299 ? AM dose increase

I would do the increase this morning. Good luck with the new dose.
 
Re: 2/8 Gobbles PMPS 349 +5 303 +11.5 299 ? AM dose increase

Dyana said:
I would do the increase this morning. Good luck with the new dose.
I don't know if I did the right thing, but I did not increase. His +11.5 = 299 & +12 = 268..his numbers are somewhat falling from that big bounce 4 cycles back, and I won't be home from +3-+6.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top