2/8 Abby AMPS 146 / + 5 76 / pmps 117 / +2 68 /+3 84

SDAbby

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2736152/

hi, all - 6 months in and I feel like I should have a better understanding of this (d'oh!), but I can't figure out Abby's typical nadir. She appears to change it daily. I feel like she is getting close (although maybe I'm overly optimistic) to trying a drop dose; however, I can't seem to catch her at her lowest point. If she dealt with testing better, I would just check every hour, but she is still not an ideal patient...the past few days she has reverted to forcing me to pull her out from under my bed if she senses its testing time.

anyways, just wanted to see if its customary for the nadir to jump around so much and if there is anything I can do to help stabilize it.

thanks.
 
It depends on the cat and a host of other factors. On Lantus, I used to joke that Neko's nadir was reliably between +3.5 and +13, though most commonly between +7 and +9, except when it wasn't. :p Bounce breaking cycles can have later nadirs, when they want a reduction the nadir is often earlier. Food also has an impact. At what times are you feeding her and how much?
 
n Lantus, I used to joke that Neko's nadir was reliably between +3.5 and +13, though most commonly between +7 and +9, except when it wasn't. :p
Yes, this! I'm glad I'm not alone. I'm a numbers person and I just haven't been able to make sense of it. I thought she was an early nadir, but lately its been later, except for last night. Who knows.
Bounce breaking cycles can have later nadirs, when they want a reduction the nadir is often earlier.
ok, this is good to know. I don't think (anti-jinx) she's been bouncing much recently, so perhaps I need to go back to focusing more on early cycle.
At what times are you feeding her and how much?
She officially gets a can of FF at her AM shot and a can at her PM shot - that said, she decides when she wants to eat it (and every day is different in terms of how and when she eats). I water it down throughout the day and try to make a habit of taking her to the food plate at +9 if I haven't seen her there on her own (she tolerates watered down "fake gravy" more than wet food alone - she was a dry food cat before her mean mom took away that option for our sanity and to try to get her regulated). She will usually wake up 3 hours before AM shot and eat some leftover food on her own - although her grazing time has been getting later and later (she turns 16 next month so I think she has earned her sleeping in:)). She never fully clears the food plate either AM or PM, although she definitely eats more during the day (I'd say 90% of the can throughout the day).
 
As much as I joke about Neko's nadir, over time I could spot patterns. If I got a +3/+4, I could reasonably well predict based on that and the preshot, where her nadir would likely be. Neko had a later onset, so was never lower after preshot, unless of course her nadir was +13 from the previous cycle. For many people on Lantus, the +2 is a better hint.
 
Abby was 117 at pmps. I made her .25 shot a bit skinnier because she has been running lower and I’m a tired scaredy cat tonight...
 
Well good thing I was a scaredy-cat and did .25 skinny...but notwithstanding that Abby wanted to make a point with her drop to 68 @ +2. She just ate a good serving of her LC food which usually pops her back up quickly, but I’ll monitor. She does not like tests when she is low...and puts on her full hiss and attack mode:(

Just wanted to confirm at this point I drop her to .1 or should I go straight to a drop?

thanks!
 
Back
Top