La-La Leo (GA)
Very Active Member
Blue this morning!
Prior:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...6-2-263-5-3-180-pmps-251.259009/#post-2910729
Prior:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...6-2-263-5-3-180-pmps-251.259009/#post-2910729
Yes, if you are following SLGS, that is a dose reduction to 1U from tonight. Please feed a little of his normal food and test again in an hour or two.
If you can follow TR, you would hold the dose. TR is a more aggressive protocol, but it enables you to keep him at a dose where he sees good numbers. The more time he spends in normal numbers (50-100 mg/dl on a human meter), the better his chances of his pancreas healing. However, with TR, you need to get at least 4 tests a day - 2 preshots and 2 mid-cycle. More in cycles likes this morning where there is action.
No but it means you need to give him a little LC and monitor. Test now if you didn’t test at +6.. Need to see where he is going up down or flat. You may then also need another test. This is an active cycle so requires some vigilant monitoring. Want to help him stay green but be on the watch through testing for going too low a bit later.Is 64 scarey at +5?
You can put them in the remarks column if that's easier for youI just saw Leo's SS as you see it. My food comments in the cell do not show. I'll figure out how to add more verbiage without obliterating the cell color according to BG. It's easier for me to use the mobile rather than the laptop. It's a stupid MS issue using my right hand. Strength & dexterity are not great.
No but it means you need to give him a little LC and monitor. Test now if you didn’t test at +6.. Need to see where he is going up down or flat. You may then also need another test. This is an active cycle so requires some vigilant monitoring. Want to help him stay green but be on the watch through testing for going too low a bit later.
Also can you please tell me when you are feeding him this cycle, how much each time, and carb % of food. It is hard to know how he is responding when no food details on spreadsheet.
Thanks for this. What carb % is the Pro Plan? I know the FF pates are very low which is good. And what % are the treats?See my prior comment. I'm feeding him a little, a lot more frequently, spoonful here or more there of Pro Plan True Nature and FF Tender Beef & Chicken Feast (pate) (there are other brands of plates in thr kitty pantry). Pure Bites for treats afterwards. Of course I give a full can of FF, and a portion of the 5.5 can as we feed all three kitties the same food. Then they end of switching bowls sometimes. Leo doesn't seem to eat all three ounces or the other food at the same time.... walks away and comes back-sometimes--takes another catnap. While before the diagnosis, we fed 12 hours apart, but now it's definitely more often! He doesn't feel or look as boney.
Thanks for this. What carb % is the Pro Plan? I know the FF pates are very low which is good. And what % are the treats?
You can write the food comments in the cell. It will wipe out the color but you can go to the top of the chart and add the color back in manually. Not sure if this option is easier for you than using the comments area or not.
Do you also have MC and HC food in your house for when it will be needed on this journey?
LC is under 8%. MCis 19-15% and over that is HC. Depending on how carb sensitive your cat is you might need the higher or lower range of each. So if very carb sensitive 8-9% might be mc.
A reduction was earned with SLGS. Down to .75 tonight. If under 150 stall, don’t feed, post for advice, and retest in 20-30 minutes. Leo is looking so good! I see the +7 is on the way up so he might be bouncing. You have already shot low numbers. Are you sure you don’t want to follow TR?
It is exhausting but they have the best chance at remission early in diagnosis so if it works you won’t be sleep deprived for long. I’m not trying to push you. Do what is best for you. The back to back reductions rarely work well unless quickly going down the dosing ladder and becoming diet controlled. That’s my main issue with SLGS.
The food might have upped the bg some but I think Leo is bouncing from being in green. It can take 4-6 cycles to clear or clear quickly.
I think Leo has a good shot at becoming tightly regulated which protects his kidneys. Reducing so quickly doesn’t allow enough time to get used to normal BG. Prior to diagnosis did he ever have labs run? I can’t guarantee he will become diet controlled but it’s worth a try to see. That’s just my personal opinion. Most people don’t know how long their cats were diabetic. I did because Max had chronic pancreatitis so he had lots of labs. He never went into remission but was tightly controlled and I lost him to CHF with CKD advancing quickly and not diabetes. He was 19+ years old.