Re: 2/7 Willie AMPS 285, Vet update-- not home just yet!
I have spoken with both vets, both of whom are very nice, and even will agree to disagree with me.... progress!!!
Willie is in getting a skin biopsy now, which will take about 2 hours. The dermatologist suspects, based on the very symmetrical pattern to Willie's skin problems, that the issue is autoimmune. What worries me is that the most common treatment option is steroids, which he suggest we may need to withhold due to the diabetes, saying that maybe we just wouldn't treat. Willie is miserable, and with the skin twitching business, I'm not comfortable with a "just do nothing" approach. I told the doctor that his quality of life right now is a very serious concern of mine, and that while I wanted to do everything possible to avoid steroids, if need be, I can work insulin around steroids if they will bring him relief. His scabbing had flared up in the past couple days, so he is a hot scabby mess. I had to shave his right ear yesterday just so I could make sure I was getting the neosporin and vitamin E oil actually onto the skin. Poor guy.

I am happy to be at this vet though, for the biopsy. Our old vet had indicated they would have done full IV sedation for him (they were planning on getting dental xrays and extracting any tooth roots)... at the specialty hospital, they're giving him a local and some gas (they just need him to keep still for the skin scraping). Recovery will hopefully be quicker and easier for the little guy.
I also spoke with the internal medicine doctor. She seemed surprised that she had been requested for consult. She is looking into the Lantus cartridges and plans to call and speak to our old vet (yay. really. yay.). She said that, in her opinion, and putting the skin issues aside, Willie eats well, is showing improvement in symptoms of diabetes, and continues to gain weight (up to 12lbs. 6 oz. from 11 lbs. 12 oz. three weeks ago!). For those reasons, she said there was no reason to go digging for problems. She also noted the heart murmur, which she said is small and some other word I don't remember. She said it needs to be checked out, but it isn't an absolute urgent matter (like, schedule today or your cat will die urgent). We will be seeing the cardiologist for that... unfortunately he isn't in today. Getting an estimate on an echo, and will figure out how to fit it in the budget over the next month.
As for the agreeing to disagree, she wanted me to change his diabetes protocol. She would like to get only pre-shot tests (I am apparently an excessive tester), base the dose off of those, then hold the dose for 10-14 days before considering a dosecrease. I kindly, but firmly stated that I had carefully researched our approach, I was seeing progress on it, and was the one for which I had the most support, and I felt very strongly about sticking to it for now. She was cool with that, stating that it wasn't a battle worth fighting, and when I changed my mind, she'd be happy to provide an alternative. I thanked her profusely and noted my appreciation for her response, and indicated that my hardline is what basically got me kicked out of my prior vet's practice. I did my best to be accommodating and respectful of her medical knowledge, yet at the same time, make it clear that I had done my homework.
You know what frustates me? Don't just tell me I test too much. Or when I mention that I'm doing TR, simply state that you do it differently and imply that your way is better. Try having a conversation with me. Explain the reasons why you find my approach to be problematic, and explain how your approach is superior. Give me a chance to respond, and then make an informed decision based on everything you've presented. I may not be a vet, but I've got a brain. In a former life, I spent a LOT of time reading through medical journals, so I know how to decipher them.
I'm at home now, which is just weird. Since I got custody of Willie and Miss Jezebelle in August of 1999, I don't think I've ever not had a cat in my place, so it just seems eerily quiet. Willie should be done in another hour or so, then I'll drive back over to get him.
Thanks for all the well-wishes today. I can not express enough how much you all mean to us. Given that this is the first time Willie has been to the vet for more than an hour or two, I know he'll be excited to know that KTSS is on the way! I feel bad... he hasn't eaten since 7:40 this morning, so I know he's going to be ravenous when we get home.... or at least as soon as the sleepytime meds wear off!
Time to hurry up and wait!
