2/7 Tiger AMBG 84! +2~92,+4~103,+6~121,+8~154,+10~161,PMPS~203,+2~182,+4~139

Kathy and tiger

Member Since 2021
Hi all. In the slgs protocol it says 2 different things about whether to shoot if Preshot is below 90...
I have held his 8:30. So far. What say you experts? TY!
 
If you're stalling, do not feed Tiger. You want to re-test in 20 - 30 min and see if numbers are rising.

(Just an FYI, when you posted, it's almost 12:00 EST. I'm assuming you are holding the AMPS. This is why we refer to time in +numbers since we're spread out all over the world.)
 
I did already feed him! TY for answering! I am on west coast. Sorry but I am barely finding my way around in this message board still...
 
How can we help you navigate?

Here's some info on low pre-shot numbers. With Start Low Go Slow, (SLGS; which is the dosing method you need to follow if any dry food is in the mix). Your options are:
  • Do not feed and stall. Re-test in 20 - 30 min to see if numbers are on the rise. If not, you can continue to stall. The down side of stalling is that your next shot is due in 12 hours. The longer you stall, the more off schedule you are. This can be a problem if your shot time is geared to a work schedule.
  • Skip the dose. This has a big impact on the depot.
  • Shoot a reduced dose. This also has an impact on the depot. It's also possible that due to the insulin depot, there may not be a big effect on the numbers during the current cycle. Sometimes the results are seen in the subsequent cycle.
I want to offer some additional suggestions. Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle (aka the "nadir"). In general, the nadir is somewhere toward the middle of the cycle although this can and does vary. Thus, it's important to get some spot checks. With SLGS, it's recommended that you get at least 4 tests daily -- your AMPS and PMPS and one additional test each 12-hour cycle. We encourage people to always get a "before bed" test every night so you can be sure your cat is in safe numbers overnight. Just as an observation, the 84 this morning suggests that Tiger's numbers were even lower during the PM cycle.

Also, Tiger's AMPS is below the dose reduction threshold for your dosing method. When you shoot, you will want to reduce the dose to 1.5u.
 
Thank you! I drew up 1.5 but didn't give it. I was already planning to do a curve today. I have been using alphatrak and doubling with matrix until I see that I can trust it. I could do a SS for my alphatrak data also if possible to link 2 of them... We are new to these low numbers, been up in 3-500s using alphatrak! Increased his dose a week ago and he started to come down.. I will start doing a before bed. Except for this last week I usually do a mid-day. It means so much to have your help as I am sure you know ❤
 
Hi! It seems like you may have more data than what we see (we only see data from 01/31/2021 to today)? That data would be helpful for the more experienced folks to help you with dosing. If you have AT2 data, @Bandit's Mom or someone else can help you put the AT2 data on the same SS as your human meter.

As a fellow AT2 switcher, my only advice is to trust your human meter and hide your AT2 in a hard to reach place :)
 
Yes I would appreciate your help to include the rest of our data! I was doubling AT2 with Relion and found it not to be consistent so I got the Metrix and started with that on 1/31. I have found that to be good so far. Feeling now like maybe I can hide the AT2 somewhere deep and dark LOL!
 
Yes I would appreciate your help to include the rest of our data! I was doubling AT2 with Relion and found it not to be consistent so I got the Metrix and started with that on 1/31. I have found that to be good so far. Feeling now like maybe I can hide the AT2 somewhere deep and dark LOL!
I think either @Marje and Gracie or @Bandit's Mom can help you with merging your AT2 SS and Human SS.

Also, if you hit the little blue "Reply" to someone's post, they will get a notification. You can also highlight text from a post and a "Reply" button will appear for just that selection.

Hope that helps :bighug:
 
Thank you! I drew up 1.5 but didn't give it. I was already planning to do a curve today. I have been using alphatrak and doubling with matrix until I see that I can trust it. I could do a SS for my alphatrak data also if possible to link 2 of them... We are new to these low numbers, been up in 3-500s using alphatrak! Increased his dose a week ago and he started to come down.. I will start doing a before bed. Except for this last week I usually do a mid-day. It means so much to have your help as I am sure you know ❤
I’ll send you a private message to get editing rights and will merge your information. When do you plan on starting the human meter alone? Check your inbox (upper right corner...click on “inbox”.
 
Thank you so much! I have not made the AT2 spreadsheet yet! You are all so on top of this! I have been doing human meter only today. I will work on the SS tonight.
 
Thank you so much! I have not made the AT2 spreadsheet yet! You are all so on top of this! I have been doing human meter only today. I will work on the SS tonight.
Sorry, I misunderstood. I agree with Susanne and I also had an AT. You don’t need it and there is no comparison between the two so tracking both will just drive you crazy and take more time. I can do it but I’d urge you to just move forward with the human meter.
 
Thanks! I don't mind making the spreadsheet if that's what I need to do. I'm not sure what to do about tonight's PM dose! He is getting high enough to give a shot...but how much? Maybe 1U?
 
If he’s above 150, you can shoot his full dose on time but you need to also monitor at night. You are missing half his data by not testing at night and cats can go lower during the evening. We suggest you do a +2 and before bed. You’ve shot a 174 and there isn’t much difference between 174 and 161. Without having any insulin this morning, my thought is he will be higher.

Can you please update his subject line to have the daytime tests? If you haven’t read it, here is important information on posting guidelines. Having as many members as we do, we ask theft everyone post their kitty’s tests as we see things you might not. While you at editing the subject, please change AMPS to AMBG as that tells us you didn’t shoot that 84.
 
If he’s above 150, you can shoot his full dose on time but you need to also monitor at night. You are missing half his data by not testing at night and cats can go lower during the evening. We suggest you do a +2 and before bed. You’ve shot a 174 and there isn’t much difference between 174 and 161. Without having any insulin this morning, my thought is he will be higher.

Can you please update his subject line to have the daytime tests? If you haven’t read it, here is important information on posting guidelines. Having as many members as we do, we ask theft everyone post their kitty’s tests as we see things you might not. While you at editing the subject, please change AMPS to AMBG as that tells us you didn’t shoot that 84.

I am really sorry but I can't figure out yet how to do that!
 
Go to your first post of today, click on “thread tools” on the right and then “edit thread”. Then you can change the subject line. Be sure to click “save changes”.

Thank you! Easy when you know what to do! I gave him 1.5 U PM dose. This morning Sienne said that I should reduce to 1.5 for his next dose.
 
Back
Top