2/7 Terra AMPS 253 PMBG 81 PMPS 102 +2 199

Status
Not open for further replies.

KarenAmelia

Member Since 2012
Well, Terra is better today: up and about, even went outside briefly, and eating. But the vet visit was a total disappointment. This is not my regular vet (who does house calls) but a local fancy animal hospital where I used to take my animals. I figured they would be very sophisticated about dealing with odd conditions like pancreatitis, and even thought they would be more knowledgeable than my house call vet about diabetes.

The vet first refused to look at my spreadsheet. Then she told me that she doesn't believe in treating cats like humans, and doesn't agree with testing "every five minutes" (somewhat sarcastically, I thought.) She doesn't think doing home BG testing is a good idea, and if a cat is in the 300s, that's not a problem. Then, even though I'd asked for a pancreatitis test and had described Terra's recurring symptoms, she said she wouldn't do the test and told me to go to an internal med. specialist.

Well, I guess the next thing is the expensive internal specialist who is all the way across town.
 
Re: 2/7 Terra AMPS 253

Oh wow! I am so sorry about the vet visit. Unfortunately a lot of us have had that same type of experience. Our original vet did not want Tarragon to go under 250 and didn't want us to home test. Luckily I found this board and eventually a new vet.
 
Re: 2/7 Terra AMPS 253 plus vet report

Hi guys .. well bummer on the vet visit .. It's such a shame when vet's feel that way about hometesting .. I am glad to hear terra is feeling better .. I hope the next visit is a better one for you ..
 
Re: 2/7 Terra AMPS 253 plus vet report

What a stinky vet! Evidently she also doesn't believe in treating a cat like a cat needs to be treated. I feel sorry for any other diabetic kitties under her care. At least you know better. Better luck with the specialist.
 
Re: 2/7 Terra AMPS 253 PMBG 81 Stalling

Yikes, after a day of not doing any intermediate testing, Terra's pre shot number is low. Not sure if I want to stall or just skip the shot: I have a meeting to go to in half an hour that will last through +2.5. Hmmm. Any input?
 
Re: ???2/7 Terra AMPS 253 PMBG 81 PMBG plus 30 96 Stalling

Will you be home in 2 hours?
brb. I'm looking at your spreadsheet.
 
Re: ???2/7 Terra AMPS 253 PMBG 81 PMBG plus 30 96 Stalling

Hi Karen. Will you be home in 2 hours? Or, have you cancelled your meeting?
 
Re: ???2/7 Terra AMPS 253 PMBG 81 PMBG plus 30 96 Stalling

Hi Dyana, Just saw your post. if I shoot, I would stay home. Just wondering, given her numbers, if it would be not so awful to skip the shot tonight.
 
Re: ???2/7 Terra AMPS 253 PMBG 81 PMBG plus 30 96 Stalling

If it were me. I would stay home, and as long as I was prepared...had strips, HC, and everything I needed, then I would shoot. There is a chance that Terra can earn a dose reduction, tonight.
That's what I would do.
 
Re: ???2/7 Terra AMPS 253 PMBG 81 PMBG plus 30 96 Stalling

If you want, you can stall some more, but I see a perfectly shootable number of 96, if you're going to be home to monitor. I know it's scary, and it's your first green PS, but you will not be alone.
 
Re: ???2/7 Terra AMPS 253 PMBG 81 PMBG plus 30 96 Stalling

She's gone from 81 to 102 in an hour - not a fast rise. This would be a good time to shoot. Interesting that the vet told me today that she is comfortable keeping cats in the 300s range. I think she is trying to protect the cats from their caretakers, huh - keeping them from going anywhere close to double digits I suppose.
 
Re: ???2/7 Terra AMPS 253 PMBG 81 PMBG plus 30 96 Stalling

I agree with Dyana ....if you are going to stay home and have supplies then I would shoot now and feed.
 
Re: ???2/7 Terra AMPS 253 PMBG 81 PMBG plus 30 96 Stalling

And vets are used to seeing cats that are vet stressed and not in their homes where they are relaxed and comfortable, and the vets are not used to their patients having beans that home test and can take care of and monitor their cats.
Shoot!
 
Re: 2/7 Terra AMPS 253 PMBG 81 PMBG plus 30 96 Stalling

Okay, I gave her the shot, after the reading of 102. I was scared to give the full dose after her dive to the mid 40s last week on a similar pre shot number. I reduced the dose by .25 u , even though she didn't "earn" it. Yikes.
 
Re: 2/7 Terra AMPS 253 PMBG 81 PMPS 102, one hour delayed

Then, we would call that a BCS dose, and go back to the regular dose tomorrow, morning.
Normally, we don't advise both a BCS and a stalled shot at the same time, as the stalled shot equals a reduced dose already. I'm glad you shot. Good hooting! I'm sure Terra is happy to get fed.
 
Re: 2/7 Terra AMPS 253 PMBG 81 PMPS 102, one hour delayed

Since her dinner should spike up her numbers a little, I would start with a +1, tonight.
 
Re: 2/7 Terra AMPS 253 PMBG 81 PMPS 102, one hour delayed

Okay, I was thinking that her dinner would make the +1 show artificially high and that a +2 would be more representative. I don't know how long the meal lasts in her system. When you get a chance, please explain more the rationale for +1 . (Terra's ears have been not bleeding as well in the last couple of days so I'm feeling more hinky about the pokes.) I bet you are busy so no rush to respond to this question.
 
Re: 2/7 Terra AMPS 253 PMBG 81 PMPS 102, one hour delayed

Nice shooting!!!!!! :-D :-D

Karen, I can't recall where you are located, but if you haven't already done so, it might be helpful to post here and on the main board with a
subject line that asks for "good vet in...? (your town)"

maybe there are some members who could suggest a vet they've had a good experience with...

AND WAY TO GO ON THE NUMBERS, TERRA!!!!

celi & binks
 
Re: 2/7 Terra AMPS 253 PMBG 81 PMPS 102, one hour delayed

These are just my thoughts, but the 81 and the 102 are close to that 20% variance in meters, and if for some reason her pancreas should say it's time to start working, the food could bring her down,, and we don't know if she was 150 at +11 and coming down at +12 and just decided to surf for an hour. So, being me, I would start with a +1, but if her ears are sore or not cooperating, you can delay a half hour or so. She seems to be surfing well, right now. A +2 should be perfectly fine.
 
Re: 2/7 Terra AMPS 253 PMBG 81 PMPS 102, one hour delayed

great job karen! wahoo and kudos to you for being brave!

the path to getting a cat off of insulin includes shooting numbers under 100 - some of the experienced folks might shoot 50's & 60's. i know i was skeptical, but i've seen it happen over and over again. when you shoot low, the numbers just stay lower. reducing the dose might change the result you get, but you have to do what you feel comfortable with.

in any case, good job.

and wow am i sorry about the vet experience. all i can think is that vets are going to be cautious because of liability. they prefer to see cats around 200 because there is an enormous safety margin there. although all of us using lantus have seen a cat trundle along on the same dose and work into lower numbers, then the person arrives here and starts testing and the numbers might be nearing hypo range. it has a cumulative effect in the body - so that safety margin can disappear if you're not hometesting and monitoring the cat. anyway, just thinking that might be the vet's mindset.

fortunately, you know better how you are keeping terra safe by testing her at home. i'd call around and specifically ask vets if they support home testing a cat on Lantus - and pick one that will support you in this. they don't have to be perfect, but you do want someone on the same page.

i'm around tonight too and will check back on you and see how things are going and if you need any help.
 
Re: 2/7 Terra AMPS 253 PMBG 81 PMPS 102, one hour delayed

Karen:

If you want to see an example of why we recommend a +1, take a look at Atticus's SS and/or condo from yesterday. She shot an 82 at PMPS and he was around 55 at +1.
 
Re: 2/7 Terra AMPS 253 PMBG 81 PMPS 102, one hour delayed

Doesn't look promising for being in the greens tonight, but who knows. I was a little disappointed to see the quick rise.

Thanks Marje - I see what you mean with Atticus' numbers yesterday. Doesn't look now like Terra is heading in that direction...
 
Nice shooting!!

When you have a minute, there's a sample of an "ideal curve" in the New to the Group sticky. The reason for a +1 when you shoot low is that typically, the +1 reflects a food spike. The +2 should be close to your pre-shot test. If either of them are lower, it's a good signal that you may have an active cycle. If you look at Gabby's SS on 2/5, during the AM cycle, she started at 135, was 110 at +1 and by +3, she was at 38. You'll also notice that I get a lot of early tests in. Gabby has an early onset and nadir and I really hate being caught off guard by my diving diva.

I suspect that Terra was lower than 81 during the AM part of the cycle. She's now bouncing. As frustrating as that is, you can rest easy that her liver is working just fine and you don't have to do much testing tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top