2/7 Snuggles AMPS 222 +2 250 PMPS 318 +3 278

Never shoot more. Usually some or all gets in. Sometimes there is a drop left so most likely if the fur wasn’t wet she got all or most.
I wasn’t sure if that may be why her BS was higher tonight. It looks like she’s due for an insulin increase. Do you think three days with monitoring will be sufficient for an increase? I work Monday through Thursday and she won’t have constant monitoring those days. I’m hoping that increase won’t cause any hypo incidents. Thoughts? Suggestions? I’m open to any and all advice. Thank you! @tiffmaxee @Diane Tyler's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom
 
I don’t think she would be in danger. On a human meter 50-100 is normal bg and she’s safely above that. If you hold a dose too long you risk needing more and more insulin. Do you have an auto feeder that you could set to give her snacks while you are away?
 
I echo Elise, Snuggles is overdue for a dose increase. As I mentioned in previous day's posts, there's a long way between current nadirs and hypo territory, you have more than enough room for an increase.
 
Sandy -

Throughout Gabby's FD journey, I worked full time. The accommodations I made were to set her shot time at 5:00 so I could get a few tests in before I left the house. She had an early onset and nadir so I had some warning if numbers were dropping. Even if Snuggles doesn't have an early nadir, if your +2 is considerably below your pre-shot test, you will know to leave HC food out. It may not be perfect but I don't believe Gabby was ever hypoglycemic when I was gone.

As far as the feeder goes, I'd be very curious as to how Snuggles reacts if her numbers are in a lower range. Most cats will look for food if their numbers are low.
 
Sandy -

Throughout Gabby's FD journey, I worked full time. The accommodations I made were to set her shot time at 5:00 so I could get a few tests in before I left the house. She had an early onset and nadir so I had some warning if numbers were dropping. Even if Snuggles doesn't have an early nadir, if your +2 is considerably below your pre-shot test, you will know to leave HC food out. It may not be perfect but I don't believe Gabby was ever hypoglycemic when I was gone.

As far as the feeder goes, I'd be very curious as to how Snuggles reacts if her numbers are in a lower range. Most cats will look for food if their numbers are low.
This is good to know! I think why I worry so much is previously on the SS Snuggles BS had dropped 140 points when I was checking through the day. That’s where a lot of the anxiety stems from. Thank you! @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @tiffmaxee @Diane Tyler's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Bandit's Mom @Wendy&Neko
 
think why I worry so much is previously on the SS Snuggles BS had dropped 140 points when I was checking through the day. That’s where a lot of the anxiety stems from
We want the BG to drop throughout the cycle. That what Lantus is supposed to do. If you are testing, you can see the drops and feed some low carb food to slow it down if it is dropping too fast.
If you are working, you can leave some food out in the timed feeder for her to eat at specific times.
I can’t see anywhere in the SS where I would be worried about any big drops.
When the Bg is higher, the drops tend to be bigger but as the BGs come down, the drops are normally not as big.
 
We want the BG to drop throughout the cycle. That what Lantus is supposed to do. If you are testing, you can see the drops and feed some low carb food to slow it down if it is dropping too fast.
If you are working, you can leave some food out in the timed feeder for her to eat at specific times.
I can’t see anywhere in the SS where I would be worried about any big drops.
When the Bg is higher, the drops tend to be bigger but as the BGs come down, the drops are normally not as big.
Ok! Thank you for the response! That’s what I was wondering if the big drops would happen at this point when the BS has gone down from a few weeks ago. @Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Back
Top