Re: 2/7 Samwise AMPS 486
Sue,
I'm going to say this as gently as possible, but you need to pick a dose for Samwise and HOLD it for at least a week if not longer to allow those bounces to clear. you got a really great nadir on him the other day at .70 but when he bounced off of that 101 and was high the next day you upped his dose again to .8u without allowing him to clear that bounce first.
Right now it is hard to tell if he is getting too much insulin or not enough since he isn't being allowed to adjust to any of them. Once a cat has gone as long as Sam has with those higher numbers he is going to bounce even off a 200 or 300 because his body now thinks that 400+ is normal, so when he hits a number lower than that his liver panics and sends out counter-regulatory hormones and stored sugars to try to rocket him back up to what now feels like normal to him.
I know it is hard to sit on your hands when you see those higher numbers for him. It was one of the hardest things I had to learn with Musette. It seems like the higher the numbers the more insulin that is needed to bring them down, but it often acts like throwing gasoline on a fire it only makes the flames go higher.
Personally, If Samwise was my cat I would dial him all the way back to .5u hold it for a week or longer while testing him for ketones and then when you have a day off run a curve and see where to go from there. Yes, you will probably need to raise his dose after that but at least it would get him over the wild swings. I had to do something very similar with Musette I had to take her back to below her ideal dose to get her to give me a flat level curve and then started working her up from there. Just my 2 cents anyhow.
Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang