2/7 Max PZI AMPS 228 - Advice Pls

Status
Not open for further replies.

hollyall

Member Since 2011
Hello again. Really appreciate the good advice and encouragement. After coming so close to hypo yesterday, I'm a little scared. Max's AMPS test was 228 at 7:45am. He had 1u last night at 8:33pm. Is that high enough for 1u? I'm about a half hour late for work and so can't do a second test in a half hour (grrr...I want to ignore practicality and take care of my kitty). Would really like to do a glucose curve, so I can see how the insulin is working on Max, maybe this weekend when I'm home. Max had 1u last night at 203 and seemed to do fine, but I'm concerned that was too low for 1u (still learning). I had him sleep with me and checked on him throughout the night. He was annoyingly :smile: active and vocal about not being allowed to wander.
 
Since you aren't going to be home, Holly, and he is new to the insulin and to wet lo carb, if I were you, I would play it safe. I would give him .5 units and leave out food for him to eat. 200s are nice numbers and you could afford to experiment a little with the dose if you were going to be around.

You can get some spot checks without a real curve until you can get one in. Get some numbers at night after the shot, before you go to sleep. Wake up early and get a few preshot numbers. Take a number before you walk out the door. Data is data and wherever you can get it, it will be valuable information. The most important number you can get is one around 4-6 hours after the shot to see how low the insulin takes him. If there is some way to get that number fairly often (day or night) it will be very helpful.
 
Based on your limited data I would shoot one unit. Yesterday's PM preshot was 208 and you gave one unit and you are just a little higher now.
 
Thanks so much Sue and Larry for the quick advice. I'm still jittery from the low numbers yesterday so decided to be conservative today and went with a 1/2 unit. I currently live with my parents who are retired, so there is someone home during the day to feed and watch out for Max but still went conservative. Great advice on more spot checking until I can do a more detailed curve. I will plan on doing that when I get home from work tonight (pre and post shot). I guess home testing is new enough to both Max and me that it just didn't occur to me (well, that, and home testing Max is still quite a production...hopefully, we'll both get better at it over time). I feel like I've been on a roller coaster and hope to get off soon. Also, we got off schedule a bit between the vet visit Saturday and the low numbers Sunday, trying slowly to put us back on track (7:30/7:30).
 
You are doing a great job. You can breathe normally. You don't want your low points (called nadir) to go lower than you have been, but your numbers are not really almost hypo. Hypo starts under 40, and some would say your numbers were perfect. The concern was that the switch to lower carb food might bring you down lower, but you are doing great. Keep it up!
 
That is good information that your parents are around during the day. That means, once you get the wet lo carb diet going and see what impact it has on the numbers, you can be less cautious with dosing.

All data is important. So any tests you can get and put on your spreadsheet are valuable to you in terms of what the insulin is doing. With PZI, that nadir is important to see how low the insulin is taking him. If it goes low and the preshot is high, we think about the possibility of a bounce. But unlike other insulins, doses are based primarily on preshots. And you have more freedom with PZI to change the dose as there is no shed like with other insulins.

Have you visited the PZI forum: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=24 It is a small but friendly group who all use or have used PZI. It is helpful to look at the spreadsheets in some of the threads to see how PZI is working for other people. And there is a great document with information on PZI, how it works, how to deal with low preshots and nadirs, etc. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... 24&t=32799 It is long and full of information so you might print it off and read it a little at a time.
 
Thanks Sue. These are great links. I've been combing through the forum but hadn't seen these yet. Very helpful!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top