2/7 Maverick AMPS 118

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
No condo's in a couple days.

I've been crazy tired lately. I get the dog and cat blood work done but I never get around to doing mine. It has to be fasting and no coffee! Its the coffee part that gets me putting it off every morning "I'll do it another day".

We have switched to a type of monoject 3/10 cc syringe (with safety sleave), and it might be different dosing than the BD syringes. I won't know for a bit I guess. And the long needles so the chance of furshot from his bean goes up dramatically.

Summary of info
* He is a free feeder. Back when we were shooting at 8AM/8PM - he would eat in the hour or two before feeding and then the two hours after mainly (more at night). But I had his feeding down.
* Now we are shooting at 10AM/10PM and I haven't been able to understand his BG numbers. They may be from just trying to go OTJ. Or that his eating is now out of wack with the shot times? Could eating for three hours leading up to shot time more consistently affect BG? If his pancreas is working it could be lower.
* I have really really slacked off on testing. He just never goes low and I've been extra tired. I talk myself out of testing at night and say I'll get up in one minute and never awake (like I close my eyes thinking I will be getting up and I don't). So I may set double alarms 2 minutes apart.

So - questions are
1. If his pancreas was working - it wouldn't matter when he ate throughout the day right?
2. Should I be considering upping his dose (in case syringe dosing is different)... and I'll be getting an every two hour curve in today - maybe.
3. Can I change shot time to 8am in one go tomorrow morning. This would be ultra convenient and I can monitor him closely for a few days (not increasing shot amount any for a few days).

I make everything complicated. Hope this all makes sense.

Happy Monday everybody!
 
Re: 2/7 Maverick AMPS 115 - feeding/BG/dose long and complic

Hi karrie!

wow - don't know how much of that I can help with. I have recently changed to the monojet syringes, and I do like them better. I find the lines more consistent, plunger better (flat, no curve). You can get them in the short needles - I buy mine through Hocks. I don't think (??) that the dosing would be different, unless the lines affect how you are measuring. You may have to adjust if that is the case. I find that with them I am more consistent and confident that I am measuring the same amount each time.

well - on the testing - You need the PM tests. I know that one is hard - it is for me too. maybe the double alarms will help.

not so sure on the food. Mannie does not free feed - never could do that as the civvies always ate what he needed. so I schedule - it's the only way for us - and he feeds only at the front part of the cycle, as that works best for him.

Perhaps others can give better input that I.

have a great day guys! The amps is wonderful! Go Maverick!
 
Re: 2/7 Maverick AMPS 115 - feeding/BG/dose long and complic

As long as you are using U100 insulin syringes, the dosing should be consistent. Syringes should be consistent between manufacturers otherwise, people (and cats) would be overdosed or underdosed.

What I suspect is going on is that you pretty well depleted Maverick's shed with the 5 skipped shots. Unless there's some change this cycle, I'd increase the dose.

While when Maverick is eating may have an effect on his numbers, I suspect the higher numbers are a result of the shed needed to fill back up.
 
Re: 2/7 Maverick AMPS 115 - feeding/BG/dose long and complic

Thanks so much Michelle!!! In one batch of 10 BD syringes I threw out seven syringes! They were horrible! Seriously. The monoject so far - has been 0. I'm very impressed. The bubbles are harder to get rid of but I'm learning quickly. The safety sleave is really annoying. I don't think Hocks ships to Canada. This was the only non BD syringe I could get in 3/10cc 1/2 unit. the BD syringes could vary up to a whole half unit in some really bad ones.
 
Re: 2/7 Maverick AMPS 115 - feeding/BG/dose long and complic

I have some Monojet syringes but could only find the long needle which Tray is not a fan of. I'll have to look for some shorter needle ones.

Good luck figuring it all out, I know how exhaustion can effect everything, our winters are too long and dreary-sap our energy.
 
Re: 2/7 Maverick AMPS 115 - feeding/BG/dose long and complic

Hi Karrie,
No advice on the Maverick, but try to take care of yourself and get the bloodwork done. I have the same problem with the nighttime checks with fatigue. I may be wrong, but in some cases with bloodwork, you can have a small cup of black coffee, no cream and sugar. Check with your doctor's office; I think it depends on what test. I can't go w/out coffee either! Still nice AMPS for Maverick. Take care. Missed your condo yesterday.
 
Re: 2/7 Maverick AMPS 115 - feeding/BG/dose long and complic

I checked - no coffee at all. Only water BOOOO And I get migraines from tensing my neck muscles in anticipation LOL. So I lose the whole freaking day after to pain or sleep from the muscle relaxant. I have to get it done though. I've had the requisition for three months. I have these black circles around my eyes that make me look like a horror film actress :o

Maverick actually hates these syringes too. The BDs were 31G and these ones are 29's I think. He flinches and meows when I inject it. I feel guilty but reward him with FD Chicken and cuddles.

I've been told by my doctor that activity will help improve my energy level. On the treadmill my eyes still close and try and sleep. Like driving when you are too tired. So I'm going to buy the Wii Dance games and hope that the combo of up beat songs and dancing will help my energy level. I'll look like a complete fool so the dog and the cat should be having a laugh.
 
Re: 2/7 Maverick AMPS 115 - feeding/BG/dose long and complic

oh bummer that hocks does not ship to canada. maybe your pharmacy could order them?? The bubble thing is always annoying for me. I have found though that if you hold the pen/cartridge completely vertical, draw very slowly, and let the pressure equalize before removing the syringe that often the bubble will is sucked out of the syringe. Good luck with it all. and yes on the BD's. I know Roni has complained repeatedly to BD, but it just never seems to get better. :roll: What amazes me is that I put up with the BD's for the longest time... back then Mannie didn't deal with the fat and skinny doses and quarter unit measures as much as he does now... a good syringe sure does make a difference in consistency of measure, especially with all these micro doses.

just a side note - yes on the exercise! it does wonders for my energy level - you will feel better!
 
Re: 2/7 Maverick AMPS 115 - feeding/BG/dose long and complic

I've missed your condos and wondered how Maverick was doing. Good to see you back :)

I'm sorry, I know that blood work is a pain but if you get it over with, you can get it off your mind. Having endured 3 surgeries in 18 months, "get it over with" has become my mantra regarding all things medical.

I use BD syringes and haven't noticed many inconsistencies. The plunger always stops in the same place, so I'm not sure if I'm getting good batches or if I'm not checking them right. I think the shed theory probably has to do with Maverick's numbers right now, too.
 
Re: 2/7 Maverick AMPS 115 - feeding/BG/dose long and complic

Good morning guys .. sorry to hear you are fighting some extreme exhaustion, but you really do need to skip that coffee one morning and get that blood test done ... you want to make sure you keep up with your health too .. I don't have much in the way of advice for maverick but just wanted to say this amps is a nice shade of blue! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/7 Maverick AMPS 115 - feeding/BG/dose long and complic

I couldn't imagine three surgeries. OUCH OUCH OUCH. Thanks for putting it into perspective.

I forgot all about the shed needing to be refilled ohmygod_smile Thanks Violet!!!
 
Re: 2/7 Maverick AMPS 115 - feeding/BG/dose long and complic

Hey Karrie, I'm with Michelle: exercise does wonders. And it's even better if you can get outside. The fresh air invigorates, even if all you do is take a walk. (And you are lucky to live in Ottawa, where they clear the canal of snow and everyone ice skates on the canal!)
Too bad about not being able to order the Monoject syringes from Hocks. Perhaps you could contact the Monoject company to see where you can buy their "normal" (i.e., not the "safety") syringes. I use the Monoject 30 gauge with the short needle and 1/2-unit markings and like them very much. They also comes in 31 gauge, which I might try next time I order from Hocks.

I don't think you should go from 10PM to 8AM in one big jump! The only way you could do this is to skip tonight's shot, and that would be counterproductive, since you are still re-building Maverick's shed. Just stick with moving the shot time by 1/2 hour per 24 hours.

So, get outdoors and breathe some fresh air!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/7 Maverick AMPS 115 - feeding/BG/dose long and complic

I've missed a few replies somehow ohmygod_smile

Sienne thanks for the feedback on the food and the shed. We seem to be getting more action today. I'm going to be more consistent about testing him.

Thanks Devon - he is a nice shade of blue and never dives... just slowly surfs. He takes it so easy on his bean.

Ella - I HATE the cold. Outside for me is the end of the laneway to get the paper LOL. I'll start with dancing, maybe outdoors in the winter will be a goal. I wish I loved winter like you do. I won't change him all at once. Will do the half hour thing - 15 minutes a shot.
 
Re: 2/7 Maverick AMPS 115

*sigh* oh to have California Sun *sigh* Tell Maggie, Karrie and Maverick are both jealous.
You and Maverick should come visit us. I'm like you - do not like the snow or winter! I just looked at Maverick's ss, and he had some pretty greens today. Good boy Maverick. Glad you like the syringes. I had a bubble at the pm, so I'm not sure if I even got a .50 in Maggie. Have a good night.
 
I think I messed up his shot tonight. These long needles are driving me crazy. I thought I did a good shot, pulled out the needle and there was a drop of insulin on the end. Guess we'll find out if it was a furshot later :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top