Re: Kitten AMBG 189, +12.5 188, +13: AMPS 254. 0.1u
Hi Cathy,
Just got your message and checking in on your spreadsheet. Looks like you're doing a great job.
I was on PZI and it acts a bit differently so I was microdosing 0.25, 0.5 or 0.75U depending on my cats BG levels. I would shoot above 150 and rising and just made a bit of a sliding scale for the microdosing. I would also shoot as long as it was 8 hours since his last dose, but I don't think it was ever less than 12 hours apart especially once you're at the microdosing point, but I would have been comfortable at 8 hours to try to keep the BGs low. The amounts your at are fine, or even conservative because your cat isn't getting even close to low numbers. I was trying to get my nadirs in the greens, but I was also ok with being aggressive because Cello was very healthy and never showed any signs of hypo or anything even when he was in the 40's.
I think you should see how the 0.1 does, but if he doesn't go down into greens and needs another shot in 12 hours might be worth trying 0.2 if he is above 200.
This was my scale
150-180 I gave the smallest possible I could on a 100U syringe (0.25U) (BUT MAKE SURE # IS RISING AT THESE LEVELS ie. test if he was 160, test an hour later, if he is up, shoot, if he is the same or down don't shoot) - FOr you this dose would probably be 0.1U
180-300 I gave 0.5U - at this level I didn't wait to see if it was going up. For you this would probably be 0.2U
Above 300 I gave 0.75 U - FOr you this would probably be 0.3U
This should be conservative given that you've give 0.5U at 300 and had no issues. You can slide the scale up or down depending on how it goes.
If you have any questions inbox me or post here!