2/7 Joe AMPS 400, +1 450, +2 388, +7.5 275, +2.5PM 235

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mel and Joe

Member Since 2010
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=5377

Gave 1 can of food each again and both cats inhaled it. Put another can down after they were done to try and leave some for later. Not looking so good right now. I think they'll finish that one too. Both just walked away from the dish when the first batch was gone so I figured they were done but they sure were excited to see more. I almost wonder if they'll eat anything I put down just because it's there?

Joe moved during his shot this morning, not sure I got him.

He's still a lazy cat but he's interacting with the family more these days. Also starting to get used to the blood tests . . as long as I get it over with fairly quickly.
 
Re: 2/7 Joe AMPS 400

Good morning!

Welcome to Lantus Land, I haven't had a chance to visit so here I am!

Saw ur thread from yesterday - and :thumbup to the vet visit, highly recommend curves at home, vet offices will only add to kitty stress, strangers and no mommy - or daddy around (not sure which one u are Mel :lol: )

Plus not to mention the $$ saved as vet curves can add up.
Most vets - well a lot of them, turn their noses to home testing, which sucks, but it's do-able and a lot safer for your pet, so show that SS (spreadsheet) to your vet next time u visit and keep standing firm on you doing the home testing and curves! Ya! :-D

If you think it may be a "furshot" this morning, grab a couple of tests in this cycle, that will give u a good idea!
Post if u have questions or just wanna chill-ax with the Sunday crowd here in Lantus Land. :-D

Now, about last nite......lol, any numbers after last nites PMPS? Maybe u haven't entered them in your ss yet? Me hopes.
Well, if no numbers, I'm gonna tell ya, a lot of kitties tend to have lower numbers in the evening, so it is important to get at least one or two checks in, ideally a +3 and a before bedtime check - this will help fill in the gaps and give everyone a good idea of what Joe was up to last nite...plus helps explain the AMPS too.

Tell me if u have heard all this before and I'll be on my merry way :lol:

Glad you're here Mel and Joe! You're in the best place for Joe to get back to his old self again!

Have a great day!
 
Re: 2/7 Joe AMPS 400, +1 450

Thanks for the reply :).

I'll work on getting some PM tests tonight and most definitely when I'm back at work next week and won't be able to get much during the day.

+1 is probably too early to tell if we got a fur shot but not looking good so far.
 
Re: 2/7 Joe AMPS 400, +1 450

that's ok, save a strip and go for +3 and post ur updates if u can.

+1 Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.

according to the curve chart in the stickie up above : New to the Group..
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=157

You're doing fine!
 
Re: 2/7 Joe AMPS 400, +1 450, +2 388

I don't expect to be home at +3 so went ahead and got +2. The number is going down so looks like we're ok.

Just for future reference. I know it's important to stay on schedule. What do we do if something like this happens and the numbers don't start to go down?
 
Re: 2/7 Joe AMPS 400, +1 450, +2 388

Mel and Joe said:
I don't expect to be home at +3 so went ahead and got +2. The number is going down so looks like we're ok.

Just for future reference. I know it's important to stay on schedule. What do we do if something like this happens and the numbers don't start to go down?


u mean a possible furshot?
or just numbers not going down?

hoping someone with experience to explain it can offer thoughts

ok, when u get in later - if u can, do what we call "an in the door check"
 
Re: 2/7 Joe AMPS 400, +1 450, +2 388, +7.5 275

275 at 7.5 about where he was yesterday.

I guess I'm thinking about a fur shot. I know you don't want to shoot again right away because he may have gotten some and you don't want to overdose. I also know it's important to stay on a 12/12 schedule so in most cases I assume I'd keep an eye on him and give him his next shot at the regularly scheduled time.
 
Re: 2/7 Joe AMPS 400, +1 450, +2 388, +7.5 275

I think... actually, I'm pretty sure that I am confused by your question...

So, if the question is - I'll get a +2 instead of a +3 ? Either are good at this point.

If the question refers to the shooting schedule - yes, pls stay on 12/12 as much as you can (+/- 15 mins is OK).

We are big fans of a test before you go to bed (and we prefer if you don't go to sleep until PM +2 or +3). As Ronnie mentioned, cats tend to go lower at night, so it is our best opportunity to get some data.

Also, and this may comfort you, a lot of us on this board work a full day and we are not home during the day to check sugar levels. We learn to get data when we can including after we return from work, in the evening and on the weekend.

I invite you to poke around the board and visit other people's condos (thread). There is a lot to learn....

Hang in there and .... welcome again to the sugar dance.
 
Re: 2/7 Joe AMPS 400, +1 450, +2 388, +7.5 275

nice job getting tests today. :smile:

If you can get a spot check or two at night, that will let us know whether Joe is ready for a bit more insulin. I can't recommend that without seeing where he is going at night, though. Good progress, though!

eta: your other question - you're right, if you get a fur shot then never reshoot, just wait until the next shot time. You never know how much might have gotten in.
 
Re: 2/7 Joe AMPS 400, +1 450, +2 388, +7.5 275

Libby and Lucy said:
If you can get a spot check or two at night, that will let us know whether Joe is ready for a bit more insulin. I can't recommend that without seeing where he is going at night, though. Good progress, though!

Added a check at +2.5 tonight. The lowest I've seen all day. I'll have to convince "dad" to learn how to do this so we can get a couple more night checks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top