2/7 Chyna PMPS HI +4 412

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Good morning, LL! Yesterday: Chyna 2/6

Woo hoo on no stinky pinky today, finally! :-D That seemed to take a long time to clear. This is cycle 6 on the dose but I may hold it again for a cycle or two...depends on what I see at lunchtime I guess, since we took so long from the bounce up, I'm not sure what this dose will do. On the other hand, it's the weekend and I will be home...argh. Guess I will stop counting my chickens before they hatch and see what the day brings :lol:

After much ice on the back and advil after last nights grouchy posting about shovelling a big ice windrow, I am feeling a bit better. But I did wake up at 4am and couldn't go back to sleep...until half hour before the alarm at 6am :roll: . I hate that. But Chyna seems happy this morning, she was waiting in her testing spot, then ate a good chunk of breffis :razz: . We tested for ketones last night and they were negative. Slide down and surf it safe while I am at work, my sweet girl cat_pet_icon .

I'm so glad it's Friday, woo hoo! TGIF ;-) Have a great day!
 
Re: 2/7 Chyna AMPS 250

Very nice start this morning for Miss Chyna!!! Holding the current dose for another cycle or 2 might produce better #s for you both, and then you can go from there if it doesn't.

I'm glad you're feeling better from yesterday's workout. Sending tons of healing vines for you, and wishing for you to make a full and speedy recovery. Have a great day!
 
Re: 2/7 Chyna AMPS 250

good start to the day! sometimes you do need to see what more promising numbers hold for the future. I hope you can take it easy today!
 
Re: 2/7 Chyna AMPS 250

Glad your back is a bit better. Stinks when you wake up like that and can't get back to sleep right away. It seems to work that way for me, too. :sad:

Nice AMPS. I'd give it the rest of today and tonight's cycle before deciding on an increase, too. Who knows? Chyna may decide she really likes this dose, now that she's off the trampoline. :-D

Hope the work day flies by and you're home enjoying the weekend soon!
 
Re: 2/7 Chyna AMPS 250 +6 406 (??)

Thanks Angela, Ann, and Tricia for visiting! Apparently she isn't off the trampoline! Uh, what the heck is this from ??? I tested twice on two drops of blood, 434 and 406 ohmygod_smile . I was expecting a curve down...unless she dropped a lot lower before AMPS and is bouncing. NOW I don't know what to do for the increase I was planning on holding off on...wondering if it should be a reducie instead?? I will leave it for tonight I guess, at 5.5u...
 
Re: 2/7 Chyna AMPS 250 +6 406 (??)

Yuck on the bounce. I hope Chyna slides back down soon. Sorry, no dose advice from me.
 
Re: 2/7 Chyna AMPS 250 +6 406 (??)

Hey Chyna!!...You two better stop this nonsense! You're supposed to go DOWN at +6, not UP!!

I feel your pain Rachel! I couldn't tell you what to do now either on the increase..that's just strange! I don't see any reason for Chyna to bounce like that either!

Guess we have to chalk it up to a cat being a cat...but that sure doesn't make us feel any better, does it?
 
Re: 2/7 Chyna AMPS 250 +6 406 PMPS HI (dose?)

Ok, well I'm ready to cry. I tested it twice, and HI??? What is wrong? Did I go by a good dose and need to reduce? Increase? I'm so upset at this :cry: She seems happy and purring tonight. We even had some play...and she is hanging out with me in the bedroom which is usually not happening lately. we had an ouchie shot the other day, but no fur shots that I've smelled...
 
Re: 2/7 Chyna AMPS 250 +6 406 PMPS HI (dose?)

Well, it does sound like she is feeling good, so first and foremost that is what counts. But I sure do understand your stress and concern. How old is her insulin? I was looking at her SS, but I didn't seen any notations about that (I certainly could be missing it!)...could it be petering out? I don't have any subQ fluid, but I know they can affect numbers, too...has it been a while since she's had those?

She's happy with negative ketones...that's good stuff. We'll get these numbers figured out!!!

Hugs...Chyna, please come down for your MamaBean!!!
 
Re: 2/7 Chyna AMPS 250 +6 406 PMPS HI (dose?)

Thanks Amy. I didn't note the age of the insulin :oops:. I bought a new vial in December when we went back on it...I added that note to the SS. She gets 50ml subqs every second night that I don't mark on the SS either...just when I did the big dose, I guess I should, we just started a new bag last night and it doesn't expire till 2015. I can't think of anything I've changed...other than I'm trying to brush her teeth every night (my finger) with C.E.T seafood or something like that but it's a teensy amount. And that's not new...it's just sporatic. I keep it all in my journal.

Maybe she isn't feeling good and is staying close from that :cry: She followed me from the rooms this evening. It could be she's looking for the nanner that came in the mail today, that we played with a bit at lunch. I have a cute video I will post when I can figure out how and am not so worried!

I'll set up another pee trap for tonight...I feel like I could puke right now.

(PS thanks for visiting, Chris, Liz and Carla, much appreciated)
 
Re: 2/7 Chyna AMPS 250 +6 406 PMPS HI (dose?)

How frustrating for you!! Not knowing or understanding why their numbers skyrocket is such a worry. I can't wait to see what her AMPS is tomorrow...hoping for a yellow so it won't be so low her liver needs to panic again, but low enough to make you feel better.

If it snowed here, I'd be snowed in before I could shovel myself out....I'm too old for that mess!!!

Good luck with everything. I'll check in on you tomorrow!!
 
Re: 2/7 Chyna AMPS 250 +6 406 PMPS HI (dose?)

I understand the worry. Remember, she's feeling GOOD...it's hard, I know, and you don't want her sitting at HI for long, but she's feeling good, no ketones, and you will get her where she belongs before too long.

Since it has been since December, maybe it is time to try out a new vial. I know some people do get quite a while out of one vial, but you never know...I know others who really couldn't get more than 28 days out of a vial or pen.

With Trix, she does hit these walls sometimes. I'm kind of in the same boat, although we haven't gotten readings as high as Chyna's. Trix'll be surfing along really well, all kinds of regulated, then BAM! She falls out for no apparent reason. Nothing works to get her regulated again for a while. We've also done repeated increases with no real results. But suddenly they do hit a breakthrough. I know Trix will hit another breakthrough again at some point, and I know Chyna will, too. You are on top of her numbers and her well-being.

FD is just so frustrating and upsetting....I know. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/7 Chyna AMPS 250 +6 406 PMPS HI (dose?)

i think she's bouncing from the 113 day before yesterday. look how she had several hours in the hundreds that morning, then BOING she's up to 328 at pmps that day. since then, she's just hovered around in the 300's except for a blip this morning. it is possible she had a lower number last night, but i think it's more likely that she's still reacting from the morning of the 5th.

sometimes when cats bounce they wobble around up high before they completely clear it. in another words, it might not sit at 330 the whole bounce, and that little dip down is just a wobbling within the bounce rather than clearing it. it almost looks like she's just hit the HIGH of the bounce tonight.

kinda looks like that's her pattern. look also at 1/30 with the pmps of 178. it looks like she took right off and hit that ugly black number the next morning, but then wobbled around in basically high numbers hitting that 413 the morning of the 2nd before she finally came down the night of the 2nd. That took 7 cycles to clear.

Does any of that make sense to you? I'm not an expert at reading spreadsheets, but that's what it looks like to me. and since you did increase the dose the night of the 4th, i think i'd wait for this bounce to clear and see where it takes her. that should happen before too long.

One thing to consider is that once you're past 3units per dose, which is considered a "higher dose", you can increase by 0.5u increments. sometimes inching up in dose doesn't work as well as taking the slightly larger increase. you don't have to, but i sometimes felt with punkin like i was always one step behind him and couldn't get on top of his numbers. Something for you to consider.

Here's the quote from the Tilly Diabetes Homepage that addresses this option:

Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl.
 
Re: 2/7 Chyna AMPS 250 +6 406 PMPS HI (dose?)

(((((Rachel))))) I hate these mystery numbers but it could be from anything. Neko often saves the worst of her bouncing for a few cycles after she went low.

I agree with Julie on the larger increases. Sometimes they just need a little jolt to get them into better numbers. Good luck on the increase when you get to it. You are a great mama bean, you are doing everything right. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/7 Chyna AMPS 250 +6 406 PMPS HI (dose?)

Thanks guys. I panic easy... :oops: and assume the worst. I'm now drinking a gingerale to calm my stomach.

Hi Patty, thanks for checking on us. I hope to see something like an actual number tonight...and scared to test nailbite_smile

Hi Amy, thanks. I hope it's not the vial...I can't afford a new one this one is only 2 months old...and it's been kept in the fridge in the middle in a mug in it's box (paranoid I guess :lol: ). I guess I'm still learning her "new" patterns. With her CKD, I worry that is causing her issues...thanks for the hugs, and support.

Hi Julie, it makes some sense...leave it to Chyna to take her time doing anything :roll: . I'm not very good at seeing patterns and I guess I figured any lower number was a cleared bounce :o . I will put on the patience pants and hope for a slide down. I did ask a few condos ago about doing the 0.5u increase and was told to stick to 0.25 for that one since we saw blue (I think that's why). I wouldn't mind actually seeing a result that sticks! If only I didn't have to work and worry while there :shock: Thanks for looking things over and your advice. I'll be posting for advice if I need a dosecrease, I'm sure ;-) . I was just worried maybe I increased too fast and didn't wait for the bounces to clear.

Hi Wendy, it's good to know that my cat isn't the only frustrating one :lol: Thanks so much for the support.
 
Re: 2/7 Chyna AMPS 250 +6 406 PMPS HI

Oh, Rachel, I know how scary this is. Just when you think you have it figured out, wham, she throws you another curve. :shock: Take some deep breaths and try to relax. She's going to be fine.

I'm sending hugs and calming vines to you and sliding down vines to Chyna. I'll be watching for your next post with paws crossed! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/7 Chyna AMPS 250 +6 406 PMPS HI

following the guidelines on the TR yellow-starred sticky, it has increases done in 0.25u increments. there's nothing wrong with that - and when nadirs are already pretty good, it might be the best choice. Chyna is having pretty good nadirs, so i can understand that.

I do think, though, that the option of doing a larger increase is a good one to keep in mind.
 
Re: 2/7 Chyna AMPS 250 +6 406 PMPS HI

Thanks Tricia, she's a lot calmer about it all than I am :lol: She's just like "ok, wheres my treat, and fuds, bean?". I appreciate the hugs!

Thanks again Julie, it's for sure a good option and I like it! :-D I always hope the next thing I have to do is a reducie, of course. But if we need to go up...
 
Re: 2/7 Chyna AMPS 250 +6 406 PMPS HI

(((Rachel))) How frustrating these numbers are. You are doing everything right, and Chyna is feeling better. No ketones - yippee :smile: I don't have dosing advice, but I am thinking of you & Chyna and sending better number vines :-D Can't wait to see the video when you figure it out ;-)
 
Re: 2/7 Chyna AMPS 250 +6 406 PMPS HI

Hey!

Just popping in to say that I am thinking about you and sending wellness vines to the both of you!

Clear that bounce!
Rebekah
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top