2/7 Atticus, PMPS 151, +2 80, +3 62, +4 64, +6 86

Status
Not open for further replies.

Monica and Atticus (GA)

Member Since 2011
Well, we had an exciting day yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=62982

I think that 226 might have been a bit of a food spike- I heard him munching when I woke up, finishing up the last of the food in the automated feeder, which gives him food at 2am.

I'm going to go ahead and shoot the even .50 unit this morning. Even though he'd only been on the .75-.85 for a few days, he's telling me pretty loudly he's ready for the .5. The vet had wanted me to start on it yesterday, and I kind of wish I had, though I'd want to lower it a little more incrementally. We'll see how he does, but I feel pretty good about only giving him .5.
 
Re: 2/7 Atticus, AMPS 198

Good luck on the reduction!! It looks like he was telling you that he needed it. Nice blue AMPS for Atticus this morning. Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 2/7 Atticus, AMPS 198

Good luck with the dose change!

It is interesting to watch his numbers as I think some of what you are seeing is a working pancreas as he is dropping after eating in the first hour.

So we'll see what happens for the next few days...

Go Atticus!!!!!
 
Re: 2/7 Atticus, AMPS 198

If it were me, I wouldn't have reduced. With the TR protocol, a dose reduction is warranted if numbers drop below 50 or if your cat is in normal (below 120) numbers for a week. Atticus may have been ready to be done with this dose but we don't know that for sure.

Also, just a heads' up. Lantus likes consistency. Doses also need time to settle. You've shot four different doses (0.85u, 0.75u, 0.60u, 0.50u) and skipped a shot all in the space of 3 days. You could end up with very wonky numbers. Even though some of the doses differ by only a drop, while it doesn't seem like much, it can make a difference in the shed.
 
Re: 2/7 Atticus, AMPS 198

Maybe I'm having bad judgment from sleep deprivation. I know it's better to keep a consistent dose, but with the numbers he's had, I don't feel comfortable not reducing on a day I have to go to work. Especially after last night. I don't even know if I'll be able to leave work today to get a +4 or +5 at lunch. Hopefully I can get one of those today, but I can't monitor any more than that. I just don't want to leave him alone that long with him going as low as he has been on the prior dose.
I am worried about wonkiness, but hopefully I can hold this doae for a while and it won't be too bad for him. I am stressed and worried but I'm doing the best I can.
 
Re: 2/7 Atticus, AMPS 198

Hi guys .. We all understand sometimes you have to make choices based on other circumstances. Let's hope atticus can hold this dose safely for awhile, give his body time to adjust to it before making the next dose change .. have a great day!
 
Re: 2/7 Atticus, AMPS 198

Great job last night, Monica. I waited up until 1 am your time and then decided to hit the sack...didn't see any updates on your SS....looking at your condo from yesterday, looks like I missed you by a few minutes :-D

I agree 100% with Sienne...I would not have reduced either. Keep in mind that the effects of lantus are cumulative so the effects of reducing the dose this morning
might not be seen this cycle. He still might have some shed action from the .75u dose. If you are worried about leaving him, then I think you should find the
dose that keeps him safe and you can shoot consistently. However, that might slow down his wonderful progression.
 
Re: 2/7 Atticus, AMPS 198, +4 205

205 at +4.

Marjorie, sorry I made you stay up so late and we missed each other!
Of course I'm second-guessing myself now but I just couldn't bring myself to shoot the prior dose and leave. I was a nervous wreck all morning today as it is. I'm glad I was able to come home and check him and get his +4. I pray that he still progresses. I am in tears. I just was so scared to leave him today and I'm not going to be able to come home at lunch every day this week and Thursday I won't be able to monitor him in the evening, just later at night. I want to do right by him, I really do. But this is the best I can do right now. I'm willing to raise his dose again if that's what he needs, but I think I should hold the .5 for now.
 
Re: 2/7 Atticus, AMPS 198, +4 205, +5 187

Well, these look like pretty comfortable numbers today.

I would just point out that Atticus didn't climb up into those nasty pinkers today and seems to be holding nicely in the upper blue/low yellow range. As Sienne pointed out the dose reduction was a bit too soon and given the number of dose changes and/or skipped shots...you may get some wonkiness this evening and for the next few days.

If the 0.5 is where you are comfortable shooting that is your decision. Marje told you the pros and cons, but you also have to do what you are feeling comfortable with.

Sometimes the hardest thing to do is pick a dose and stick with it...and have courage. Consider all that you learned yesterday, how to manage those numbers etc. And while an occassional chicken dose is OK, you do need consistency at the moment. I've taken my share of big chicken shots...only to later regret it. And I've also been known to shoot numbers that give folks like Sienne and Marje near heart attacks.

But one thing you should know about all of the folks here in LL. We will always try to give you the best guidance we can and we'll never leave you hanging.

I completely understand why you shot 0.5u this morning and at one time I was in your shoes too...and made that same choice much to the consternation of my mentors. But, you shot something and that was better than nothing. So if you want to hold that 0.5u dose, just say so. And let's see where it goes as every cat is different. We're here to support you and your cat.

Just know if we see your cat sneaking up above the renal threshold for glucose we will encourage you to increase that dose back.
 
Re: 2/7 Atticus, AMPS 198, +4 205, +5 187, +10 149

149 at +10.

I hope I don't seem ungrateful. I am so glad for the support and knowledge I've gotten here, both on the board in general and LL in particular. I'm just trying to walk that line between safety and hope for remission. Of course the last thing I want is any kind of organ failure, and I'm glad I have you all to be on the lookout for dangerous numbers. I'm not married to the .5u if it's not working for him. I want to do the best I can for him. I know you all have Atticus' best interests at heart, and that there's a wealth of knowledge there. I just am so afraid of coming home to a seizing cat. I already have so much guilt over him getting diabetes in the first place. I love him so much. I wish you all knew what a sweetheart he is. (Of course we all feel that way about our babies!)
Anyway, I'm rambling. I'm glad I at least know that I can shoot low and how to do it. I'm praying/hoping/lighting an offertory candle to Bast that he continues to progress. Thanks to all of you for your patience with me.
 
Re: 2/7 Atticus, AMPS 198, +4 205, +5 187, +10 149, PMPS 151

151 at PMPS. Going to hold the .5 dose for a while. I don't want to go back and forth any more for a while. Candles, prayers, fingers crossed.
 
Re: 2/7 Atticus, AMPS 198, +4 205, +5 187, +10 149, PMPS 151

That's a decent PMPS number to start Atticus' night with. I hope he surfs along, so you can get some rest tonight.
 
Re: 2/7 Atticus, AMPS 198, +4 205, +5 187, +10 149, PMPS 151

don't second-guess yourself monica. people will try to educate you so you know what to do in the future, but every single one of us has done a similar thing along the way. keeping our kitties safe is the top priority for everybody!

i like to think that we each make the best decisions we can with what we know at that time. from each consequence we add to what we know, so the next time it might end up being a different choice. but absolutely none of us is criticizing you for making a safe choice for atticus.

you truly are doing great. the whole thing is a big old dance! one step forward, three steps sideways.

you're doing just fine. one thing you can do tomorrow while you're at work - set the auto feeder to go off at +3 and +4 or +5 to prop his numbers up, just in case he needs it. divide up whatever you would normally feed him so the total is more spread out. then you can relax knowing that he's doing fine while you're at work. you gotta take care of yourself in this too. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/7 Atticus, AMPS 198, +4 205, +5 187, +10 149, PMPS 151

Hey Monica,
We all have to do what makes us comfortable. You haven't done Atticus any harm. So yes, hold this dose for a few cycles and let it settle in. If it doesn't seem to be high enough, you can take it right back up. Don't forget the marathon vs. the sprint. FD is a marathon. There is time to recover from missteps, or from taking a wrong turn!

You and Atticus are doing great. So send him to the Full Snow Moon Party at Camp Stu tonight and relax!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/7 Atticus, +4 205, +5 187, +10 149, PMPS 151, +2 80

Nice job tonight and good call on giving some LC. I'd get a +2.5 or a +3. That's a sizable drop by for early in the cycle.

No one thinks you're ungrateful. All we were doing is giving you information so you can make the best informed decision. You have to be comfortable with your choices. I'd rather you know what the possibilities are and decide that feel like someone should have told you. And FWIW, Atticus looks like he could care less. (It would be so much easier if these kitties came with a rule book!)
 
Re: 2/7 Atticus, PMPS 151, +2 80, +3 62

ya doing ok, monica? atticus is looking as good as ever! he's making sure you pay attention to him, isn't he?
 
Re: 2/7 Atticus, PMPS 151, +2 80, +3 62, +4 64

64 at +4. Gave him a spoonful of MC gravy.

I'm doing alright. I'm going to set the alarm for a couple hours from now, and maybe I can try to sleep a bit before then. Starting to forget what a full night's sleep is. He could have just told me he wanted more attention! I think I'm going to need to leave for work an extra 15 minutes early in the morning so I can hit Starbucks. I haven't been to the store in forever, so there's no milk in the house so I can't make coffee here. I don't have any kids, and I don't yet know if I will, but this seems like great practice!
 
Re: 2/7 Atticus, PMPS 151, +2 80, +3 62, +4 64

:lol: monica! this is way harder than having babies, no worries. and the good thing is that you won't have to do this every night. keep following the protocol and either he'll go OTJ or he'll go back up in dose (because we can't predict cats!) and you'll still get to sleep at night. i've gotten up with punkin maybe 12-15 times in the past year.

you, however, are getting baptism by fire this week! welcome to insulin and hello, stay awake every night to check! :lol:
 
86 at +6.
Had a really unpleasant dream involving forgetting Miranda in a parking lot (!), and I just tried to give Atticus a test strip as a post-poke treat. I'm going BTB til morning.
Thanks, all!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top