? 2/7, AMPS 505 - PMPS 497 - question about high numbers on higher dosage

Javier and Leo

Member Since 2020
I haven't posted in a while and I can't find my latest post which was from weeks ago.

Please bear with us with our spreadsheet because we let go of the Libra Freestyle after having lots of issues with the device and had to start using Alphatrak 2, that's what we are using now and have been tracking numbers better.

Do we need to make any special edits to the spreadsheet, or is it ok to continue writing the numbers the way we are doing it?

Also, could you remind us how the Freestyle Libre and the Alphatrak 2 compare in terms of readings?

Question about dosages:

Around 1/15 we lowered Leo's dose to 0.25U to avoid bounces. After a few days his numbers started to get really high, and we adjusted back to 0.5. Do you think Leo is just getting used to the insulin? His numbers continue to be high on 0.5U, and even at 1U where we are now.

I know the numbers we added to the spreadsheet are not perfectly organized, it was a steep learning curve with the pricking system and it has added a lot on our plates. We struggled with the Freestyle Libre issues so much as well.

Thank you!
 
Here's the link to your previous thread:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...hen-can-we-expect-bg-to-go-down-again.241861/

You can continue to enter numbers as you are entering it, but a change needs to be made to reflect that wit a pet meter, numbers below 68 are "lime" and earn a reduction (as against 50 in a human meter). I can make this change for you.

Human meters read a little lower than pet meters. No one to one comparison can be made with the numbers though!
Strips for a human meter are far cheaper than the AT and most folks here use a human meter. Walmart's ReliOn meter is popular and cheap! You could think about switching to a human meter at some point.

The reduction on 1/15 was because Leo dipped to "LO" on the dose. Lantus dosing is based on how low it takes the BG. Bouncing is unavoidable and most cats will stop bouncing once they get used to lower numbers. Some take longer than others to stop bouncing.

To decide on dosing, we need more tests. I see several cycles where there are no tests. Cats usually go lower at night and bounce in the day. Without night time tests and at least 1 more test per cycle (in addition to PS test), we cannot see how low this dose is taking Leo. I would suggest a getting a few more tests over the next couple of days and then we can decide on the dosing.
 
I agree with Bhooma...try to get yourself transitioned over to a human meter - the dosing protocols here are all written using human meters, they're less expensive and the numbers often are a better indicator of reality than the AT2 IMHO...

And please do not skip testing at night - that's when cats tend to do their best work. And although without nighttime tests it's difficult to say if you're getting any reaction from the 1 unit, based on your dosing method of TR, it's time to increase by .25.

If you don't have calipers, you may want to consider getting them to help you measure increments of .25 - it's difficult to eyeball that amount on the syringe - and consistency is important.

Please post again tomorrow to let us know how things are going :)

Be sure to create your title to look like this: 2/7 Leo AMPS ### - it's very important as this is a busy busy forum and many of us don't have much time to look at posts without proper titles...they fall to the lower part of the forum and are often overlooked.

Have a great day!
 
Glad to see you all back, Javier. Bhooma and Sue have given you some good advice to help you get back into things here.

As Sue said, we have a specific format for the subject line. Could you please reformat your subject line today, as requested, in our Posting Guidelines? We’d appreciate that very much.

Anytime you need to find a post you made, click on your username in the upper right corner, then “your content”. At the bottom of that first page, you can select to see just the posts originated by you.
 
Back
Top