Re: 2/6 Samwise AMPS 528 +5 446
Hi, Sue ~
What kind of numbers did you get at PMPS yesterday and AMPS today for Sammy? Today is the third day of that bounce for Sam, Sue. Since a bounce can take up to 72 hours to clear, my suggestion would be to hold that 1.0U dose today to see if you get a breakthrough in Sam's numbers tonight or tomorrow.
Boy, I don't like your sweet furguy's staying in such high numbers for so long, and I know you don't either, Sue. Are you testing Sam for ketones? I think that would be a good thing to do for him. Also, how old is the vial or pen of Lantus that you're using? When you look at Sam, does he seem healthy and happy to you, Sue? The reason I'm asking is that infections, such as dental or urinary tract, can cause elevated bg numbers.
Of course, it may be a matter of finding the right dose for Sam and working with it, Sue. I'm wondering if a slightly lower dose wouldn't work better if you don't get a decent breakthrough in Sam's numbers by tomorrow, but don't make that change now. Maybe we can get a couple of other members to come see what they think, Sue.
Thinking of you and Sam today, Sue.
Eva