2/6 Ruben pmps +11 174

Status
Not open for further replies.

RubenTheCat

Member Since 2013
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=88468&start=50
yesterday's conday
omg, the board going down was a test from god, on wether i can handle this or not..lol :lol:
so far so good, both ruben and i are still alive
I dont know why his numbers are low, and going down? gave gl @ +1 just to slow drop.
idk if he even got any insulin (when i practiced drawing .1u it was 50/50 on wether a drop came out or not)
gonna check @ +2.5
i know these are good numbers but still don't know why he is dropping...
i hate the sugar dance why can't we do the hokey pokey.

missed you guys, it was only a few hours but felt like a life time. you are all my bff's

Kpassa- hoped you slept good. no balcony's lol
 
Re: 2/6 amps 163 guessed .1u +156 +2 125 +1.5 125 +2.5 209

so i dont want to keep shooting at 11:30
i got a feeling he's is on an up swing and will be high like he was on 2/4
gonna get a plus 11 and if he's high enough i'll shoot (is that to early to shoot an hour early)
why is his number high on the 2/4 and then blue/blue/blue and now on the rise again? what does that mean?
and when i do shoot shoudl i shoot .1u or .25u?
assuming it depends on the number right?
i only ask yo guys all these qestions cause i have no one else to ask?
one very last question yo think i can leave for about 2-3 hours now?
 
Re: 2/6 amps 163 guessed .1u +156 +2 125 +1.5 125 +2.5 209

Hi Sam,

Awesome that you shot on that AMPS this morning! You could have shot a full dose, I think, but I don't think the reduced dose was the wrong way to go either. It's awful when the board is down, isn't it?

I hope you decided to go out if you needed to for 2-3 hours, and when you do that, just get an "in the door" test when you come home. Hope the rest of the cycle looks this good!

I am hoping others see your questions before PMPS time, but I'm guessing most people also noticed the board down, and are just now finding out it's back up and running.

Carl
 
Re: 2/6 amps 163 guessed .1u +156 +2 125 +1.5 125 +2.5 209

why is his number high on the 2/4 and then blue/blue/blue and now on the rise again? what does that mean?

When you see a number that is high like on 2/4, look back a cycle or two to see if any of those numbers seem low enough to cause a bounce. The cycle before, he started at 261, went down to 153 fairly soon. And you probably fed that drop to slow it down? Then he might have dipped back down between the 199 and the 203, but no way to know for sure. That may have been low enough to cause the bounce on the PM cycle. He also wasn't eating all that great and if I remember right, he wasn't feeling too good either.

It looks like those higher numbers went away pretty quick, the bounce cleared for the most part, and this morning he gave you that pretty blue preshot. And today, his numbers have been fairly flat, but lower overall. That's all a "good thing" Sam!

I think the plan on shooting if he's high by +11 tonight is okay (but wait for confirmation on that). And I think the right answer on dose is .25u, but wait for a 2nd opinion on that too.

Carl
 
Re: 2/6 amps 163 guessed .1u +156 +2 125 +1.5 125 +2.5 209

my vet basically said in order for her to help ruben that her and i have to be on the same page...ugh. gave me all advise i dont agree with.
im putting all my faith in you guys, i know i can and i know i've been super needy and i hate to say this but when i give my vet the boot, im gonna really need you guys more. is that bad, why cant this be easy. i know its all what you make it. sigh its just so so so scary shooting his normal dose when his numbers are low. (i know the depot is there and know the logic and am learning how this works) but my neurotic brain makes me think crazy things.
taking a leap of faith. im here and im in it. please stick it out with me, def need more hand holding. i wish my own illness was in check, all of this makes me worse, thats not good for ruben.
 
Re: 2/6 amps 163 guessed .1u +156 +2 125 +1.5 125 +2.5 209

You're doing good, Sam. You're starting to think about how all this works. I'm impressed.
 
Re: 2/6 amps 163 guessed .1u +156 +2 125 +1.5 125 +2.5 209

At some point Sam, when Ruben is much better and his numbers are much more regulated....
You will be able to stop by the vet (without Ruben), give her a printed copy of the TR Protocol, and a printout of Ruben's spreadsheet. And say "hey look, this works! I'm going to leave this here with you and hopefully you'll be able to share it with the next diabetic kitty who comes through that door". And maybe she will, and maybe every diabetic cat she sees from now on will benefit from you and Ruben's excellent adventure! :-D

Carl
 
Re: 2/6 amps 163 guessed .1u +156 +2 125 +1.5 125 +2.5 209

What a nice day for Ruben...and you did a great job while the board was down today!!! It sounds like Ruben is starting to feel and eat better...I hope so. And be sure to take care of yourself, too!!! Don't worry about asking questions...that's why everyone is here...to help each other in any way possible.

Have a great evening, Sam!!
 
Re: 2/6 amps 163 guessed .1u +156 +2 125 +1.5 125 +2.5 209

I am loving those numbers the last few days! Keep up the good work Sam!! (Hugs)
 
so dont know how i did this? dont remember quoteing? how do yo guys do that thing where the line goes through the words to represent disregaurd? i tried to delete it and coldnt figure it out..blonde...lol jk


RubenTheCat said:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=88468&start=50
yesterday's conday
omg, the board going down was a test from god, on wether i can handle this or not..lol :lol:
so far so good, both ruben and i are still alive
I dont know why his numbers are low, and going down? gave gl @ +1 just to slow drop.
idk if he even got any insulin (when i practiced drawing .1u it was 50/50 on wether a drop came out or not)
gonna check @ +2.5
i know these are good numbers but still don't know why he is dropping...
i hate the sugar dance why can't we do the hokey pokey.

missed you guys, it was only a few hours but felt like a life time. you are all my bff's

Kpassa- hoped you slept good. no balcony's lol
 
Re: 2/6 Ruben pmps +10 174

it is a +11. i hate shooting blue, i know i should and commit and continue to test, but i really want to get back on a 7 and 7 schedule and think this low nmber is a good time to do it, i feel like the right thing to do is to shoot and test but torn. the easy decision is to relax start fresh in the a.m. but the stress with shooting effects me, plus bf is being a jerk....again,ugh
whats everyones opinions? sigh, i think i know the right answer but would really like to get back on 7 and 7 schedule
 
Re: 2/6 Ruben pmps +10 174

I think only you know how you all are feeling. It's a safe number to shoot with .25u but I wouldn't be surprised if he comes back down tonight. If you are feeling really bad and need sleep, then you can skip and realign your shot times.

Totally up to you.
 
Re: 2/6 Ruben pmps +10 174

sam, i don't usually suggest a caregiver skip a shot. however, i've been looking at ruben's spreadsheet. it looks very much to me like YOU need a break... and it's OK to take one. it's important for you to take care of you or you won't be any good for ruben. if i were in your shoes (and i have been), i'd go ahead and skip tonight's shot. relax. get a good night's sleep. start over tomorrow at 7am.

just sayin...
 
but i really want to get back on a 7 and 7 schedule and think this low nmber is a good time to do it, i feel like the right thing to do is to shoot and test but torn. the easy decision is to relax start fresh in the a.m. but the stress with shooting effects me, plus bf is being a jerk....again,ugh

I vote "skip". And I think you're doing great, Sam. Especially realizing that this would be a great opportunity to get back on schedule really simply. If he's higher at 7 am, shoot the .25u and you'll be able to get back on track pretty quickly, I think.

Get some sleep. And tell BF to cut the crap. He's doing the immature "guy thing". He's feeling left out and can't fathom how you're putting Ruben ahead of him.

Carl
 
tears.... thank you guys, thank for not judging me and for being understanding, i know yo would tell me if i really shoot, and i would listen.
i beat myself up over doing the right thing, i love ruben so much and want to do the best for him.
i dont know why, but i know the decision is mine, but i feel like i need permission for some reason, like if i dont get it something bad will happen. i am exhausted, not just physically but emotionally. my head is consumed with terror and worry< i know it doesnt have to be that why and im doing it myself, and i am honest and truely working on not being so neurotic and crazy. its so hard my inner dialog is i love and cant handle this, when i know deep down inside i can, i also relize that it a good thing i never had children and prolly shouldnt in the future, could not handle it. im to much of a little girl myself. thats how i feel in this situation, like a little kid, afraid and defenless against the unknown.
i am gonna rest and take a night off of thinking. start fresh at 7am and have the day to focus on him. if i wake up at some point i might grap a test to see where i might be heading in the morning.
keep in eye out for me in the morning who knows what it will bring.
i love you guys and i love ruben tremendously. too much if thats possible
well not only do get to sleep well but my friends who have been staying up with me get to rest too.
sending prayers, warmth, hugs, love and positive energy to all of you and most of all our reason for being here, our family and best friends who never let us down, our kitties cat_pet_icon
 
He's feeling left out and can't fathom how you're putting Ruben ahead of him.

your the best carl, and thats exactly why i will always put ruben first, cause ruben would never ever be a jerk to me no matter what even if i put him second(especially whe im being a cg to a family member) he loves uncondtionally, he is my example of how love should be given. the best part of all is it is all unspoken. he looks in my eyes-deep- then gives that half slow blink that just affirms that he drinks me in with every sence like i do him.
we are all so lucky here to recieve the love from our animals. a gift we can only hope to emulate in the human world.
they make us all better people
you here are all proof of that
(((((((((((((((((((((FDMB)))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))
 
Sam

I didn't mean to do a curt post...I was eating dinner and just waiting for you to post and wanted to get a quick post to you.

I think you are making the right decision. None of us are here to judge each other...this is a support group. Not only do we try and teach how to manage FD but we also offer emotional support to each other because sometimes this dance just wears us out.

Get some rest, love on Ruben, tell the bf to take a hike ;-) , and maybe you could stay up and keep me company tonight cause Gracies racing to :mrgreen: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
hats how i feel in this situation, like a little kid, afraid and defenless against the unknown.

Would it help to hear that many of us felt afraid and defenseless when we first heard "your cat has diabetes"? I'd never given a shot in my life. I'd done a lot of wildlife rehab, but never shots. And the whole blood test thing was pretty overwhelming at first. And every time I gave Bob a shot that first week, I was convinced I'd come home from work, or wake up one morning only to find him dead or in the middle of a seizure. It got better though. And by the time I joined FDMB, I'd had a month to get used to dancing the sugardance, so nobody here got to "see" me in the crazy early days.

Honestly, this is easier now than it was two weeks ago, isn't it? It won't get harder now.

Carl
 
marje-no words....none they dont make them that big

carl- it does help to hear that, im so grateful i can spew out my crazieness @-) here and know you guys get it. i really felt today how i am making progress even if it is slow. when i couldnt get on and the board was down...... nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile panic, but even in my craziness i did what i had to do and felt that i was doing ok. and ruben is still alive yay....oh yeah and i didnt sroke out.. :lol: ;-) :lol:
 
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
and maybe you could stay up and keep me company tonight cause Gracies racing to :mrgreen: :-D :-D :-D


done!!! no questions asked. i wil always be here for you, always :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: o:-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top