2/6 Ole PM +3 431 +7.5 73 +8.5 69 +9 65 +10 106 +11 169

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebekah

Member Since 2013
Good Morning!

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=113201

Last night;

PMPS 374
+2 266
+4 227
+8.5 290
+10 285
+11 369 ToR

A nice night in yellow for Ole, and a controlled bounce and food spike. Ole weighed in at 9.0 lbs this morning (my bathroom scale), and is holding steady.

Tonight he will be dosed with a new vial of Lantus. I hope the new bottle helps with Ole's duration issues.

A good day to you all!

Rebekah
 
Re: 2/6 Ole AMPS 381 +2 388

It's great that Ole is maintaining his weight. It will be interesting to see if the new vial makes a difference in his numbers.
 
Re: 2/6 Ole AMPS 381 +2 388

I'm glad you are seeing nice steady results and less of a bounce :-D Paws crossed that a new vial is what he needs to slide him downwards. Have a good day, Rebekah!
 
Re: 2/6 Ole AMPS 381 +2 388

Fingers crossed that the fresh juice does the trick! :cool:

eta - (I'm not seeing a dose amount for this morning. . . . ;-) )
 
Re: 2/6 Ole AMPS 381 +2 388 +9 399 ToR +10 333 +11 376 PMPS

Good evening!

I found myself unexpectedly home early this afternoon, so I gave Ole a light ToR at +9 hoping to move him out of the pinks, but he didn't budge. All pink, all day. Though I wish he was all yellow all day, I am happy to see no bouncing, so perhaps this evening he'll get his downward groove on.

Alex is not home from work, so I didn't get to shoot him with the new vial of Lantus, hopefully tomorrow morning. I've been holding off on the dosecrease for the new vial. Something just tells me that my current vial has been compromised as I didn't know how to properly handle Lantus before I joined FDMB (not that we played football with the vial or anything hahaha). Let me know if you think I'm being silly. I know that .25u is very small when we are up at 7 units, but I do have my gut feelings.

I'm thinking of all of you this evening as we all take another twirl around the dance floor.

Cheerio!
Rebekah
 
Re: 2/6 Ole AMPS 381 +2 388 +9 399 ToR +10 333 +11 376 PMPS

Evening Rebekah - paws crossed Ole heads to sunny yellows soon. That ToR might have preventing something other than flat pink. I often will switch to a new vial/cartridge before doing an increase, just in case..... The insulin usually has not been bad, but every once in a while I've been surprised by it having gone toasty and find it's safer to try the new insulin first, then increase.

I've often found my gut feelings were right. :cool: Have a great evening.
 
Re: 2/6 Ole AMPS 381 +2 388 +9 399 ToR +10 333 +11 376 PMPS

Hey

No luck with the new vial. The Pharm closed at 7:00, Alex got there at 7:02.

Tomorrow evening it is.

Rebekah
 
Re: 2/6 Ole AMPS 381 +2 388 +9 399 ToR +10 333 +11 376 PMPS

Hi there :cool:
Rebekah said:
I gave Ole a light ToR at +9 hoping to move him out of the pinks, but he didn't budge. All pink, all day. T
Always the possibility it kept him off the 4th floor. . . .

With R, remember to always consider what it may have prevented.
Although we don't really know what might have been, R serves not only to bring numbers down, it can also keep numbers from going too high.
Finding the place in between is the tricky bit.

I agree with Wendy - bring on the fresh juice first, evaluate and then increase if needed.

fingers crossed ! :cool:
 
Re: 2/6 Ole AMPS 381 +2 388 +9 399 ToR +10 333 +11 376 PMPS

Curious on the use of R here...

Yes, it could have kept Ole off the 4th floor, which is great!

How do you decide when to do more than a ToR? What kind of data do you want to see to make that move?

Question is to satisfy curiousity.
 
Re: 2/6 Ole PM +3 431 +7.5 73 +8.5 69 +9 65 +10 106 +11 16

Hey!

I can't sleep because of Ole's night of green! So exciting.

How do you decide when to do more than a ToR? What kind of data do you want to see to make that move?

I have been mulling about this question from Suzanne. I thought I'd give it a stab from my observing Ole, which is different from other R users. When I began using R, it was to bring him our of the penthouse floors. At the time, my main goal was to move his numbers down. I dosed him at .1uR, and he would indeed move down, hundreds of points. With several R curves, I could tell Ole was pretty reactive to a small amount of R. My intention then began to migrate more to using R not as a tool to lower numbers, but one to flatten out Ole's bounces. His pattern is very clear. Beginning at about +10, Ole begins to rise, usually quite dramatically. Combined with his food spike, I didn't feel that L was able to be effective until well into his dose. I don't know the reason for this rise, be it a typical bounce or duration issues, but to me it doesn't matter, he rises at +10. I decided to use R to combat that rise and flatten out his pattern. Knowing that .1uR moved him too much for my purposes, I began to use a very light touch of R, literally only coating the needle. I believe it has been effective in making L more effective.

This might be a little gabby, but I didn't get much sleep last night and it is early in the morning and I haven't brushed my teeth yet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top