2/6/ *Milo's Curve*~ Need dosing advice~ AMPs due in 11 hrs.

Mariaana and Milo

Member Since 2021
Hello again,
Milo had his curve done today,and looking for dosing advice again.
A bit of background: Last curve was done on January 25, and was advised to hold the same
dose at 2.25 Units.
The next day (Jan,26) Milo was vomiting small amounts on and off during the day.It got progressively worse
and at PMPS after insulin and dinner within less than 5 minutes he vomited all of it.His appetite was way down.
**Vet visit on January 28th,** had ear infection, and was dehydrated and was given fluids and a Cerenia injection at the Vet. Surolan 15 ml eardrop's for 5 days, and Cerenia pills a few days later for 4 days. as appetite and nausea was still going on. On that same day as the vet visit((1/28) his blood sugar dropped
to 74 and 67 @PM + 6,as he had been vomiting on and off..
I reduced his dose to 2 Units on January 29th at AMPS.
He was checked for UTI and Pancreatitis and all came back negative. Fructosamine was a bit lower than previously. I have added more details on the SS 'additional comments" so won't repeat it here...
He is 100 % back to normal now.I was giving him "RestoraLax" for slight constipation for about 1 1/2 month since" Pure Pumpkin Puree" was not working well anymore.Discovered that this laxative can cause nausea.. so i removed that, and back to pumpkin puree again, so far stool looks good. It's a "mystery" what the problem was,but glad that he is back to his old self.The vet bill is another story though...!!
Sorry for the long 'novel'..if you have read this far. TIA!
 
Wow! You guys have been through a lot! Glad to hear all is well now.

I think I would take his dose back up to 2.25U

Hi Bhooma!
It's always a pleasure hearing from you,Thank You! I will increase his dose at AMPS to 2.25 Units.
Yes it was a few stressful days for sure... As you probably noticed there was a few days with
only BG Testing at AMPS and PMPS... My daughter and the 2 grandkids (babies) and her husband came to visit at the same time as Milo was unwell.. so a very busy household and a bit of babysitting also... ( Love those sweet babies!) I am pretty' diligent' at testing BG's POST AMPS/POST PMPS, but there was simply
too much going on and i needed sleep!
 
Back
Top