2/6 Mikey AMPS 359 +6.5/194 +11/156 PMPS 112 +6/292 +8/362

Status
Not open for further replies.

miso00

Member Since 2011
yesterday condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=62946

I'm starting to really question the point of all the testing. I feel like he was on 3 units when I got him and now he's back to 3 units. Nothing has changed and the way it looks he's heading for another increase. At this point I feel like just giving him 3 units twice a day and stopping the testing. I'm really not clear on what the point is. He hates it. Sorry, for venting but either something is not "right" or he's just not an OTJ candidate. I don't really know how all this works, but I'm listening to my gut. His eye infection is gone, his teeth are clean, I've tried different flavors of food (carb levels), I've opened new Lantus pens.

On a positive note, for the first time since I've had him, he was laying on his back waiting for a tummy rub when I went to see him this morning. His appetite is good. I will try to check for ketones again.
 
Re: 2/6 Mikey AMPS 359

Hi guys .. I can tell you are very frustrated .. don't be .. you're doing everything right for mikey .. sometimes you have to go up, up, up the dosing ladder .. you'll find that right dose but ONLY if you are testing and can see the results! Don't say he is not an OTJ candidate .. mocha was on insulin for nearly two years .. other kitties have been on it longer, and went OTJ .. never say never, isn't that the saying? :-D Like said before, our kitties don't care if they are getting .5u or 5u .. it's more a thing with us, the beanz .. why do we fight it? I know it's hard, and frustrating and that you think you'll never see results .. but you have to be patient .. mikey's day will come, when he finds that right dose and breaks through .. you'll see beautiful numbers and won't even remember the struggle getting there .. :YMHUG: Just hang in there .. listen to the people on here .. All they want to do is help get you and mikey to healing numbers ..
 
Re: 2/6 Mikey AMPS 359 +6.5/194

I guess Mikey knew I was stressed because he gave me some blue today
 
Re: 2/6 Mikey AMPS 359 +6.5/194

I guess Mikey knew I was stressed because he gave me some blue today

That's why you keep testing. Devon makes a lot of really good points. And if you look at Gracie's or Gabby's SSs, you'll see we've both been up and down the dosing ladder numerous times and we test to know that we have to go up or down. Gabby has gone from 300 to 40 to 300 in one cycle. If Sienne hadn't been testing, she would have never caught that low number. So we test for safety as well as to see how a dose is working.

I know it is frustrating but you are doing great and Mikey is healthier. Hang in there...FD is a marathon, not a sprint ;-) :-D :-D

BTW...check out D.C.'s SS: DC's SS

She has been at this with him since 2007; maybe his journey is not typical but talk about HOPE!!!
 
Re: 2/6 Mikey AMPS 359 +6.5/194 +11/156 PMPS 112

well, I guess I spoke to soon. PMPS is 112. I am ok to shoot 3u?
 
Re: 2/6 Mikey AMPS 359 +6.5/194 +11/156 PMPS 112 OK TO SHOOT

can you stall 20-30 minutes and test again? in general, 112 isn't too low to shoot - not at all. but i guess i'm looking at the 359-194-156-112 straight down today and just want to make sure he's leveled off now. if you test in 20 minutes and it's about the same or higher, shoot.

don't feed while you wait.

eta - i think marje is right - i think you're ok to go ahead.
 
Re: 2/6 Mikey AMPS 359 +6.5/194 +11/156 PMPS 112 OK TO SHOOT

Yup, you're fine to shoot.

Marje was wrong. Gabby went from an AMPS in the 400s to the 40s and back up to the 400s by PMPS. But she's also right -- that is why we test. If I hadn't been testing, I would have increased Gabby's dose when a decrease was what was needed.
 
Re: 2/6 Mikey AMPS 359 +6.5/194 +11/156 PMPS 112

I shot 3u and will get a +1 & +2, Julie next time I will re-test in 20-30 min. I didn't see your post until after I shot
 
Re: 2/6 Mikey AMPS 359 +6.5/194 +11/156 PMPS 112

My bad....I didn't remember it was 400-40-400 .....that's quite a cycle !
 
Re: 2/6 Mikey AMPS 359 +6.5/194 +11/156 PMPS 112

i edited it to say go ahead - i would've shot it, i just was hesitating to suggest you to do it.

and it's ok to vent - everyone on here gets frustrated sometimes wondering when we're going to see the action we're hoping for. it's taken me a while to appreciate that people here call it The Sugar Dance. think one step forward, one backwards. it's a great image - you and mikey are dancing. :smile:

:YMHUG: hang in there! it's all worth it. and look - now you're seeing the action you were hoping for! if you have to stay up tonight remind yourself of that! ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top