2/6 Lucian AMPS HI, +4/401,+8/421,PMPS 472

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
2/5 condo


Morning all.

I realize that what I'm doing, taking Lucian to .5, may not be viewed as the best idea by some. Try to understand, I didn't start low enough, how would I know if that might have been the right dose, if I never tried it. So I'm taking him low and will work my way up if that dose isn't good for him. Please remember ECID, Lucian may not be the 'norm' but I have to find out what is best for him. To do that, I'll try anything and not leave out any possibilities. So I'm going to give this 6 cycles and decide from there.

Wishing everyone a great day and healthy kitties.
 
Re: 2/6 Lucian AMPS HI, +4/401

Wish we knew how HI that HI was so we would know how much he dropped in 4 hours..oh well at least he is coming down and remember he still has a little shed that is coming into play.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/6 Lucian AMPS HI, +4/401

All I know is that HI= anything over 600. So he came down by at least a 3rd. FWIW.
 
Re: 2/6 Lucian AMPS HI, +4/401

Hi Debbie,

Sorry Luican's been high; Gobby has some, too.
I know the frustration, really...how is he acting, physically (5 P's)?

Kat
 
Re: 2/6 Lucian AMPS HI, +4/401

Hi Kat,
Lucian doesn't play, hasn't in years, will get a little fiesty under 'nip' influence, but that's about it. Everything else is fine, pee a little heavy when high, poo is fine, washes up after just about every meal, will snuggle and purr with me. No other signs except his BG's. So far, all ketone tests have been negative, haven't been able to catch him for one yet today.

How's Gobbles? I usually check your condo, but with the board being up and down all day, haven't had the chance to.
 
Might be very high, but beats getting that 'HI' on the meter! At least he's not over 600 tonight.
 
It may be high and fairly flat but at least it isn't black and he still has some settling to do, but at the very least he didn't dive and bounce. Now to see how the next few cycles play out. Right now I'm just glad to see no real swings. This is what you want, once he is steady then you can start slowly raising the dose to lower the over all curve, but his body needs to get use to the progressively lower and lower numbers.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang.
 
Remember this isn't a sprint, its a marathon. Autumn didn't get all the way to 1.5 and back down to .25 in a week or a month...its taken awhile to get her there. And I actually kind of lucked out with her, because she had had one shot of prozinc in total when I got her...she never had a vet start her out on insulin in fact she has never seen my vet for anything related to her diabetes, I started her on her insulin at the same time I changed her diet and started testing her. So she was never dosed off a vet stressed induced number. And we have still danced since March. When she first would bounce they would be ugly they would be blacks, then the blacks became reds, then the reds became pinks, then the pinks yellows, then the yellows blues and now the blues are becoming greens. And sure she will still every now and then throw me a curve ball and tosses a red, pink or yellow..but her overall curve is slowly coming down and so is her dose but I had to flatten her out before I could take her up without her looking like a rubber ball and bouncing all over the place.

I also found with her that she needed much longer than the standard 3-5 days, she needed about 2 weeks until she would finally settle down and become somewhat predictable on a set dose. Granted I tested her a lot back then, but it was more because I found it interesting to watch her patterns, I was here with her, and I was getting use to coming to be tested and buttering her up with treats so I didn't seem like such a bad person for doing all these strange things to her.. :lol: Then really needing to, to keep her safe. I don't know if that was because she went so long without being treated or if that is just one of those ECID thingies. But you may or may not find that Lucian needs a little long or a little shorter time to settle. But that is where testing will tell you and eventually you will get to know his particular pattern and when he is showing you that he needs to go up, down or hold just a little longer for him to decide if he likes it or not.

Autumn will toss a super low to tell me she wants a dose reduction, Musette would suddenly go sky high and stay up there then suddenly race for the basement. and well Maxwell just spoiled me silly...lol Gave him 2 whole shots and then suddenly he was never high enough to shoot. Gave 1u on the first shot, skipped the second and shot a .5u on the next and last shot ever...he was just too easy...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Also look at it this sure he only made the reds today, but look how hi he started. He dropped over 200 pts and SURFED them. Now if he can maintain them overnight he won't have such a long ways to go tomorrow to reach the pinks or even yellows because I bet he at least touched the pinks today. And he didn't do it so dramatically that he freaked out his liver and had it throwing out a lot of counterreglatory hormones to make him bounce.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
This is the first time he's been anywhere near flat.......we'll see what happens over the next few days. They idea of bringing them down slowly makes much more sense to me. Maybe once he stays flat on this dose, the .75 might actually work, show me some flat yellows for awhile, then increase, etc etc :smile: Keeping my fingers crossed and trying to be patient.

Goodnight all!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top