2/6 Jax- Fur shot? Bad insulin? Flat cycle

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Jax

Member Since 2011
Good morning everyone,

Not exactly sure what happened last night. Still scratching my head over it. Gave Jax his shot. No insulin on fur, etc, etc. Nothing out of ordinary.

PMPS 337 1.6u given (or I thought I did) and fed
+ 3 348 huh?? Start looking around for something he may have gotten into. After all we were in the midst of the Superbowl with all kinds of goodies about.
+4 348 Number did not budge. Now questioning if it's food induced.
+6 292 1oz frozen snack given
+11 298
AMPS 292 1.6u given (I hope!) and fed.

Wish I could get a midday or even a +2 but not going to be able to. Have to get in early. Hate to know he may go another cycle without an effective shot. If I make it to the vet this evening I'm wondering if I should get a new bottle of Prozinc and just hold it in fridge, just in case? My bottle is now half way gone.
Also, was thinking last night about giving token of .2u at +6 just to try to bring him under threshold, but wasn't sure if I should. Is there any danger in this? Would like to know for future.
 
I don’t think PZ works like that to give it mid cycle. You’d have overlap for sure and that sounds a little scary to me since it is long lasting. Even folks shooting TID have the shots around 8 hours apart. One of the more expert folks should give a definitive answer, but I don’t think I’d try it. We have higher or flat cycles every so often and I can’t explain them either. I am careful the cats get the same amount of food everyday at the same time so who knows. They just wanna mess with us I guess cat(2)_steam
 
Could it have been the excitement of the game? I know it's far from quiet around here during games, and that game was a screamer! DH was for Giants, I was for Patriots.
 
Good Morning!

You do NOT want to shoot Prozinc mid cycle. Even with a small dose, the insulin would stay in the body for possibly 12 hours and could create an overlap with your next dose--creating too much insulin in the cat's body. The rule of thumb, is one shot per cycle-- even if you are certain that you had a furshot, you still should not shoot twice (even a reduced dose),because you do not know how much insulin actually go into the cat's body. The effects of a high cycle are nothing, compared to shooting too much insulin or creating insulin overlap.

I will note....some of the more experienced people, use R insulin as a short term supplemental insulin. IF, there was an immediate need to bring a cycle down, R would be the insulin of choice--- not shooting Prozinc twice. R has a very short duration -- 2 to 4 hours, I think--and can be shot mid cycle, assuming you are not approaching a preshot. BUT, with numbers no higher than you are seeing, even with a flat cycle, I would not recommend supplementing with R.

I hope this makes sense! Bottom line---Do NOT shoot Prozinc midcycle and your cycle was flat and higher than you wanted, but not dangerous. Remember.....another cycle is only a few hours away!
 
I went back and read your post and want to add an additional comment......

In the early days/months of Kitty's dance, I was convinced that Prozinc pooped out and about half way through the bottle it appeared her numbers got flat on the same dose that had given her movement. I bought more Prozinc than anyone, probably! In fact, it became a joke around here about me and new vials of insulins. But I was convinced, that I got better results on a new vial-- and the tests supported it! After a year of using the insulin now, I have this opinion---- A newly opened vial, at times, seems to have more potency, but the insulin does not poop out or go bad half way through the bottle. Every time I open a new vial, I reduce the dose a little and "normally" get the same results as I did on the "old" dose. But, after a week or so, I am back to the "old" dose. I feel certain that your insulin is okay! Sometimes, as I use the insulin, I will see the need to increase the dose just a little, as I get about half way into the vial---- to maintain the BG readings. BUT, I would not make the decision to increase your dose on one flat cycle.

The only time, that I now see a true Poop out of Prozinc is at the very end of the bottle! The backwash!

Good Luck! Save your money for now!
 
Thanks for the advice! Much appreciated!

I was able to get home in time for us to make our vet appt this evening.

Recap:
AMPS 292 1.6u given and fed. I guess I hit the mark this time because...
+11 246
PMPS 261 1.6u given and fed.

All in all, this wasn't a bad cycle. Pleased with these #'s. Must remember to ask new vet for some u100's or a script for it. Seriously running low. Hope she does not give me a hard time about it as she knows I'm using them currently.
Very pleased with his progress so far. cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top