2/6 Cali PMPS: 341 (Where can I buy more Lantus?)

Status
Not open for further replies.

beclt

Member Since 2011
Hi All,

So, no real progress with Cali, unfortunately. we are going to go up in the dose to get her past 1.5. We hadn't gone up that high in her dose yet, and maybe, just maybe, that is what she needs. Still feeling incredibly discouraged.

She also REFUSES to eat the super healthy wet food, so we are back to Fancy Feast--and a lot of it.

We are almost of our the Lantus pen we received. Can anyone provide a link to where I can purchase more?

Thank you!
 
Alot of members buy them at Costco...if you either have a membership or can get their pharmacy membership. I know others order online from one of the Canadian pharmacies.....Ella (Rusty) does this I know. It's a little cheaper.

You will probably have to have a prescription from your vet. You should call the pharmacy you want to use and ask. I have found that Walgreen's, CVS, and Target are more expensive than Costco. The other option is to call the hospital pharmacies. Some of them do outpatient meds and may sell you one pen at a time with a script.

I'm glad to see you have been following the protocol....I am still worried about what she might be doing during the day that might potentially be the source of some of these high numbers. It's hard to tell but I know your work
schedule is not conducive to daytime testing.
 
Good info from Marje. I found that getting my pens at a local hospital is much less expensive than at Walgreens.

Remind me -- you're at work during the AM cycle? If you can get AM tests on weekends/holidays/days off, that will help to fill in some of the blanks. In addition, trying to get tests at different times during the PM cycle will also help to give a broader picture of what's up with Cali's numbers.

One other thing to consider is glucose toxicity. You don't want to let Cali hang out at a dose that isn't bringing her numbers into a better range. If you do, her body begins to regard the higher range as her new "normal," which isn't what you want and it makes it harder to get the numbers to come down. This is why with the TR protocol doses are evaluated and increased after 3 days. You may need to stretch it out a bit longer if you are concerned about not being home to monitor but you do want to try to increase as soon as it's safe to do so.
 
Hi! I have had good luck ordering from CanadaDrugsOnline: http://www.canadadrugsonline.com/

You will need a prescription from your vet. If you call them or go to their website they will tell you how to order. (There are many online pharmacies that are "rogue" and that have names that are very close to "legitimate" pharmacies, so make sure to click on the link above.) It is more economical to buy Lantus in the box of 5 3-mil. pens (rather than the 10-mil. vial).

It takes about a week to receive the insulin once your order is placed and confirmed. CanadaDrugsOnline ships in insulated foam boxes, and the insulin is wrapped in cold packs.

Good luck. I hope that Cali's numbers will begin to come down.

Ella & Rusty

p.s. There's nothing wrong with feeding Fancy Feast. All the kitties like it and the "classic" formulas are low carb (or moderately low carb).
 
just wanted to say hi becca - everyone's given you answers to your questions already. i do buy 1 pen at a time from a local pharmacy - that's the only place locally i could find that would sell me just one.

it can be really frustrating to treat our diabetic cats. hang in there - cali's benefiting from your dedication.

that's actually not a very big dose and some cats simply need more. keep your eye on the goal - better BG control - and don't worry as much about the size of the dose. someone told me that after punkin was moving into the high dose range (against my wishes! LOL) and it really helped me keep the dose size in perspective.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top