? 2/6/25 WATSON AMPS 243Libre/167 Meter, +1 239L; +2 400+L; +3 400+L

Rosie Lass

Member Since 2024
Quick question. Tomorrow Watson was due to increase .25 to 4.0. This morning his AMPS was 167 on the meter so I only gave him 1 unit rather than the 3.75 he usually gets. Looks like he had a string of numbers in the 100's overnight too. Wondering if I should actually increase tomorrow as planned or hold another 5-7 days?

@Wendy&Neko
@Staci & Ivy
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-31-25-watson-amps-300l-237m-3-312-4-345.297971/
Hi Rosie, I’m hoping you get some good advice on dosing today.
If possible while following SLGS I know you want to try to give his full dose unless he’s gone below 90 (then you’d reduce by .25 units).
I’m pretty sure you’ll be told you could have given a full dose while his amps was 167, a safe number.
You want to get rid of reds and pinks if possible on his spreadsheet.
I’m not sure if you need to restart your count of days (that may be with TR only).
I hope Watson comes back down soon once you give a full dose tonight.
Have a safe night, Rosie and Watson. :bighug::cat::bighug:
@Angela & Cleo
 
I agree with Staci that you need to shoot if over 90 if you can monitor but definitely if over 150 which it was. You only have one reading of 148 in the range you want to see to hold the dose so I think you ought to go ahead with the increase. Your goal is nadirs of 90-149.
 
Hi Rosie, I’m hoping you get some good advice on dosing today.
If possible while following SLGS I know you want to try to give his full dose unless he’s gone below 90 (then you’d reduce by .25 units).
I’m pretty sure you’ll be told you could have given a full dose while his amps was 167, a safe number.
You want to get rid of reds and pinks if possible on his spreadsheet.
I’m not sure if you need to restart your count of days (that may be with TR only).
I hope Watson comes back down soon once you give a full dose tonight.
Have a safe night, Rosie and Watson. :bighug::cat::bighug:
@Angela & Cleo
@Staci & Ivy @tiffmaxee
Ok thanks. I was trying to follow this;
upload_2025-2-6_18-29-22.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-2-6_18-29-22.png
    upload_2025-2-6_18-29-22.png
    179.8 KB · Views: 81
Watson are no longer new to insulin so you gradually lower the no shot/reduced dose until you shoot if over 90. This morning the bg on the handheld was 167, and the Libre was markedly higher which makes me question if the meter had a bad strip. I’m not sure why you even did the second test. Either way both tests were over 150. Did you stall without food to see if it rises on its own? I understand the meter reading was a lot lower but most of your readings are on the Libre. If 150 makes you too nervous to shoot a full dose try shooting 175. It was nice to see a blue cycle last night.
 
Watson are no longer new to insulin so you gradually lower the no shot/reduced dose until you shoot if over 90. This morning the bg on the handheld was 167, and the Libre was markedly higher which makes me question if the meter had a bad strip. I’m not sure why you even did the second test. Either way both tests were over 150. Did you stall without food to see if it rises on its own? I understand the meter reading was a lot lower but most of your readings are on the Libre. If 150 makes you too nervous to shoot a full dose try shooting 175. It was nice to see a blue cycle last night.
@tiffmaxee
I didn’t know that I should be lowering the no shot number. I’ll keep that in mind for next time. Before shots I always double check the Libre number using the meter. Since the numbers are never the same, I always wanna make sure I use the actual meter before I shoot. I did feed him right away as it was already 1030 in the morning and he was starving. I shot the one unit at 11 AM I will go ahead and increase .25 to 4 tomorrow
 
I’d be more concerned double checking the low bg because that’s what determines dosing more than preshots which just let you know if it’s okay to shoot.
 
I’d be more concerned double checking the low bg because that’s what determines dosing more than preshots which just let you know if it’s okay to shoot.
I agree completely with Elise.

If his pre shots are in the 300s for example, then you know he’s safe to shoot and I wouldn’t worry too much about what the actual number is for the pre-shot. because at that point you know he’s perfectly safe to shoot in the 300s or even 200s.

The most important thing, in my opinion, is to know is the low numbers on a handheld meter.

You want to make sure that the dose isn’t taking him too low.

If you notice on my spreadsheet, those are the numbers I concentrate on poking Ivy on, the low numbers.
 
Back
Top