2/5 Weezer PMPS 265, +10 93!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda for Weezer

Member Since 2011
All is well in Weezer World.
uvh
Prayers for any in need of healing, strength and comfort today.

Yesterday’s Condo

Recap of yesterday
AMPS 284 (14.5 u Lantus + .25 u R)
+2 249
+3 259
+4 255
+5 296
+6 338
+7 303
+10 311
PMPS 339 (14.5 u Lantus +.5 u R)
+2 252
+3.5 144
+4.5 211
+5.5 213
+8 332

You know what they say about hindsight. I’m wondering if I should have refrained on giving R last night. As Sandy pointed out yesterday, the R she got Friday PM and yesterday morning flattened her bounce from the blues of Friday’s AM cycle. That should have reminded me to calculate the bounce into the equation when deciding about R last night. I know she usually clears her bounces quickly. That fact combined with the R dropped her pretty quickly last night, so now she’s in major bounce mode again. So this morning we are on the R go round again. I hate to see all this bouncing. I know we all do. It can’t feel good. Is it known if the high numbers experienced during bounces have the same physiological effects as just plain old high numbers?

This morning was cycle 7 at 14.5. Should I increase or give it more time?

Time again for my disclaimer. For those who haven’t been following Weezer’s story, her multiple conditions require much greater doses of insulin than kitties with “simple” diabetes and we are feeling our way through treatment plans. DO NOT try to use any information in this condo to guide your dosing decisions.

Wishing a kitty day for all, plenty of purrs, play, sunny spots and lots of love.
 
Re: 2/5 Weezer 383, dose ?

Yes, we totally agree on not liking bounces. They are icky! :-x Weezer, that blue yesterday was wonderful. Let's see some more of that soon. No advice on dosing here. Will you get to celebrate your son's birthday today?
Liz
 
Re: 2/5 Weezer 383, dose ?

Linda, I would also like to hear about the effects of bouncing vs. just plain high numbers. I will be checking back to see if you get some answers.

Not sure on the dose, but it looks like Weezer may need a little more juice. I'm so not familiar with R, so I hate to give advice on the lantus dose. Plus, I am always the scaredy cat when it comes to raising doses. I just now raised Simon's dose even though he was over the 6 days on the last dose.

Have a wonderful day, Linda and Weezer!
 
Re: 2/5 Weezer 383, dose ?

Morning Linda - No dose advice here either - plus I just know zippo on R and how that effects the equation. Good luck! That blue last night sure was nice though... More Weezer?

Enjoy your day today - I hope it is a good one.
 
Re: 2/5 Weezer 383, dose ?

Hey my extra EXTRA sweet Weezer - der u go up der wearin' pink....Mama's givin' u good juis! Bitty bits of good juis!

Is it known if the high numbers experienced during bounces have the same physiological effects as just plain old high numbers?

Linda - I've asked this same question and tried researching but have never found the answer. I know when KT runs at good numbers, his hair gets soft and silky and clean rather than oily. When his numbers are just "plain old high numbers", his hair gets oily, spiky, rough and he just lays around. When he's bouncing, his hair stays soft, clean and he's awake and ready to tackle the world. The 2 numbers can be the same number (bounce vs just high) but totally different actions on his part. His hair can change within an hour so there's SOMETHING there....where do we go to find this answer?

BIG Hugs!!!
 
Re: 2/5 Weezer 383, dose ?

Come on down Weezer I have found with Do Lou sometimes the R made him bounce more its such a learning process isn't it ;-)
 
Re: 2/5 Weezer 383, dose ?

~O)
(just on my first cup)

Looks like .5uR should be reserved for 350 or higher...maybe 375 or higher?
then use .25uR for 275-350/375 (whichever you choose)
and, watch for timing around bounces.

R scales are not static - they evolve and change. I have some of BKs "on the way up" scales on the 2nd tab of his ss (haven''t got the early ones or the "going down"' ones on there yet) They changed frequently.
(note to all reading this - BK had diagnosed extreme insulin resistance and was ketone prone thus required high doses of R)
from an IAA perspective, sensitivity to R is a good sign.

need more ~O) ~O) ~O) and to think on the Lantus dose.. . .
hang in there - you are doing great :cool:
BBL
 
Re: 2/5 Weezer 383, dose ?

my understanding is that the high numbers are damaging when they are sustained. i can't produce anything that says how long - although that one document i gave you that was from Dr. Rand's study on glucose toxicity said that 3 days of 500+something (was it 580? i don't remember the exact number) caused the beta cells to die.

at the same time, i remember how many, many readings gus had HI for his readings - really it was months. and Bev has still been able to control his diabetes to far better numbers on a consistent basis. he sees blues and greens regularly now on 6.5units. there could be damage that isn't visible, but what can you do? you just do the best you can and hope for the least consequences from it.

that's how i think about it, at least. perhaps someone knows a more definitive answer.

Gus SS

i think i'll post a new condo on glucose toxicity links so others can see it as well.
 
Re: 2/5 Weezer 383, dose ?

No advice on the R, but you are in good hands (once Sandy gets more ~O) ~O) ~O) ) :lol: :lol: :lol:

I've understood that it was prolonged high numbers too, but I've never know just how long that was. :?
 
Re: 2/5 Weezer 383,+3 323,+5 309,+6 268 dose ?

Hi Linda & Weezer, just wanted to stop in and say hi and lend some support. I was waiting til you had some answers. Have nice day you two.
 
Re: 2/5 Weezer 383,+3 323,+5 309,+6 268 dose ?

No dose advice. I have noticed the same thing with fur changes at Lyresa. Tarragon is in a bounce right now and is fluffy fluffy. When he gets into the high numbers for long periods he is oily. Hope you get an answer. Have a great day Linda!
 
Re: 2/5 Weezer 383,+3 323,+5 309,+6 268 dose ?

Hi there ~O) ~O) ~O)

regarding the Lantus dose, if Weezers is going down or surfing at PMPS, hold the dose and don't use R.
If she is definitely on the rise by PMPS, you can increase to 15u - no R

what do you think?
 
Re: 2/5 Weezer 383,+3 323,+5 309,+6 268 dose ?

i like sandy's plan.

correction on my earlier post - Dr Rand found that 3 days sustained numbers over 540 caused the pancreas beta cells to have minimal output.

there are a few more links, linda, on the new post i put out there beyond what i gave you earlier. that's if you're a glutton for punishment and dying to read more!!! :lol:
 
Re: 2/5 Weezer PMPS 265

Weezer surfed in mid yellow for about 6 hours today. I held her dose at 14.5 for tonight. Sandy, I have noted the new R scale. Thanks! If this dose doesn't get her to low yellow or blues, I would like to increase to 15 units before throwing more R in. Thoughts?
 
Re: 2/5 Weezer PMPS 265! Dose question for tomorrow

You're doing so well with Weezer. :smile:

So far most of Weezer's blues have been in cycles where you have used R. I would increase her Lantus dose to 15u tomorrow, unless she surprises you with low numbers tonight.
 
Re: 2/5 Weezer PMPS 265

Hi Linda, I'm sure you know, I don't give advice. I just wanted to stop and say 'hello', to you and Weezer :-D

I also notice the difference in Checkers fur, between sustained higher numbers, and bounces.
His hair is dull and dundruffy with the former, and now it is shiny and soft, with 'just' bounces. Yuck.
 
Re: 2/5 Weezer PMPS 265

Hi Linda, I'm glad that Libby and Sandy concur on Weezer's new dose. Good luck with it!

I think I once read somewhere here (perhaps in an old-board post by JoJo?) that bouncing was not something to be worried about and that it was actually good because it showed how well the liver was working.

Have a good evening and we'll see you tomorrow.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/5 Weezer PMPS 265

Well as yucky as bounces are it does sound like there's no real harm done by them, i always learn something new when i come to Weezer's condo. ;-) That PMPS is not too shabby and hopefully she makes her way down to the blue floor later.

I hope you have a wonderful evening ladies!
 
Re: 2/5 Weezer PMPS 265

Hi Linda....I think overall that Weezer's numbers are looking so much better. You are doing a super job with her!

Good luck with the dosecrease!
 
I'd be happy to post it, too. She earned that Green Smilie :mrgreen:
She must have known you were planning a dose crease.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top