2/5 Snuggles AMPS 229 +2 279 +6 244 +9.5 234 PMPS 247 +3 211 +5 184 +7 176 +10 208

So far, the numbers look perfectly safe. It may have been helpful to have raised the dose over the weekend so you had some idea how Snuggles did with a 1.25u dose. It helps to keep in mind that with SLGS, the dose is increased after a week. I'm guessing you do not want to raise the dose on a day you're at work.
 
So far, the numbers look perfectly safe. It may have been helpful to have raised the dose over the weekend so you had some idea how Snuggles did with a 1.25u dose. It helps to keep in mind that with SLGS, the dose is increased after a week. I'm guessing you do not want to raise the dose on a day you're at work.
I would prefer to raise the dose when I’m off work..So I can be here to monitor. Snuggles just started on 100% LC food yesterday. I wanted to make that total transition when I was home. Maybe even try a few days more with what I’m doing now and increase dose midweek. I’m just not sure what effect the 1.25u dose will have on Snugs. Thoughts? @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Diane Tyler's Mom @Wendy&Neko
Posts from yesterday regarding increase https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...282-5-199-7-5-179-10-203.273804/#post-3042324
 
Last edited:
Yes it’s a good idea not to do two things at once…ie change to low carb and raise the dose. So you did the right thing. I can see the change to low carb has brought the BGs down into blue s a few times.
 
Yes it’s a good idea not to do two things at once…ie change to low carb and raise the dose. So you did the right thing. I can see the change to low carb has brought the BGs down into blue s a few times.
I’m happier with these numbers..at least they are somewhat consistent. What are your thoughts about increasing Lantus to 1.25u…do you think it will the BS could possibly drop to dangerous levels? I think the switch to all LC helped a lot with the high BS. I’m just worried when I’m working Snuggles won’t eat and that’s when the BS may drop too low. Sorry, I’m rambling on… thank you for your responses. @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Diane Tyler's Mom @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Bandit's Mom
 
Last edited:
As nice as the blues were, they were still high blues. What sort of monitoring do you think will happen on the work days? Having said that, I do think there is room to increase his dose.
 
As nice as the blues were, they were still high blues. What sort of monitoring do you think will happen on the work days? Having said that, I do think there is room to increase his dose.
Well my husband will be here part of the day..but Snuggles will be alone a good part of the day. I will give her a snack before I leave for work around 9am and I get home between 5pm & 6pm. She will not eat from the auto feeder and she won’t take snacks from my husband. Is there an average number that the BS number may drop when increasing Lantus .25u…I know it is just an estimate and ECID. @Wendy&Neko
 
I know it is just an estimate and ECID
You have the answer - ECID. I've not seen anything I can call an average. I've also seen glucose toxicity take hold and cats (like my girl) nadirs actually go up after an increase. One thing I can say, it would be unusual for a cat to go from a dose where they are seeing at best high 170's, to under 50.
 
You have the answer - ECID. I've not seen anything I can call an average. I've also seen glucose toxicity take hold and cats (like my girl) nadirs actually go up after an increase. One thing I can say, it would be unusual for a cat to go from a dose where they are seeing at best high 170's, to under 50.
Will it take a few days to see results..regarding the insulin depot? I’ve read up on that and semi understand.. @Wendy&Neko
 
Will it take a few days to see results..regarding the insulin depot?
Sorry, another ECID answer. Some cats give a hint of what the new dose can do in the first cycle. Some wait until the 5-6th cycle. You don't have history of increases yet to know what Snuggles might do. And of courses, cats reserve the right to mix things up. :cat:
 
Back
Top