2/5 SCRABBLE PMPS 262 dose question? +5 175

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle & Scrabble (GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday's condo
AMPS 343
Morning LL! Another stinky pinky this morning ugh!! cat(2)_steam
Gonna give this dose another day & see where he goes. I have been so confused by his numbers lately. He went down the dosing scale & did well to only have to go back up then not do as well. I don't get it! This time around has been so different & much harder is it because he is older? Sorry to vent just frustrated, it jusr seems he can't put more han one cycle together of good numbers.
Other than that appy is good & he seems happy for the most part.
Back to work for me tonight. Heading btb in a few I have been so tired lately.
Prayers, hugs to all the beans & kitties!
 
Re: 2/5 SCRABBLE AMPS 343

I hope Scrabble slides down for you today. I know what you mean on being confused about the ups and downs. I'm trying to figure out what dose Furball needs right now too. I hope you can get caught up on some sleep.
 
Re: 2/5 SCRABBLE AMPS 343

Oh Scrabble, come on down from there... Show your momma some good numbers, she really needs to see them, ok buddy?

Have a great day Michelle, hugs
Kathie
 
Re: 2/5 SCRABBLE AMPS 343

Morning Michelle ~O) ~O) ~O)

bummer on the stinkus pinkus this morning. I so hear you on numbers. Guess we all have been there at one point or another. it's hard to know sometime what is best on the dosing. Understand the frustration all too well. I hope Scrabble comes down for you today - I bet he does. Right Scrabble? always great to read they are happy with a good appy.

Enjoy that btb, have a great day too.
 
Re: 2/5 SCRABBLE AMPS 343

MOrning Michelle,
Rats on that stinkus pinkus. Come on down Scrabble, please sweetie??!! thank you!!
don't you wish there was a little window to the inside of our kitties with a big sign that would give us directions.. like.. "Bean, do ...... and i'll be perfect"? I'm sure it's especially frustrating when you've already done this once and it's so different this time. It's sooo nice to have this forum to be able to vent and have everyone here know almost exactly how you feel!!!
Give yourself a big hug and a big scritch to Scrabble.. It'll come. - mary and oliver
 
Re: 2/5 SCRABBLE AMPS 343

Enjoy your btd, Michelle, and I bet little Scrabble will climb down to lower numbers by the time you're up and about. They do keep us guessing. Have a nice day.
 
Re: 2/5 SCRABBLE AMPS 343

Hi guys .. no advice from me as far as dosing goes ... or why scrabble is enjoying these pinks so much .. I know it must be frustrating the second time around when it's so different, but you'll get it all figured out in time .. have a great day!
 
Re: 2/5 SCRABBLE AMPS 343

Hi Michelle,
Scrabble is around Booty's age. She has arthritis and is also on Dasuquin. Is he on the Dasuquin for arthritis?
If so, maybe he's dealing with more pain from it and it's shooting his BS's up. Just a thought. I don't know.
At their age it can be a lot of things. Hang in there honey. Look what a good job you've done and are doing.
So his numbers are funky. You'll figure it out because that's what you do. :-D

You are a great kitty Mommy and he knows it.
 
Re: 2/5 SCRABBLE AMPS 343

Oh Michelle! Big hug :YMHUG: I hear ya on the numbers being unpredictable - it's so frustrating! Just when you think you get it and you're making headway - blammo! Kitty throws a curve! I do hope you wake up to better numbers today. C'mon Scrabble! Bring it down and make your mama smile!
 
Re: 2/5 SCRABBLE AMPS 343 +5 222

+5 222
Was hoping for better but guess I should be glad he is coming down right? Thanks so much for the encouragement everyone.
@ Shelly Scrabble is on dasuquin, he has been on it about a month now.
 
Re: 2/5 SCRABBLE AMPS 343 +5 222

yes..I know he's on Dasuquin. Was thinking if it's for arthritis, maybe he's in pain and that's what's driving the numbers up.
 
Re: 2/5 SCRABBLE AMPS 343 +5 222

Hahaha Shelly just reread your post and realized what you said, sorry just woke up! He seems to move around pretty good actually.
 
Re: 2/5 SCRABBLE AMPS 343 +5 222

Interesting how both Boots and Scrabble's BS's went up around dental. I had taken Boots to the vet because I had heard a grinding,
usually as she was finishing her food,,when they lick their chops. Her vet visit came back all positive, but vet thought her teeth
needed a major cleaning and thought she had gum disease. At the same time I decided to get back on the board. At this time,
her BS's were still normal. Two days after vet visit though, her BS's started going up and within the week, they were really high.
Got her into dental specialist and teeth and gums were great, it was an ulceration in the mouth that turned out to be benign.
You probably remember that part. Anyway, we just got back from dentist post checkup today and she has inflammation where
the sutures were done. So back on the AB.

Maybe Scrabble still has mouth stuff going on. Not like Boots, but as they age, their gums
are more sensitive and combine that with being diabetic, dentist said inflammation can flare up pretty easily with a diabetic. She
put her on EFAC caps. today. You rub 1/2 a cap on gums. http://hopesciencevet.com/cat-perio-home/
Maybe her gums are bugging her.
 
Re: 2/5 SCRABBLE AMPS 343 +5 222 +8.5 242

+8.5 242
Thanks Shelly for the info. Actually his bg's started going up before I had the dental and that was one of the main reasons I had the dental because the vet and I thought maybe that is why his bg's went up. I waited a week after the dental to see if his numbers would drop and they didn't so we went back on insulin. I will keep an eye on his mouth.
I hope there is nothing else going on but I do wonder since he has been having a hard time getting his bg's down.
 
Re: 2/5 SCRABBLE AMPS 343 +5 222 +8.5 242

That's what I was saying. Same with Boots..That's why I had the dental done as well. Everything in health exam was
normal and with dental cleaning exam, her teeth and gums were pretty good for her age. Her BS's are all over the place now, after too.
Then today when dental vet was concerned w/inflammation around sutures and general gum inflammation, thought of Scrabble too. Dentist said with older diabetic cat, inflammation can flare up very easily, especially after they've had work done.
 
Re: 2/5 SCRABBLE AMPS 343 +5 222 +8.5 242

Interesting Shelly I will keep an eye on it & maybe bring him in to check if things don't improve, thanks for sharing!
 
Re: 2/5 SCRABBLE PMPS 262 dose question?

PMPS 262
Posting from my phone since the site was down before I left for work. Wondering if I should increase his dose again? I have been pretty confused by his numbers lately. A few weeks ago he was doing well & earned a few reductions, since we started going up again it seems he is doing worse. Could it be possible his dose is too high or does that even make sense? Just trying to make sense of it all. Should I be worried that something else is going on with him. He seems to he pretty much himself & had bloodwork & a dental done in October. Would appreciate any advice/insight. Thanks so much! I am @ wrk tonight dh will be home.
 
Re: 2/5 SCRABBLE PMPS 262 dose question?

That AMPS this morning could be a bounce from the 138 yesterday and he might have gone lower after that.
I think you do have room to raise the dose, but I think I would wait for a couple more cycles. JMO
 
Re: 2/5 SCRABBLE PMPS 262 dose question?

I think that Scrabble is bouncing. It can take a few days for a bounce to clear. It can be a bit more of a challenge for a kitty that's back from the Falls.
 
I would hold it and see how far down he comes.

When they earn a reduction, the "goal" is for them to come right back into green once they clear any bounces. If they don't, it's a failed reduction. A higher dose that you reduce from can affect up to six subsequent cycles and so you could see green numbers even a few cycles after you reduce.

The trick is knowing your cat. I know that if I reduce Gracie and she's still getting green six cycles after I reduce her, she might still be working off the depot and I have to wait just a bit longer to tell if the reduction is holding.

I'm thinking Scrabble is going to need more juice but let's see what he does tonight.
 
Thanks Marje just frustrated that he earned a few reductions in a row then had to go right back up. DH went to bed so I will not be able to see if he goes lower tonight. The first time around was so much easier. I feel so confused this time :(
 
Well...I understand. You would think Id have quads of steel based on the number of times I've been "up and down" the dosing scale with Gracie. Sometimes that is just what it takes. I had to do the same with her last spring and then finally she worked her way quickly down from f1.25u to .5u. Now we are back up.

Hugs and special thoughts....you are doing great with him...you really are.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top