2/5 - Sami - PMPS 317; +3 93; +3.5 62; +4 74; +4.5 64; +5 69 - HELP!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Looks like Sami took a little bounce last night after a some much better numbers in the blue. I actually missed one of the mid cycle tests last night forgot to set the alarm, but Sami remembered and woke me up. I figured she was so high before I didn't really have to worry, and just went back to sleep. After setting the next alarm. I had food in the feeder for her so even if she had dropped a bit she would have been fine. When I got up at +10 she was still quite high so I am glad I got a bit more sleep instead of doing that +8 reading.

It appears that she is already back on the downward train. Do you think it is possible for her to get back to blue today?

She is off to work with me again today. I am feeling a bit tired today. Only sleeping for a couple hours at a time is starting to catch up to me. I probably should try to take a break from testing so often at night because I might have to stay up for more than a few minutes during the night if Sami is going too low. Any suggestions on what tests to try to get. I know it is hard to decide because it would probably depend on what her number is and what she dropped from in order to determine when to test next.

Hope everyone has a great day and you see some GREEN!
 
Sami is steadily dropping today. At +5 she was down to 258. There has been a lot of traffic at the office today, so I would suspect she might be a little scared or stressed, but things have settled down and I am hoping we see some blue before we head home for the day.
 
I think you're totally correct.....she's bouncing off the blues, but isn't it exciting that she spent so much time in better numbers??

That's a nice slide, so I think you're going to have a quieter day....I'd probably try to get a +8 or +9 today and then the PMPS
 
Sami has me scratching my head. She was doing a nice little drop this morning from her bounce last night, but she seems to have stalled. I am hoping we still can get a little lower today before PMPS, but we will just have to wait and see. She is currently having another small snack, and then I will withhold food until PMPS. I will try to get a +10.5 or +11 before we leave the office. PMPS will be just about when we get home.

The one good thing that I have noticed is she is not really drinking much water at all. She has barely touched the water since we got to the office.
 
Bounces can take up to 6 cycles to clear and the numbers can wobble around a bit while they do so. Great news that she's eased off on the water drinking!

As for testing, honestly, I would wait now until PMPS. I always try to ask myself the questions - will she go into a dangerous range? what would I do differently with this test result? Often the answers say that the data isn't important. Last night when you saw a +4 higher than a +2, I would have headed to bed and only set the alarm for AMPS. There will be times soon enough when Sami is seeing green that you'll need to set more alarms. Save yourself for that.
 
@Wendy&Neko Thanks, that is sort of what I was thinking last night, but I also wanted to see how high she went. I am planning on giving fluids again this evening so hopefully that will help her numbers come back down again. It seems that when she gets fluids it is like a catapult to bringing the numbers down, but then she bounces. Hopefully we can level out those bounces really soon.
 
Sami is back up in the 300's this evening. I gave her fluids about an hour after her shot I will probably hold off until +2.5 or +3 to test and then head to bed for a couple of hours. I know I should be more comfortable about skipping tests at night when she is higher, but I just can't seem to bring myself to it. I am just nervous that she is going to decide that now is the time to get back on track and drop to the GREEN.
 
Well, so much for getting some much needed sleep tonight. Sami dropped from 317 PMPS to 93 at +3. I am feeding her some low carb food now. about ÂĽ can.

Should I mix in some medium carb food to help slow down the slide, or wait until she goes a bit lower?
 
Missed the question. You can add a little MC if you want to slow her down. This is probably the fluids.
 
+3.5 and she has dropped to 62

I went ahead and gave her about a teaspoon of HC. I know I should wait until she is 50 or under, but at this rate she will be there in the next 30 minutes. I will test again in 15 minutes
 
Good call on the HC. I'd wait 20 minutes after she eats. It takes a while for the carbs to hit the blood stream.

Slow down Sami!
 
Good thing I got more test strips. I am just opening a package of 50 tonight, but I bought another 200. I am ready to roll.

Now my biggest concern is in the morning, I know there are not as many people around in the morning. So I am going to ask now. I know I will not feel comfortable shooting 2 units if she is in the low 100's or below. She will be going to work with me so I can monitor all day, and I don't want to derail her progress. Would it be acceptable to reduce the dose to 1.5 tomorrow morning if she is holding the drop?
 
Okay that bit of MC and HC food stopped the slide. She is up a bit at 74. My main concern is Sami has a tendency to keep dropping for a full 12 hour cycle. I definitely can't stay up all night any suggestions?
 
I would let her go now for a half hour without more food and then recheck.

If you're taking her to work in the morning and you'll be able to monitor her, the path to OTJ again is to shoot the full dose until she drops below 50 and signals it's too much. You can always reduce the dose, but most of the time it doesn't seem to work to reduce in advance. And even though you fed her earlier tonight, she didn't go below 50 and you brought her up very easily. If she were mine, I'd stick with the protocol and hold the dose unless she drops below 50.

With the speed of her drop tonight chances are pretty good that it will set off another bounce - anything more than about 50 points per hour can set off a bounce in many cats, so you may not have to make this decision in the morning anyway.
 
I think what you are seeing now is due to the fluids. Am I correct in assuming no more fluids until tomorrow night? Without fluids, we don't know if this dose would have taken her this low. I too recommend sticking to this dose, especially since she'll likely bounce.
 
I'll add one more thought - often people want to reduce the dose as soon as they start to see progress. With a kitty back out of remission, typically people have to be more aggressive with dosing if they are going to get their cat back into remission again. With that in mind, and looking at her spreadsheet that this is the first time since going back on insulin that she's gotten into green numbers, I'd hold the dose in the morning. If she goes under 50 you'll be able to bring her back up. :D
 
And since she's back from remission, we actually make it harder for cats to earn reductions. To earn a reduction, Sami has to go below 40 once, three times between 40-50, or a week in normal numbers.
 
@Wendy&Neko You are correct, I gave her fluids tonight, but I have only be doing the fluids every other night. So I wasn't planning on giving fluids until Saturday. Although the doctor said it would be okay to have have the fluids 50 ml every night rather than 100 ml every other night.

@julie & punkin (ga) I last gave her some HC at +3.5 I will test again at +4.5 and see where she is. I know I should have let her go a bit lower, but she was dropping way to fast for my liking. 20 points in 30 minutes even with food. That was very nerve racking.

I will see how it goes the rest of tonight. What do you think a reasonably number would be in order to get a few hours of sleep?
 
@Wendy&Neko I can handle having her go below 50, but below 40 I just don't know. I will do my best to put on my big girl pants and do what needs to be done to get her back into remission.
 
Might be interesting to mark on your SS the days you give fluids. I wonder about less fluids more often and whether that would help reduce the drop.
 
@Wendy&Neko & @julie & punkin (ga)

I have marked the spreadsheet in the notes. I usually give Sami 100 ml every other day, but sometimes we go two days in between. Fluids were given on

1/30 @ +8 AMPS; 100 ml
1/31 @ +8.5 AMPS; 50 ml
2/3 @ +1 PMPS; 100 ml
2/5 @ +1 PMPS; 100 ml
 
Checked her 15 minutes ago and she was at 64.

I also just added a new column on the spreadsheet to make it easier to see when she has had fluids. I might not have marked them all or even noted them. I just started doing that in the last week or so.

I will check her again in 15 more minutes
 
just my own theory - i've wondered whether or not a cat's bgs drops with fluids may depend on whether or not the cat was dehydrated. perhaps if it relieves dehydration, that might bring the BGs down, but if the cat isn't really dehydrated it might not make a difference. punkin's dropped the first time i gave him fluids, but never after that.

i'd just let her coast along - if she's hungry give her a bite of lc. otherwise hold off on food.
 
Just checking in to see Sami in :D:D

She didnt really drop on 1/30 and 1/31 when you gave her fluids. I wonder if you can give them late in the amps cycle if that could keep her from going to low in the pmps cycle?
 
Okay I just gave her about 2 tbsp of LC, and also tested and she is at 69. I set the feeder for an hour from now with another 2 tbsp of LC. Do you think it is okay for me to try to sleep for at least two hours before I check her again, or do you think I need to check her again sooner?

And is 2 tbsp too much?
 
i think you're probably ok if you just fed her some LC and have it set for another hour. i'd feel ok going a couple of hours without testing at this point.
 
Remember, too, Tina, that you can't take care of her if you are exhausted and so, when you need to, it's ok to feed extra food or even a little higher low carb so you can grab some sleep. I've had to do that many times.
 
ok.....as Julie said....now is the time to take that deep breath and shoot as many above 50 green numbers as you can safely do (have supplies, are rested and well). Remember I told you sometimes they need a kickstart? Hopefully, this is hers :)

Sleep well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top