? 2/5 Raymond james finally lower, now what???

I'm asking @Wendy&Neko to weigh in.

The couple of things that leap out at me is that you're not getting any PM tests. There's no way to know how low Raymond James' numbers went last night. It's really important to get at least a before bed test every night.

I also can't tell what dosing method you're using. We typically recommend that you use TR unless you have worked out a custom dosing plan. If that's the case, the info should be in your signature so people like me don't bug you.
 
I can't see any 2022 tab from either link? Perhaps my phone isn't updating it? I tried it a few ways, sometimes it wants to be a pain
 
I'm asking @Wendy&Neko to weigh in.

The couple of things that leap out at me is that you're not getting any PM tests. There's no way to know how low Raymond James' numbers went last night. It's really important to get at least a before bed test every night.

I also can't tell what dosing method you're using. We typically recommend that you use TR unless you have worked out a custom dosing plan. If that's the case, the info should be in your signature so people like me don't bug you.
Not bugging me. Appreciate all the info. Need rest so that's all the testing I can do.. Working 12 hours for Raymond James' medications, very expensive. Don't know what you mean by dosing methods. Guess what I'm saying, there is no scale for BG ratio to insulin. This is what I don't know..
 
I can't see any 2022 tab from either link? Perhaps my phone isn't updating it? I tried it a few ways, sometimes it wants to be a pain
My 2022 Tab is bottom of spreadsheet, I may be posting incorrectly, still learning...
 
For the month of January, low, mid 300 to high 200, good for Raymond James, usually higher. AMPS was 183, +6, 291..
Readings coming down, don't want to shoot 70 units when not home for 12 hours...
Recap: acro, on 60 meg of cabergoline, X1, levemir insulin, 70 units X2...
 
@FrostD The 2022 sheet is called Template2022, probably confusing. @Lee cuzz You can rename sheets, might make it easier to follow. It also helps to have the tab for the most recent year to the far left. This post gives instructions on how to do that.

Don't know what you mean by dosing methods
I strongly recommend you read the yellow starred Sticky Notes at the top of this forum. Including the one called Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

People posting here follow one of the two dosing methods. It tells us when to increase or decrease the dose in a safe manner.
The two dosing methods have slight differences in terms of timing for increases, how long to hold doses, when a reduction is earned, etc. But the common thing between both methods is that we base our decisions on how to change the dose (up or down) on the nadirs, or how low the dose is taking the cat. Many, if not most cats, go lower at night. Hence we strongly recommend getting at least a before bed test each and every night. Unless you are gone all night of course. However, since Raymond James is on Levemir, it may be that his onset is after you go to bed, in which case a +9 or +10 might be a more useful indicator of whether he's going lower at night. Do you know when his onset is? Most people don't need 12 hours sleep at night, so at least one other test at night should be possible.

When I see a lower AMPS than people are used to, my first thought is "did kitty go lower than that overnight?". Another useful piece of data if you can get it is those +1 tests, especially when you shoot your lowest number to date. If you can get a +1, it'll help you figure out out whether he was on the downward trend, or on his way up at preshot.
 
Ah, thanks. Phone only shows first 4 letters so I assumed it was template.

It looks like you might be coming up on some sort of breakthrough dose, or the cabergoline may be starting to work. In either case I suspect he's going lower at night, and possibly bouncing (the Hi a few days ago), so just echoing what Wendy and Sienne said about nighttime tests
 
I can't see any 2022 tab from either link? Perhaps my phone isn't updating it? I tried it a few ways, sometimes it wants to be a pain
Got it, 2022 bumped over. Still don't know excel at all, still learning, thanks you!!!
 
To rename a sheet on Google Sheets, go the tab/sheet, in your case called TEMPLATE2022. You'll see a little down arrow beside the name. If you click on it, a menu pops up and one of the options is Rename. You can just call it 2022 for simplicity.

I see Raymond James showed his blues again today. Nice. :cool:
 
To rename a sheet on Google Sheets, go the tab/sheet, in your case called TEMPLATE2022. You'll see a little down arrow beside the name. If you click on it, a menu pops up and one of the options is Rename. You can just call it 2022 for simplicity.

I see Raymond James showed his blues again today. Nice. :cool:
Thank you, think I got it the google, bumped 2022. Raymond James tested at +6 164, he ate but still lying in the bathroom...UGGG
You know how I appreciate everyone's knowledge and compassion, makes me feel better... thank you, thank you!!!
 
@FrostD The 2022 sheet is called Template2022, probably confusing. @Lee cuzz You can rename sheets, might make it easier to follow. It also helps to have the tab for the most recent year to the far left. This post gives instructions on how to do that.


I strongly recommend you read the yellow starred Sticky Notes at the top of this forum. Including the one called Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

People posting here follow one of the two dosing methods. It tells us when to increase or decrease the dose in a safe manner.
The two dosing methods have slight differences in terms of timing for increases, how long to hold doses, when a reduction is earned, etc. But the common thing between both methods is that we base our decisions on how to change the dose (up or down) on the nadirs, or how low the dose is taking the cat. Many, if not most cats, go lower at night. Hence we strongly recommend getting at least a before bed test each and every night. Unless you are gone all night of course. However, since Raymond James is on Levemir, it may be that his onset is after you go to bed, in which case a +9 or +10 might be a more useful indicator of whether he's going lower at night. Do you know when his onset is? Most people don't need 12 hours sleep at night, so at least one other test at night should be possible.

When I see a lower AMPS than people are used to, my first thought is "did kitty go lower than that overnight?". Another useful piece of data if you can get it is those +1 tests, especially when you shoot your lowest number to date. If you can get a +1, it'll help you figure out out whether he was on the downward trend, or on his way up at preshot.
I have read this. Will print it out.. Still don't understand everything. I know it's based on nadir and so many cycles. I'm not going to shoot 70 units when I'm gone all day. Would never forgive myself If something happened to Raymond James when I'm not home...
 
@FrostD The 2022 sheet is called Template2022, probably confusing. @Lee cuzz You can rename sheets, might make it easier to follow. It also helps to have the tab for the most recent year to the far left. This post gives instructions on how to do that.


I strongly recommend you read the yellow starred Sticky Notes at the top of this forum. Including the one called Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

People posting here follow one of the two dosing methods. It tells us when to increase or decrease the dose in a safe manner.
The two dosing methods have slight differences in terms of timing for increases, how long to hold doses, when a reduction is earned, etc. But the common thing between both methods is that we base our decisions on how to change the dose (up or down) on the nadirs, or how low the dose is taking the cat. Many, if not most cats, go lower at night. Hence we strongly recommend getting at least a before bed test each and every night. Unless you are gone all night of course. However, since Raymond James is on Levemir, it may be that his onset is after you go to bed, in which case a +9 or +10 might be a more useful indicator of whether he's going lower at night. Do you know when his onset is? Most people don't need 12 hours sleep at night, so at least one other test at night should be possible.

When I see a lower AMPS than people are used to, my first thought is "did kitty go lower than that overnight?". Another useful piece of data if you can get it is those +1 tests, especially when you shoot your lowest number to date. If you can get a +1, it'll help you figure out out whether he was on the downward trend, or on his way up at preshot.
I will try to get more PMPS reading, can't keep my eyeballs open. No I do not know what his onset is..
 
I would suggest you do a curve on a weekend (I trust you don't work 7 days a week?). Test every 3 hours for 18 hours. This way you will get some evening numbers in there or at the very least every 2 hours for 12 hours. A PMPS +2 or +3 is all that is needed to tell you valuable information, and then you can figure out roughly what his onset might be. Think of it as plotting points on a 24 hour graph.
 
I would suggest you do a curve on a weekend (I trust you don't work 7 days a week?). Test every 3 hours for 18 hours. This way you will get some evening numbers in there or at the very least every 2 hours for 12 hours. A PMPS +2 or +3 is all that is needed to tell you valuable information, and then you can figure out roughly what his onset might be. Think of it as plotting points on a 24 hour graph.
Thank you, I work 6 days, will do my best... Know I need more data, tough sometimes...
 
Thank you, I work 6 days, will do my best... Know I need more data, tough sometimes...
I know the lower numbers are a double edged sword because more testing is needed. What I do know is that Lev onsets later than Semglee, like +4 until shot time. That blue number you got at AMPS on 2/5 was probably his nadir that cycle. Since your schedule is tough, SLGS is the best option for you method wise, but it only works well if you can do a curve. The more data you get, the better you'll be able to handle this potentially new phase of healing and endogenous insulin production from his pancreas.
 
I would suggest you do a curve on a weekend (I trust you don't work 7 days a week?). Test every 3 hours for 18 hours. This way you will get some evening numbers in there or at the very least every 2 hours for 12 hours. A PMPS +2 or +3 is all that is needed to tell you valuable information, and then you can figure out roughly what his onset might be. Think of it as plotting points on a 24 hour graph.
Thanks, I will, yinz are the best. My sister said, they more than most vets....
 
Back
Top