2/5 Maverick PMPS 108

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35935

He's doing great. Appetite good. Every time I'm upstairs he sees me, he goes to his cube in the bedroom hoping I'll play with him. He will not play on his own.

My brothers birthday is tonight so I'll be out of the house most likely for his 9:30PM shot. I will be trying the duct tape idea - thanks Roni. I just don't know if I will be able to explain to him how to get the bubbles out. I have it down to a science. But he is extremely impatient. He won't even let me explain things in any detail. I get a "ya ya", hurry up look and wave of the hand. I wish I could just pre-draw the syringe or maybe even wait until I get home. I guess the worst that could happen is that he draws it up with bubbles and we play a bit of catchup? (just like assuming he has a fur shot)?
 
Re: 2/5 Maverick AMPS 115

Karrie-
How long between the time you have to leave and Mavericks shot?

I had someone who would occassionally give Latte's insulin. She could not/would not draw up the micro dose (eyes and fear), so I had to pre draw. I dont think I ever left it more than a few hrs though. Not advocating it as the best way to go. But sometimes you have to do what you have to do. I preferred this over not having the right dose given or no shot at all. If you feel comfy having him draw it up, then that is certainly the BEST way to do it.

Hope you have fun tonight!
 
Re: 2/5 Maverick AMPS 115

Hi Karrie,
I continue to have a problem with bubbles, too. I draw up the extra insulin, as Ella explained, but sometimes still get that stubborn bubble. I hope DH does okay with Maverick. I like the idea of duct tape as Roni explained. Enjoy the birthday celebration with your brother. Sounds fun.
 
Re: 2/5 Maverick AMPS 115

I hope you have a terrific time at your brother's birthday. I also have the same thing with my DH -- very impatient. Of course, I also think I am the only one who can do the shots and testing exactly right, so I probably need to relax a little bit and let it go on my part. Good luck with everything tonight and Maverick usually has such great numbers so if he doesn't get the exact right amount of insulin, I can't imagine that it will cause him to go higher than usual.
 
Re: 2/5 Maverick AMPS 115

Hi Karrie,
The other thing to bear in mind is that you just had a few days without any insulin. Surely if you skipped the shot the results wouldn't be so terrible. I'd just pretend it was a fur shot and enjoy your evening!! Mav will be back on track tomorrow. (I would have a little concern about leaving a filled syringe, because the insulin would be sitting inside the syringe for quite a while. They put silicone and stuff into those syringes to make them work more smoothly, and if the insulin sits in these additives for a long time it could absorb some. But, on the other hand, Maverick's dose is so small that this probably wouldn't be a problem. You should do whatever is comfortable for you--bottom line!!)

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/5 Maverick AMPS 115

Nice amps this morning Maverick - good job!

And enjoy your evening - it sounds like fun. Good luck with whatever you decide tonight for Mav's dose.

Hey Mav - we are going hiking today - us kitties - you wanna come? ~~ Mannie
 
I am so sorry about being awol on condos from before lunch onward. I went shopping and hung out with my kid sister while she baked for the party.
I left early (no after party for me). I'm old and can't stay awake -- let alone drive tired. So I shot him 1/2 hour late rather than stay and have DH do it. He would have been fine. Just my comfort level I guess.

But I'm spent. My eyes are crossing they want sleep.

I am not leaving the house tomorrow so I will have lots of time for coffee and condos. Hope everyone is doing well. Hugs to Cheryl and Claudia.

Thanks for visiting our condo today and the advice on DH/shooting. I make things complicated maybe ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top