? 2/5 Gryphen PMPS 153 - reduce again?

bobjoh

Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2733939/ (previous post)

Hello again!

Gryphen was 153 PMPS today, even though this morning I reduced her dose to .75U. The PMPS number was lower than yesterday.

I'm sure it's a combination of both the new food and the insulin, but should I reduce her to .5U tomorrow morning? I'm still too new to this to shoot at 153 (especially with no emergency vet in my area), and I don't want to keep skipping her PM shot. I know it's only been one day at the .75 dose, but since I'm having to skip again, I'm nervous!

Thoughts? Thank you so very much!
 
Reductions with Lantus are not based upon the preshots. They are based upon how low a dose takes your cat. Let me look at your ss. Be right back.
 
I would say yes; we are only 13 days in to this journey. Today was our first decrease, but I've had to skip her PM shot for 3 days now. :(
 
She also started at 1U, which was probably too high, but I didnt know that before I found this board...
 
Since you are feeding dry food it has to be SLGS. Please add that to your signature. The 1.0 dose is influencing the bg. Have you fed yet? I’m not I would stall, don’t feed, and test again in 30 minutes.
 
Yes, I did feed. The girls were clamoring for food. Boo!!

Stick with .75U tomorrow AM, and stall again if I have low numbers in the PM?
 
Keep asking questions. When in doubt, stall, don’t feed, and ask for help. She’s getting good numbers for being new to Lantus. I agree that the lower carb food must be helping.
 
I got the +2; it continued to go down. I'll work the -4 in tomorrow; I've been doing +2, +3, +4, starting on 2/1. Of course, that only works when I'm awake! :smuggrin:
 
Post in the morning before you shoot please. She’s getting longer than 12 hour duration so it might be a good idea to reduce her dose. I can’t make that decision now though.
 
Back
Top