2/4Max/EliseAMPS268+3=241+5=215PMPS 311+3-258

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
Is he bouncing, still not regulating, or giving us a break from too many ear pricks? My Max is a mystery to me. He ate at 7:30 and 9:45 and I tested at +3:15.
 
Re: 2/4Max/EliseAMPS268

Unfortunately, regulation doesn't happen overnight. It takes a long time to get a kitty regulated. Max's #s are starting to improve with each new dose that you give him. These #s are perfectly normal to see. Hang in there... You'll get there; just takes time.
 
Re: 2/4Max/EliseAMPS268+3=241

Looks like a nice slide for Max today :-D I know, it's hard to wait for these kitties to come down, but you are doing great! Have a good day :razz:
 
Re: 2/4Max/EliseAMPS268+3=241+5=215

hi elise!

Max's had 15 shots of 1.0u and only one green spotting. i'd increase his dose to 1.25u. i think he just doesn't have enough insulin yet, but he's getting closer to the right dose.

From the Tight Regulation Protocol yellow starred sticky:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.

if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

His nadirs are mostly in the 100's, other than the one dip to 79 on the night of 1/31.
 
Re: 2/4Max/EliseAMPS268+3=241+5=215

Hi Julie.On the 31st he was 79,86,and 103. Then on the 3rd he was 179 and 160 before going up to 303. Could he be bouncing? He seems to have one in the early 300's every day. Does the protocol strive for the green numbers because human meters read lower than vet meters? When I last talked to my vet he seemed to want to see around 150. I thought normal was under 200. Is that only with the labs? Thanks for your advice. I will email this to my vet and talk to him tomorrow as well. Well time for his PMPS and them I will post results.

Elise
 
Re: 2/4Max/EliseAMPS268+3=241+5=215

I agree with Julie that it's time for an increase. Normal cat numbers are 50-120 and numbers in that range are where you'll see the pancreas healing. Most vets don't like to see numbers than low because their clients don't test and monitor the way that we do here. If your vet has a pet specific meter, then his 150 would be similar to our 120 with human meters.

Cats that aren't used to the blues can also bounce from them. The more time Max spends in lower numbers, the more his liver will get used to them as normal numbers, and hence less bouncing.
 
Re: 2/4Max/EliseAMPS268+3=241+5=215

Thank you Wendy and Julie. I will start tomorrow morning and have already sent the ss to my vet. He uses the Alpha so that makes sense. When we tried to stop the insulin last time I wasn't testing and me got a Nadir of 70 in his office. He agreed with recommendations made here the last time. i too need to get used to seeing green. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 2/4Max/EliseAMPS268+3=241+5=215

newly diagnosed cats have the best chance of having their pancreases heal and to go off of insulin. the goal of the Tight Reg protocol is to get them into numbers under 120 as much as possible so that can begin to happen. when the cat gets to the "right" dose the curve begins to flatten out, almost becoming a line. as long as you are monitoring, you'll be able to keep him safe.

Green numbers are healing numbers for Max. You don't need to be afraid of them.
 
Re: 2/4Max/EliseAMPS268+3=241+5=215PMPS 311

Got it. Thanks for the explanation. We increase tomorrow morning.

Elise
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top