2/4 Morpheus amps-62 first curve-suggestions please

Status
Not open for further replies.

dlynn

Member Since 2011
Slight hypo symptoms yesterday in the am. Better today. doing a curve today. Neg. re-test for lung and round worms. Cut-down site almost healed. Hoping to get a better handle on glucose after todays information.
 
Re: 2/4 Morpheus amps-62

Good morning. I have not posted in your condo before....so welcome.

This is pretty low AMPS. Are you home to monitor today?
 
Re: 2/4 Morpheus amps-62 +1-74

I am home today. One of the few that I am not working -so I can pay vet and supply bills :) I haven't had the chance to post for a couple of days. I usually only have time to test, put it in my spreadsheet, feed all three kitties and referee (because Morpheus will gobble down his food and then try to take the rest from the other two) before work.
 
Re: 2/4 Morpheus amps-62 +1-74

Good that you are home to test today. This will give you some data when shooting a green number. I would get a +2 also.
Enjoy your day off.
 
Re: 2/4 Morpheus amps-62 +1-74 +2-74

Thanks Miriam & Putty and Lisa and Do Lou. I usually read posts after work but by then the day is over and posting for Morpheus feels like a non issue. This is his first curve. He had been such a sick boy since I found him in July. Just trying to do my best for him. Not the ideal as I work so much, the vet doesn't believe in home testing or lo-carb diet and the rest of the famil won't test (one will give insulin but won't test). But despite all the shortcomings of his humans, the kitty is a love and continues to get better.
 
Re: 2/4 Morpheus amps-62 +1-74 +2-74

Good to see you back here, Donna!

Here's the link to your last condo. We try to keep condos linked together so if there's something that needs follow-up, the info is handy.

You mentioned that Morpheus had "slight" hypo symptoms yesterday. What did you see? I assume you gave Morpheus some high carb food?

I know you have a brutal work schedule. Just out of curiosity, is there any chance you can get a +11 in the AM? (In other words, are you awake an appreciable amount of time before you feed and give Morpheus his shot?) Getting that +11 may give you some additional info regarding whether or not to shoot, if his numbers are rising or falling, etc. Likewise, if you can get a test before you fall into bed, it will give a bit more insight into what's going on at night.

Any thoughts about bribing those family members who don't think they can test? Morpheus' numbers are looking so good today - the last couple of days, actually - that I'm very curious as to what his numbers look like during the day. Maybe telling the family if they help out now, they are increasing the chances that Morpheus may not need insulin, may entice them to lend a hand.
 
Re: 2/4 Morpheus amps-62 +1-74 +2-74 +4-66

Have no idea how to link a condo. I thought "condo" was short for "your daily thread" If you give me instructions, I will see what I can do, but given that it took me 5 hours one night to get the spreadsheet and link it to my sig., I will do what I can.

It took all kinds of bribing and teaching to get someone else to even shoot the insulin. I've been given the "it's your cat, your problem" so I am grateful for another to give insulin.

I plan on curving all the way through tomorrow if Morpheus will let me. His pmps seem to be fine but he's pretty low by am so I am trying to get a bigger picture.
 
Finishing up first curve for Morpheus. Planning on a couple of more BG tonight. What should my plan be for the next week. I am thinking skinny .5 but am really not sure. I will be mostly in and out over the weekend but back to work Mon, so the Mon pm will not have any BG done. Suggestions? Thank you all very much.
 
Linking your condos (you are correct -- it's the thread for each day) is easy! You simply copy the line at the top of your browser that begins with "http://" and paste it into you new condo for the day.

What a beautiful run of numbers today!! A couple of things. You don't need to test every hour for a curve. Most curves are every 2 hours.

I would not lower Morpheus' dose. A newly diagnosed diabetic cat needs to have numbers drop below 50 in order to earn a dose reduction. I would bring the dose back to 0.5u tomorrow.

Unfortunately, you really can't plan in advance for what to shoot. Because dosing is based on earning a reduction, you need to be able to get tests.
 
Thank you. Morpheus is sleeping and I'm not going to wake him to do one more BG. We shall see what the morning brings.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top